We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent experience”
Review of Liddesdale Hotel

Liddesdale Hotel
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Liddesdale Hotel
Ranked #4 of 5 Newcastleton B&B and Inns
Reviewed October 6, 2012

This is the first time we used Groupon. The process was easy and helpful.
The hotel was welcoming and we soon got chatting to very friendly local people, The room was spotless. Food very good. We were regularly asked if everything was ok and it was much more than this. Nothing was too much trouble. We will be returning for a relaxing short break in a wonderful setting in an informal hotel which is focussed on customer satisfaction. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: We stayed in Room 3.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Iansd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (97)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

83 - 89 of 97 reviews

Reviewed August 24, 2012

We stayed here when my husband competed in the Kielder 100. We had to be away really early and the staff were really accommodating. The room was spotless, service great and food was tip top. Can't fault the place and it is in such a pretty town square. We've just booked again and will continue to use it whenever we are in this part of the world. Fantastic place.

Room Tip: As this hotel is in a square, there is no issue with any room being noiser than the other.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jane P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2012

This was our third two night stay in three years. As on other occasions, we found our room clean, pleasant and well supplied with the usual complimentary items. When it was noticed that I had brought my decaf tea bags, I was offered fresh milk for our room. We have always found the staff friendly and helpful. The food is of a high standard and plentiful. Breakfast is exceptional, and prepared to our preference. We stayed in Room 3 on this occasion, but have previously stayed in Room 1, which is above the bar. Regarding a previous reviewer's comments on the noise from the juke box, when in Room 1 we rang downstairs to enquire how late the music might go on for (at about 10.00), and it was immediately turned off.

Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Yorkiscotty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2012

Arrived late, friendly welcome and food freshly prepared.Meals tasty and plenty of it,breakfast kept me going all day.Room clean ,linen smelt lovely and fresh,locals friendly and welcoming,great craic in the bar.Will be back when in the area.Thankyou.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank james g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2012

A very disappointing stay at the Liddesdale Hotel. I read an earlier, highly complementary, review from someone who stayed in room 2 (which is the same room that we stayed in) who commented that the negative reviews seem as if they are written for another hotel - well I can't place his review as being for the same hotel as we experienced.

The room was dirty, the surfaces were dusty and didn't look like they'd been cleaned in a while, the carpet was heavily stained, and generally the room was very run down and in need of renovation and redecorating.

The sound on the TV was broken in such a way that it sounded like it was in another room. When asked when we checked out whether everything was OK with our stay, we mentioned the broken TV, but simply got a response of "oh yes, we had that in room 4 a while back - it's the speakers that have broken". No apology, nor attempt to try and resolve our dissatisfaction.

All in all a very disappointing stay, and we wouldn't return.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank 41n212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2012

Great area and hotel :) Tracey and all the staff were very friendly on my short stay. Food is excellent and my room was lovely. Newcastleton is a nice place but the weather wasnt great. Locals in the bar are great and everyone was very friendly. Shall definately be back if in the area.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank markwayne186525
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2012

Once again the MSA Rally season has started and I had ro cover the Brick & Steel Rally which rook me once again to Newcastleton. This has been my second stay at the Liddesdale hotel and when I arrived at 8.15pm on the 17th March I was met by Jane whom I had never met before. Jane was very pleasant indeed and made me most welcome.
Jane then showed me to my room number 2, and upon entering I could see that the room was spotlessly clean throughout. The ensuite was also spotless and had everything I needed towels, soap and shampoo. In my room was tea, coffee biscuits and mints. I must add that the furniture was new and this included a modern TV fitted to the wall.
Jane took me downstairs and I was then introduced to Tom the chef who was immaculately dressed in his chef's attire. I was asked if I wanted a cooked meal but declined as I had a meal earlier. If I had known I was staying at the Liddesdale I would not have eaten earlier because the last time I stayed I had an evening meal and it was scrumptous and value for money.
I found the local people in the bar to be very friendly indeed which gave the place an
atmosphere which made me feel at ease..
Upon retiring to my room I had an excellent sleep in a bed which was warm, clean and very comfortable. I had an early start at 7am and upon entering the dining room I was asked by Tom once again immaculately dressed if everything was to my satisfaction. I told him most certainly. I was then sat down to a full traditional breakfast. Wow - fruit juice and cereal followed by two eggs, bacon, haggis, blackpudding, sausages, mushrooms, tomato and two crispy potato scones. I declined the beans and very little room for toast. I must say that this meal really set me up for the rest of the day. This without doubt was the best breakfast I have ever experienced whilst staying in hotels.
My next visit to Newcastleton will be on the 27th April when I will have to cover the Pirelli Rally. I just can't wait to stay at this hotel again as my stay was out of this world. I will be making an early booking ro ensure I am not disappointed.
I have read the previous review and I am sure they were not staying at the Liddesdale Hotel because everything that has been said is far from the truth and does not give this hotel or its staff the praise it so well deserves..

Room Tip: To enjoy my experience it has to be room 2 but I am sure the rest of the rooms are good too as my la...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bjskiddaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newcastleton
0 mi away
Grapes Hotel
Grapes Hotel
#1 of 1 in Newcastleton
160 reviews
1.9 mi away
Sorbietrees
Sorbietrees
#1 of 5 in Newcastleton
300 reviews
0.9 mi away
Abbotshaw House - Farm B&B
Abbotshaw House - Farm B&B
#2 of 5 in Newcastleton
268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Black Burn Lodge B & B
Black Burn Lodge B & B
#3 of 5 in Newcastleton
66 reviews
14.8 mi away
The Pheasant Inn
The Pheasant Inn
#1 of 1 in Stannersburn
578 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Liddesdale Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Liddesdale Hotel

Address: 17 Douglas Square, Newcastleton TD9 0QD, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Borders > Newcastleton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Newcastleton
Price Range: $102 - $111 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Liddesdale Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Liddesdale Hotel is located in Douglas Square at the heart of Newcastleton (sometimes referred to as Copshaw Holm); a 17th-century village planned by the 3rd Duke of Buccleuch, set in the peaceful, unspoiled countryside of Roxburghshire. As such it combines the relaxing aspect of a remote rural settlement whilst being only half an hour’s drive to Carlisle and the motorway network. Fully refurbished by new owners in 2008 the hotel is the perfect accommodation while staying in the area. Our hotel can offer you excellent food and wine, well appointed accommodation including Wi-Fi Internet and Sky TV in a friendly and welcoming atmosphere.Please note: There is no petrol station or cash point in the village.The Local Post office opens 3 days a week and you can get cash there if needed (Opens Monday Wednesday & Saturday) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Liddesdale Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Liddesdale Hotel Newcastleton, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing