We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Alarmingly Good Food”
Review of Grapes Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Grapes Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Newcastleton
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 11, 2012

We didn't stay at the Grapes but ate on a Friday evening and Saturday lunchtime.

The food is really very good, well cooked and professionally served. Whoever is in the kitchen genuinely knows what they are doing. The food is really good value too and there is a pretty good wine list, all at reasonable value.

The beer is pretty poor for those sassennachs used to real ale, but at least they have Stella on tap.

Service is cheerful, helpful and professional.

All in all, this is an enjoyable place to go. The Borders are often overlooked as a holiday destination but Newcastleton is an interesting and attractive place to stay (very good caravan site where we stayed). Great countryside, walking and facilities, even the weather was kind.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nuclear_Pete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (160)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

137 - 143 of 160 reviews

Reviewed April 29, 2012

I recently visited Newcastleton on a holiday with friends. We decided to eat out on evening and the nearest restaurant was at the Grapes Hotel. The menu had plenty to choose from ranging from some traditional options to some more adventurous options (one of the group tried the haggis stuffed chicken). The food was very good and we were all very please with our choices. There were plenty of side dishes to accompany our meal. The desserts were very good too.
The staff were friendly and happy to help.
In all, we had a very enjoyable evening and would recommend eating in the restaurant if you are in the vicinity.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stanningley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2012

We just spent three nights at the Grapes and it was fantastic. The food in the restaurant is top nosh - the steak and ale pie was out of this world! Had some great mountain biking - did the cross border route to kielder and back one day and the newcastleton red the other day. The bakery down the road also serves good lunches. Highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dalbinator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2012

We have spent the last three Hogmanays in Newcastleton. What a wonderful friendly village as for the Grapes Hotel..Great value for money, superb food served by lovely friendly staff. ^ of us left on the 3rd January, we popped in for coffee, we were served with fresh pots of coffee and were offered refills. We will return.

Room Tip: As you can see we were self sufficient with caravans but I have recommended the Grapes to four of ou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Allan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2011

Returned once again to the grapes, must say that after 8 years of visits!! some with friends some with partner, this place is one of the most friendly,helpfull staff, nothing is to much trouble the staff are a credit to both Trevor & glynis, a request for something warm to eat after a day out in a very cold forest @ 10pm!! was accomodated that is the sort of service that demands recognition/mention, along with full breakfast next morning @ 7:30 am!! what more can be said other than a very big "Thank You" to all @ The Grapes.

lookforward to our next visit.....which has been booked for 12 months away!!, hope to make it back before then

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ispokes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2011

I have never been disspointed when having a meal at the Grapes.
The food is delicious and well presented and the staff very attentive. Nothing is too much trouble !
Would definately recommend !

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank EBUman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2011

Stayed here a couple of times, good food, excellent breakfast at a time to suit.

Steak and Ale Pie Excellent.

Rooms are clean but basic, the last time we stayed the electric shower didn't work properly, however they did let us use another room the next morning, no discounts though!!!!

Great location for Fishing, Cycling or Shooting locally.

Staff friendly enough.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newcastleton
16.4 mi away
The Horse and Hound Country Inn
17.5 mi away
Mansfield House Hotel
21.8 mi away
Riverdale Hall Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.6 mi away
Balcary House Hotel
Balcary House Hotel
#2 of 7 in Hawick
33 reviews
7.6 mi away
The Douglas Hotel
The Douglas Hotel
#2 of 3 in Langholm
80 reviews
7.6 mi away
Eskdale Hotel
Eskdale Hotel
#1 of 3 in Langholm
176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grapes Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grapes Hotel

Address: 16 Douglas Square, Newcastleton TD9 0QD, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Borders > Newcastleton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Newcastleton
Price Range: $75 - $111 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Grapes Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Book Direct Rooms, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Grapes Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grapes Hotel Newcastleton, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing