We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good weekend break.”
Review of Liddesdale Hotel

Liddesdale Hotel
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Liddesdale Hotel
Ranked #4 of 5 Newcastleton B&B and Inns
newcastle
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A good weekend break.”
Reviewed November 18, 2012 via mobile

Just got back from a very good weekend at the Liddesdale. We got a good deal for four on a groupon deal.
Both our rooms where clean tidy and comfortable. The food was very good, and the breakfast was exceptional.
We where also made to feel very welcome by the locals who are very friendly. I would love to return again in the future.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank marknewcastle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    30
    6
    6
    2
See reviews for
6
59
5
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Great service, excellent food, friendly staff. Great rural location, overall a great base in the borders for any type of break whether it be for walking or just a quiet escape, great for exploring the border region, kielder or further afield.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Clarky6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2012

Stayed 13/14 Oct 12
Have got to say that this is a fantastic little hotel in a beautiful bit of the countryside on the Scottish borders. The first thing we noticed when we checked into our room was that it was absolutely spotless and the bathroom was well appointed with a mixer shower that was more powerful than a lot of power showers that I have experienced in the past together with a large supply of lovely fluffy towels. The bed was made with crisp white sheets and a duvet and plenty of extra blankets if required. There was also plenty of Tea/coffee making facilities in the room with a jug of fresh milk. There is also a small TV on the wall with plenty of channels to check out.

On the 1st night we had an evening meal in the bar and we were surprised at the quality of the food that was being served. Although the menu is not extensive, we really enjoyed our meal and the friendly service that went with it and we thought it was very good value. The next morning after having a very comfortable night's sleep we went down for breakfast and I do not exaggerate when I say that we had one of the best breakfasts we have had in a hotel. We had a huge pot of tea with fruit juice, loads of toast, we passed on the cereals and had the "full Liddesdale breakfast" This set us up for the rest of the day until we had dinner in the evening. They have an amazing chef who takes real pride in what he puts out to the customer and is a credit to the hotel as are the other members of staff who I found very friendly and helpful.
On both days we stayed, we had our breakfast and evening meal at the hotel and really enjoyed them.
I have no hesitation to recommend this hotel as I think it represents excellent value for money.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 1 which had two 3' beds zipped together, sooooooo comfortable. Check out Gret...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DodgeSurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, UK
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2012

Over the years we have stayed in many 4* hotels that have immaculate furniture and fittings but provide service and food that leaves a lot to be desired. No so at the 4* Liddesdale Hotel in Newcastleton. The AA definition of 4* guest accomodation(Inn) such as the Liddesdale is: "Attentive, more personalised service, very good beds and high quality furniture, breakfast offers a greater choice, and fresh ingredients are cooked and presented with a high level of care." All true of the Liddesdale - and I would suggest that the food standards are also being met for the dinner meals too.

We stayed here for two nights on a Groupon special deal. Our room was clean, as was the en-suite, the bed was comfortable and there was plently of tea, coffee and milk available for our use. The only negatives were the stained carpet (light beige is not an ideal colour for a country Inn in autumn), the size of the built-in wardrobe (cupboard) and trying to find a socket in which to plug the hairdrier within viewing distance of one of the two mirrors. However, these minor negatives did not detract at all from an excellent two-night stay.

We eat dinner in the hotel on both nights. We had the choice of eating in the bar, the lounge or the dining room - although the latter was in darkness as everyone, ourselves included, had chosen to eat in the more relaxing atmosphere of the lounge or the bar with either soft background music all evening in the former and sport on TV, darts and a one-armed bandit in the latter. Dinner was cooked to order - so it was always piping hot - and the meals were really satisfying and very good value for money.

Breakfast, also served in the lounge area, was from a choice menu and again the hot selection was cooked to order and to perfection. There was never a hint that any of the food had been standing warming for some time waiting for someone to order it. A whole rack of toast and a range of cereals and hot and cold drinks were also on offer. All in all, very good start to the day.

Hotel staff were very welcoming, attentive and helpful and nothing seemed to be too much trouble for them.

There's not a lot to do in the town/village itself but there are a few good walks around the area (visit the hotel website for details) and there a really good cicular stroll around the town and along the river bank. There are a few 'corner' shops selling various things and we had afternoon snacks from both of the local coffee and cake shops. Staff there were very welcoming and the fayre was high quality and very good value for money.

Would we stay in the Liddesdale again for another short break? Yes we would.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JRPWashington_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2012

This hotel was an excellent choice for us for a weekend in October.The weather was very good with dry sunny days with a hard frost overnight,but the hotel was warm and cosy.The staff were great,nothing to much trouble.The food was excellent,we booked bed & Breakfast but had our evening meals also at the hotel.If you require a nice peacefull location in good walking country near to the Keilder Forest then this is the place for you.

Room Tip: We stayed in Roon 2 which had a nice view over the main square,The room is a double.,on the second f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BAZ078
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed October 6, 2012

This is the first time we used Groupon. The process was easy and helpful.
The hotel was welcoming and we soon got chatting to very friendly local people, The room was spotless. Food very good. We were regularly asked if everything was ok and it was much more than this. Nothing was too much trouble. We will be returning for a relaxing short break in a wonderful setting in an informal hotel which is focussed on customer satisfaction. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: We stayed in Room 3.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Iansd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rugeley, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2012

We stayed here when my husband competed in the Kielder 100. We had to be away really early and the staff were really accommodating. The room was spotless, service great and food was tip top. Can't fault the place and it is in such a pretty town square. We've just booked again and will continue to use it whenever we are in this part of the world. Fantastic place.

Room Tip: As this hotel is in a square, there is no issue with any room being noiser than the other.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jane P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newcastleton
0.0 mi away
Grapes Hotel
Grapes Hotel
#1 of 1 in Newcastleton
147 reviews
16.4 mi away
The Horse and Hound Country Inn
7.6 mi away
Eskdale Hotel
Eskdale Hotel
#1 of 3 in Langholm
151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.6 mi away
Balcary House Hotel
Balcary House Hotel
#3 of 7 in Hawick
20 reviews
17.5 mi away
Mansfield House Hotel
0.6 mi away
Black Burn Lodge B & B
Black Burn Lodge B & B
#3 of 5 in Newcastleton
53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Liddesdale Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Liddesdale Hotel

Property: Liddesdale Hotel
Address: 17 Douglas Square, Newcastleton TD9 0QD, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Borders > Newcastleton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Newcastleton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Liddesdale Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Liddesdale Hotel is located in Douglas Square at the heart of Newcastleton (sometimes referred to as Copshaw Holm); a 17th-century village planned by the 3rd Duke of Buccleuch, set in the peaceful, unspoiled countryside of Roxburghshire. As such it combines the relaxing aspect of a remote rural settlement whilst being only half an hour’s drive to Carlisle and the motorway network. Fully refurbished by new owners in 2008 the hotel is the perfect accommodation while staying in the area. Our hotel can offer you excellent food and wine, well appointed accommodation including Wi-Fi Internet and Sky TV in a friendly and welcoming atmosphere.Please note: There is no petrol station or cash point in the village.The Local Post office opens 3 days a week and you can get cash there if needed (Opens Monday Wednesday & Saturday) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Liddesdale Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Liddesdale Hotel Newcastleton, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing