We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfectly lovely - comfortable stay! Hope to return over and over!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Abbeyville Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 3 Barna B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Colorado
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Perfectly lovely - comfortable stay! Hope to return over and over!”
Reviewed October 30, 2012

Sept 13, 2012 we 'were' to stay in Hillside Lodge in Knock (horrible place and wouldn't stay - nothing like the photos of the inside)... it was the best thing to have happened. At 5pm we drove on thinking to stop in Galway, however, stopping for fuel and paying inside I mentioned our late arrival traveling to Aran Islands, but first into unknown Galway for the night. The lovely lady cashier proceeded to say 'by pass and go into Berna'. What a wonderful piece of advice. We arrived in Berna passing numerous B&Bs wondering how to choose when through the heavy rain we saw the lighted street side sign of "Abbeyville Bed & Breakfast". We drove up the lane - pulled into the driveway - and knocked at the door. Unannounced. Bernadette, the owner, opened the door - we inquired of a room - apologizing for the lateness and she warmly smiled ushered us inside and made us feel immediately at 'home'. Double bed room was spotless, cheery, comfortable in all aspects. After a nice late supper down the street at Donnellys (steak sandwich was wonderful!) we enjoyed a good nights sleep. Bernadette greeted us in the charming breakfast room with many choices. The other couple in the breakfast room were also late arrivals and before we knew it all the breakfast room tables were filled (I recall about 6 tables each seating 4). This is a Bed and Breakfast - Bernadette lives here - she has turned her lovely home into a B&B. We chatted - she has been an excellent hostess, chief cook and bottle washer for over 11 yrs. You'll know why she has constant returnees. By the way the outside black cat is a sweet heart too! Hope to return!

Room Tip: I don't believe there could be anything less than a good room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lin71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    88
    16
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
26
55
2
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Klagenfurt
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2012

Visitors comming to Barna have to stay at that place. Bernadette is such a warm, nice person and she also has such a nice cat. Everything was wonderful. The room was very clean, the bed was very comfortable, breakfast was too much and especially Bernadette was giving us the feeling of beeing home. Thank you for the wonderful honeymoon bed!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RaggerKlagenfurt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keene, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2012

Burnadette was a wonderful hostess. Very willing to make you at home and treats you like family. House is situated off the main road a little, very close to town (many options for dinner.) Rooms are clean, nicely appointed; beds are comfortable. Breakfast options are varied and open. Would definitely recommend staying here if are going to Connemara or Galway.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hillary P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evanston, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 16, 2012

We spent a total of 4 nights at Abbeyville, and it was wonderful. Bernadette Ryan, our hostess, is warm and outgoing and always up for a nice chat. Our room was clean and comfortable, and the location is ideal, close to Galway city and walking distance to the local shops and pubs in Barna. Breakfast was lovely. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bill K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leesburg, Florida, USA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2012

Great clean & comfortable room with large windows and lots of light. Burnadette was very accomadating and helpful...and cooked a great breakfast! The house is tucked in a small driveway off the main strip in Barna right across the street from the bay...great spot to stay, out of the main tourist area for cliffs of moher, the Burren, and other attractions!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank melaniet611
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
Reviewed September 2, 2012

We enjoyed our stay but unfortunately we can't rank more than average. Not a complaint but for the rate we paid we got better rooms in other bed an breakfasts in Ireland. Room was a little small and mattress not the most comfortable. Breakfast was nice. Hospitality great.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kristine b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2012

Abbeyville is a spotlessly clean, well appointed B&B. We had a lovely room with large Velux windows in bathroom and bedroom. The owner Bernadette came out to greet us on arrival and provided us with a lovely freshly cooked breakfast each morning with her own varieties of home made bread and scones along with fresh fruit, yoghurt and cereals.
She was full of information about where to go and what to see and really made us welcome with a typical Irish friendliness.
We were on a motorcycling trip using this B&B as a base for 4 nights. There is a concrete area around the back of the building which is ideal for motorcycle parking.
We found 3 places to eat and drink in Barna all very close to Abbeyville. O' Donnelly's, The Twelve hotel and O' Grady's, all with excellent food and great atmosphere.
Having stayed in a lot of B&B's I can't remember ever staying in a nicer, cleaner one than Abbeyville with a host as pleasant as Bernadette.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank flattwinGS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Barna
0.1 mi away
The Twelve Hotel
The Twelve Hotel
#1 of 1 in Barna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,644 reviews
2.7 mi away
Salthill Hotel
Salthill Hotel
#4 of 45 in Galway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,353 reviews
2.8 mi away
Galway Bay Hotel
Galway Bay Hotel
#5 of 45 in Galway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,913 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Park House Hotel
Park House Hotel
#1 of 45 in Galway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,679 reviews
2.1 mi away
Connemara Coast Hotel
4.8 mi away
St. Jude's Lodge
St. Jude's Lodge
#6 of 186 in Galway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 587 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Abbeyville Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abbeyville Bed & Breakfast

Property: Abbeyville Bed & Breakfast
Address: Freeport | Barna Village, Barna, Galway, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway > Barna
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Barna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Abbeyville Bed & Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Abbeyville is located in the idyllic Barna Village, 7km from Galway City “The City of the Tribes”. ​ We are an Irish Tourist Board Approved and family run Bed and Breakfast. Abbeyville is tucked away in a peaceful setting, a short walk away from local bars, fantastic restaurants and the roar of the Atlantic. Together with the fire in our guest lounge on chilly evenings, our hideaway off the Wild Atlantic Way offers comfortable en-suite rooms, free internet access and an excellent breakfast. ​ Whatever your reason for visiting Abbeyville B&B, we can assure you of great accommodation and a warm welcome, we hope to see you soon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Abbeyville Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abbeyville Bed & Breakfast Galway/Barna, Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing