We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pleasent but a bit bland”
Review of Donnellys of Barna

Donnellys of Barna
Ranked #2 of 9 Restaurants in Barna
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $43
Cuisines: Irish, Bar, Seafood, European, Pub, Soups, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids, Bar scene, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
238 reviews
117 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
“Pleasent but a bit bland”
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Had dinner one evening here and while the location is pleasant and the staff very helpful, the main course - plaice was very bland and lacked any seasoning.

Visited April 2013
1 Thank B_Dublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

580 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
Rating summary
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“crab claws”
Reviewed May 6, 2013

Service brilliant and pleasant
had the crab claws on saturday night gorgeous lovely brown bread great chips, lovely steak burger, nice glass of merlot Bliss!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Eva604
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
143 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Poor, disappointing”
Reviewed May 5, 2013

Service was slow. It was a busy period however.
I ordered the crab claws - tasteless, covered in melted butter.
Next was the banoffi pie - clearly a few days old, straight from the fridge, couldn't break the base with the spoon, so cold I could barely taste the toffee. Way too much cream, possibly a compensation attempt?
Disappointed with the well renowned, well established Donnelly's.

Visited February 2013
Thank Maggiebui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cecily H, Manager at Donnellys of Barna, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Dear Maggiebui

We were disappointed to read your review as we try very hard to please each and every customer in Donnellys.
It is a pity you didn’t contact the manager on the night or let us know sooner as trying to retrieve information from February is very difficult and we might have been able to rectify the matter.
As you will see the vast majority of our reviews are excellent or very good and when we get negative comments we always aim to try and rectify the issue so that it does not occur again for our future customers.

Interestingly you will see the reviews immediately before & after yours were very complimentary on the crab claws and thus we are disappointed that they did not live up to your expectations.
Please be assured our banoffi pie is made daily in house.

If you like to contact me directly on dine@donnellysofbarna.com I would be delighted and we might be able to convert you back to being a Donnellys fan.

Thank you,
Cecily Harris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simsbury, Connecticut
Level Contributor
49 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Lovely little stop near Galway”
Reviewed May 4, 2013

Above average service and good Irish food. Busy pub with congenial company of local citizens. Easily located along the water in Bana, near the Salthill suburbs.

Visited April 2013
Thank jeannefromct7312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
309 reviews
207 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 165 helpful votes
“just outside Galway”
Reviewed April 28, 2013

well what can i say first serves a great pint of guinness
Barfood menu something for everyone and good prices
there is a seperate dining room but we ate in the bar
quite a few locals and thats a good sign
Crab claws and smoke salmon to die for

Visited April 2013
Thank Joe C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Donnellys of Barna also viewed

Galway, County Galway

Been to Donnellys of Barna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing