We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great lunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Donnellys of Barna

Donnellys of Barna
Ranked #2 of 9 Restaurants in Barna
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $43
Cuisines: Irish, Bar, Seafood, European, Pub, Soups, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Bar scene, Kids, Families with children, Special occasions, Large groups, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Brunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
dublin,ireland
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great lunch”
Reviewed January 6, 2013

Very accommodating. Sorted out a large table for a large group of us. Food was great. Portions very generous with good value. Would definitely visit again.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank iloveshopping
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

570 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    345
    154
    52
    14
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sligo
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“lovely place”
Reviewed December 21, 2012

This is the place to go for a lovely eating experience..the food is out of this world and the staff a very friendly and helpful ....they cater for all tastes and if the kiddies are fussy they can order a lovely pizza and watch it been made from the open hatch in the dining room...well worth a visit

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank roses211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
1 review
“Warmth of Food and Atmosphere”
Reviewed December 9, 2012

Lunch in Donnellys was a very pleasant experience . On a cold wet day recently had lunch with friends visiting from Dublin . The greeting from staff , the warm fires and wow the food ! The regular lunch menue was excellent and good value. We will be back.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Margaret D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cecily H, Manager at Donnellys of Barna, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
Hi Margaret
Thank you for taking the time to review us. We are delighted you and your guests enjoyed your visit. We hope to see you soon again.
Regards
Cecily
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, ireland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent grub”
Reviewed December 8, 2012

Call in when passing to get some food and it never lets you down
Nice priced food and can be as quick or as long as you want in a nice atmosphere which is typical of the nice staff and environment which serves good priced food
Nice variety and the fish is as usual for this part of the world excellent
Mainly a business traveller when passing and suits all my needs

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank shaneomac69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Try the Crab Claws!”
Reviewed November 28, 2012

I had the crab claws in garlic-butter sauce. It was practically a religious experience. I think it's listed as an appetizer, but I ordered it as my main dish. You get about 12 claws, so with the brown bread it was filling enough for me on this visit. But it could be a great appetizer to share as well....or order two and have a full meal! ha!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tiffany E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Donnellys of Barna also viewed

 

Been to Donnellys of Barna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing