We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“love the brown bread”
Review of Donnellys of Barna

Donnellys of Barna
Ranked #2 of 9 Restaurants in Barna
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $43
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
dublin
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“love the brown bread”
Reviewed June 3, 2013

Excellent restaurant with a very good menu something for everyone.Good children menu that had lovely fresh burgers and stir fry chicken and noodles.Nice selection of fish and home made desserts.Would highly recommend.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank DublinBlackswan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cecily H, Manager at Donnellys of Barna, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Hi DublinBlackswan,

Thank you very much for your lovely review of Donnellys of Barna.

We are delighted you liked our ample children's menu and loved our brown bread. We bake the brown bread in house every day and we also have the recipe available on our website www.donnellysofbarna.com if you would like to try and make it at home.

Thank you for your recommendation and we hope to welcome you back soon.

Warm regards,

Cecily & all the team at Donnellys
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

602 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    365
    161
    54
    14
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Scottsdale, Arizona, United States
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Burger in Ireland (not paradise)”
Reviewed June 2, 2013

Burger was cooked into almost charcoal. Jimmy Buffet would be appalled. Dry and tasteless. However the Guinness was cold and wet.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jim V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cecily H, Manager at Donnellys of Barna, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Hi Jim V,

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a comment, we always encourage feedback as it is a great way to motivate staff and continually improve.

We were very disappointed you did not enjoy our burger, but thank you for letting us know as we will take on-board your comment and strive to achieve the best burger going forward.

We are delighted you enjoyed your Guinness and we hope that you will return to Donnellys of Barna in the near future.

Warm regards,

Cecily & all the team at Donnellys
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Good Food”
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Excellent restaurant with emphasis on fish, Good atmosphere with friendly staff and excellent service, One of the best pints of Guinness in Galway.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank RichardGalway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cecily H, Manager at Donnellys of Barna, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Hi RichardGalway,

Thank you for your very positive review about Donnellys of Barna.
We are thrilled you enjoyed a great pint of Guinness and good atmosphere.
It's always great to receive feedback, especially from a Galwegian!

We hope to welcome you back to Donnellys soon.

Warm regards,

Cecily & all the team at Donnellys
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Love the Chowder”
Reviewed May 27, 2013

We always go for the chowder. Its the best in Galway (apart from maybe Gradys on the Pier). You can eat in the bar or in the restaurant, depends on how busy it is.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Brendan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cecily H, Manager at Donnellys of Barna, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Hi Brendan C,

Thank you for your lovely comment about our famous Seafood Chowder!
We always enjoy reading these comments as it is a great way to motivate the team.
We hope to welcome you back to Donnellys in the near future.

Warm regards,

Cecily & all the team at Donnellys
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, South Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
183 reviews
106 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“A Nice Quiet Dinner”
Reviewed May 23, 2013

We wanted seafood without the bustle and crowds of Galway. Donnelley's was the answer. Food was excellent in a very pleasant dining room. Service was a bit aloof and slow, but did not distract from a good meal.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Tarheel1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cecily H, Manager at Donnellys of Barna, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Hi Tarheel1967,

Thank you for your lovely review on Donnellys of Barna.
We are very pleased to hear you had a great meal and thought our food was excellent. We are disappointed that the service was not satisfactory on the day you dined, we treasure our customers and always aim to be the best when it comes to customer service. We have sent you a private message to find out the day that you dined as we hope to rectify the matter swiftly.

Thank you for taking the time to write to us, we value customer feedback very highly.

Warm regards,

Cecily & all the team at Donnellys
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Donnellys of Barna also viewed

 
Galway, County Galway
 

Been to Donnellys of Barna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing