We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food and friendly staff.”
Review of Grapes Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Grapes Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Newcastleton
Certificate of Excellence
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent food and friendly staff.”
Reviewed April 29, 2012

I recently visited Newcastleton on a holiday with friends. We decided to eat out on evening and the nearest restaurant was at the Grapes Hotel. The menu had plenty to choose from ranging from some traditional options to some more adventurous options (one of the group tried the haggis stuffed chicken). The food was very good and we were all very please with our choices. There were plenty of side dishes to accompany our meal. The desserts were very good too.
The staff were friendly and happy to help.
In all, we had a very enjoyable evening and would recommend eating in the restaurant if you are in the vicinity.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stanningley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    84
    41
    16
    6
    3
See reviews for
21
64
9
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
doncaster
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2012

We just spent three nights at the Grapes and it was fantastic. The food in the restaurant is top nosh - the steak and ale pie was out of this world! Had some great mountain biking - did the cross border route to kielder and back one day and the newcastleton red the other day. The bakery down the road also serves good lunches. Highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dalbinator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perhshire
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2012

We have spent the last three Hogmanays in Newcastleton. What a wonderful friendly village as for the Grapes Hotel..Great value for money, superb food served by lovely friendly staff. ^ of us left on the 3rd January, we popped in for coffee, we were served with fresh pots of coffee and were offered refills. We will return.

Room Tip: As you can see we were self sufficient with caravans but I have recommended the Grapes to four of ou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Allan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tamworth staffs
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed December 6, 2011

Returned once again to the grapes, must say that after 8 years of visits!! some with friends some with partner, this place is one of the most friendly,helpfull staff, nothing is to much trouble the staff are a credit to both Trevor & glynis, a request for something warm to eat after a day out in a very cold forest @ 10pm!! was accomodated that is the sort of service that demands recognition/mention, along with full breakfast next morning @ 7:30 am!! what more can be said other than a very big "Thank You" to all @ The Grapes.

lookforward to our next visit.....which has been booked for 12 months away!!, hope to make it back before then

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ispokes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire
Level 6 Contributor
303 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2011

I have never been disspointed when having a meal at the Grapes.
The food is delicious and well presented and the staff very attentive. Nothing is too much trouble !
Would definately recommend !

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EBUman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2011

Stayed here a couple of times, good food, excellent breakfast at a time to suit.

Steak and Ale Pie Excellent.

Rooms are clean but basic, the last time we stayed the electric shower didn't work properly, however they did let us use another room the next morning, no discounts though!!!!

Great location for Fishing, Cycling or Shooting locally.

Staff friendly enough.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grenoble
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2011

We had a 3 night stay in The Grapes and would highly recommend a visit. Newcastleton is exceptionally friendly and there is a very warm welcome in the hotel and with locals in the bar. Trevor and Glynis cook a superb breakfast and like a wee chat! Safe bike storage. And the food in the restaurant great value, copious and delicious.

Room Tip: Room 2 overlooking the square is very nice with peaceful nights (during busy month of August)
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JohnAndCecile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newcastleton
16.4 mi away
The Horse and Hound Country Inn
17.5 mi away
Mansfield House Hotel
16.6 mi away
Balcary House Hotel
Balcary House Hotel
#3 of 7 in Hawick
23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 mi away
Eskdale Hotel
Eskdale Hotel
#1 of 3 in Langholm
154 reviews
21.8 mi away
Riverdale Hall Country House Hotel
0.0 mi away
Liddesdale Hotel
Liddesdale Hotel
#4 of 5 in Newcastleton
94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grapes Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grapes Hotel

Property: Grapes Hotel
Address: 16 Douglas Square, Newcastleton TD9 0QD, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Borders > Newcastleton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Newcastleton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Grapes Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Book Direct Rooms and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Grapes Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grapes Hotel Newcastleton, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing