We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect home base”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Abbeyville Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 3 Barna B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Columbus, Ohio, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect home base”
Reviewed July 8, 2012

We chose Barna as our home base to travel in the west and Abbeyville was the PERFECT home base. Easy to find, clean, good linens, wonderful hostess. Walk down to the water or to a pub. Owner provided solid travel & route tips. Very good breakfast. Will recommend to all of my frie ds & look forward to staying there again in the future.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kate8W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    84
    16
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
26
53
2
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New zzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 21, 2012

18th June 2012
Bernadette and her lovelly family were most welcoming good to meet such nice people a pity the rest of the world was not like this.
We had great accommodation large bed for big man had plenty of room in it
Food and travel advice was spot on
We would truelly recommend this venue for any travellers
Janice & Ian Warren New Zealand go the All Blacks

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fishos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2012

I've stayed in many b&b's over the years, and never have I left one thinking that I would like to return.....that is until now. The house was lovely, spacious, clean, and very homely. And next we come to the wonderful hostess Bernadette - she made me feel so at home, and in the space of just a few days, I left feeling like I'd made a new friend - not something I expected from my trip!! The breakfast was really nice, and a huge variety available, Bernadette even got me some earl grey tea! I can't speak highly enough, and if I ever go back to Galway this is the only place I will stay. Keith

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Keith M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2012

It was pouring with rain - beautiful country but very wet. Bernadette took us in and made us feel very welcome. Barna is a far cry from imperial Britain's shores but from Abbeyville, with Bernadette's help and advice, we set off on a journey that was wonderful and helped us black out all that vulgar Jubilee circus back home. Thank you Bernadette. Aidan & Helen

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Everoid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2012

I have recently stayed at Abbeyville and I have to say it was a wonderful experience. Bernadette was a wonderful host. Always friendly and nothing was to much trouble.
The house was lovely and clean and the rooms were spotless. I can't really recommend it enough really. I'll be staying there again next time I visit. Jim M

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JimM115
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2012

Stayed At the Abbeyville with a wedding party recently. Bernadette is an amazing host, extremely warm and friendly. House is lovely and spotlessly clean, breakfast is great. Can't recommend staying with bernadette highly enough ... Dan and Kathryn

Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Daniel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2012

Bernadette made our stay a great experience as nothing was too much trouble. Breakfast was lovely and barna is a great location. I would definitely come again.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Helenholton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Barna
0.1 mi away
The Twelve Hotel
The Twelve Hotel
#1 of 1 in Barna
1,624 reviews
2.7 mi away
Salthill Hotel
Salthill Hotel
#4 of 46 in Galway
2,312 reviews
2.8 mi away
Galway Bay Hotel
Galway Bay Hotel
#5 of 46 in Galway
2,862 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Park House Hotel
Park House Hotel
#1 of 46 in Galway
2,637 reviews
2.1 mi away
Connemara Coast Hotel
4.8 mi away
St. Jude's Lodge
St. Jude's Lodge
#6 of 197 in Galway
567 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Abbeyville Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abbeyville Bed & Breakfast

Property: Abbeyville Bed & Breakfast
Address: Freeport | Barna Village, Barna, Galway, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway > Barna
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Barna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Abbeyville is located in the idyllic Barna Village, 7km from Galway City “The City of the Tribes”. ​ We are an Irish Tourist Board Approved and family run Bed and Breakfast. Abbeyville is tucked away in a peaceful setting, a short walk away from local bars, fantastic restaurants and the roar of the Atlantic. Together with the fire in our guest lounge on chilly evenings, our hideaway off the Wild Atlantic Way offers comfortable en-suite rooms, free internet access and an excellent breakfast. ​ Whatever your reason for visiting Abbeyville B&B, we can assure you of great accommodation and a warm welcome, we hope to see you soon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Abbeyville Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abbeyville Bed & Breakfast Galway/Barna, Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing