We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel, away from the crowds in Ibiza”
Review of Simbad Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Simbad Hotel
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Talamanca
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 30, 2013

Stayed here for 4 nights 26-30 April 2013. Lovely hotel, with good, friendly staff. Room was a great size with plenty of space, beautifully clean, huge bed, little balcony with amazing sea views across the bay to the castle. Weather was okay but did not use the outdoor pool, too early for this. The hotel does have a small indoor pool with jets etc ... my husband used this and found it to be very pleasant and relaxing and the pool water lovely and warm. We ate breakfast at the hotel a couple of times and were suitably impressed. A wide selection of food on offer to suit every taste and plenty of it and of good quality. We ate dinner at the hotel once and again, were not disappointed, we opted for the 3 course meal (buffet). Both the quality of the food and service, we feel represented value for money. The Tapas restaurant and other small restaurant just round the corner from the hotel DO NOT come recommended, food quality in Tapas was poor and the other place was hideously expensive (34 euros for 2 small breakfasts). The location of this hotel is okay if you are looking to stay away from the crowds, which at this time of year is not a problem anyway as we found that many of the bars and clubs in San Antonio and Playa En Bossa do not open until end of May. However, if you are hoping to be closer to the 'hustle and bustle' of Ibiza nightlife this may be a little far out for you. We visited Pacha nightclub twice during our visit and loved it. The hotel is situated fairly close to the club, a 5 min taxi ride. We bought our entrance tickets direct from the hotel and got them a little cheaper than if we had paid at the door :) We hired a car for one day and drove around the island. San Antonio is only a short drive from the hotel, probably a 40 min walk, but this is a guess! If we were to return to Talamanca we would not hesitate to stay in this hotel again. Thank you Hotel Simbad for a lovely stay.

Room Tip: Room 331 - amazing sea views across the bay to the castle
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nursemillymolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (478)
There are newer reviews for Simbad Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

142 - 148 of 478 reviews

Reviewed April 21, 2013

Absolutely lovely hotel.

We stayed here early April and found the whole experience very restful and calming. Staff are extremely helpful and go our of their way to ensure that you enjoy your stay. We had our reservations after reading some previous comments, we booked half board, the restaurant food was very nice and more than enough choice, it was unlike some other hotels we had stayed in whereby there was too much on offer and it got messy.

The views from the hotel across to Ibiza old town are extremely pretty.

Overall the hotel is extremely clean, with cleaning staff visible all day long in different areas of the hotel.

If I could say one negative, and this is only a very very small negative it is that the pool area could do with a revamp, whether this was just because we went slightly out of season, but the views are so pretty and I felt that maybe the umbrellas should have all been put up and the pool area a bit cleaner, however I would go back to this hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank joe f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2013

Visited in April when the island quiet. We booked a sea view room and were delighted with the view from our room and balcony. We could see across the beautiful bay to the Castle.
The weather was excellent but too early for pool or sea. However the Hotel does have a small indoor pool Jacuzzi etc. We were out all day and never got to use them but they looked excellent. This hotel is near Ibiza town but still far enough away for a quiet relaxed break. My only criticism is the pool area could do with a makeover.
The buses to town at this time of year run every hour. To catch the bus turn left out the main door, walk about 100m to Hotel Lux Isla. Turn left. The bus stop is 20m on the right opposite Hotel Playa Real. Bus 12A and 12B go in and out of town.
From town we took bus L13 to Santa Eulalia a lovely seaside town on the east coast.
We also took the bus to San Antonio on the west coast.

There is a supermarket 20m away from hotel selling everything. You pass it on the way to bus stop.

The food is fine. Breakfast I enjoyed. This is one of the few hotels were you can get a good hot cup of tea. They don’t do “full English” but there is plenty of choice including omelettes etc cooked to order.

The staff were very polite and service excellent. The bar areas are lovely. There is a €10 deposit for safe in your room. Deposit also for towels. I found BBC World News on TV.

Excellent value for money hotel. We went because we got cheap flights. So glad we did.

Room Tip: Only a sea view will do - the higher the better.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fined4times
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Great location on the sea front. Hotel was good, breakfast fine. Gym and indoor pool small. Walked into Ibiza Town - about 40 minutes. Slightly impersonal service - staff were ok but not particularly welcoming.

Room Tip: High floor, sea view.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FiddlegirlHull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alvarosimbad s, Manager at Simbad Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 17, 2013

Dear Customer, Thank you for sharing your impressions with us . we will try to improve next time.We are delighted that your stay with us has been positive. Hope to see you back very soon for Simbad.Greetings

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2013

Stayed in many hotels all over the world, never had any problem,this is the first hotel we had problems we were a group of 3couples, I have found the staff to be very discriminatory towards us,was shocked with their behaviour especially at the restaurant we were served as we were not welcomed. We stayed for 3 nights the bed linen were not changed even once even tough it proudly calls itself a four star hotel I am sure a hotel which discriminates amongst its guest should be closed forget any star grading ..... Will not recommend any one to stay there

Room Tip: Room facing the sea are much nicer and amazing view
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jasbirlabana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alvarosimbad s, Manager at Simbad Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 17, 2013

Dear client



The Simbad hotel with over 40 years experience in the tourism industry and our worker (the second Maitre) and not the maitre as you suggest since this day was his day off, with more than 20 years in his job in the hotel can not accept an accusation of racism or discrimination (when in a restaurant usually as one of the important roles played by the manager is to indicate to diners tables which are available at all times), when thousands of tourists have passed through our facilities with a high degree of satisfaction as well as that indicates the many repeat customers we pleased to have.

We also remind you that as recorded in our system you had booked two standard twin rooms and a promo that in both cases are rooms with mountain views / streets and on arrival our employees were assigned directly to the three rooms with sea views a supplement and in no case were charged for it, which is why we also think that the hotel staff did everything possible thing in every moment to make your stay with us as pleasant as possible.

Our goal is that our customers enjoy their stay at all times, feel at home and of course try to help with any problems you may have on our beautiful island.

I finished this answer with our sincere apologies and we would like to have you with us again in the future to compensate for the inconveniences that we have supposed to have caused you.


best regards


Álvaro

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2012

I stayed here for 3 nights at the end of a 2 week stay in Ibiza during September 2012. Mainly as I got an offer with a good/ cheaper price also because I wanted to chill out for the last couple of days, after many nights out Clubbing!

Hotel itself is immaculate, rooms were clean and very nice. I had a sea view, and the view over Ibiza town at night was really nice. Views over the sea were great and peaceful at night. Hence the reason I came to stay here for a couple of nights before I went home.

Stayed 1/2 Board, buffet was OK so so, some of the food should have been kept a bit hotter.

Breakfasts were nice Freshly squeesed orance juice and nice omlettes and toasted sandwiches made in front of you by a nice lady.

Outdoor pool wasn't great/ a bit of a let down, little sunloungers/ umbrellas. Also felt as though anyone could use it as it is away from the hotel.

Would I stay here if I was going out clubbing to lots of clubs in Ibiza?
No: it is too far out the way ie a Taxi ride every time which unless you have a full taxi it would be very costly. I would't bother waiting for a bus, and there are no night club buses around here. Better of staying around Playa D'enbossa or San An.
If you were only going out for 1 night then maybee.

The walk to Ibiza Town is around 30 - 45 min from here.

Hotel area is nice near the beach and surrounding area is nice too!

Would I stay here again probably not. As i say it's just OK if you just want to chill out.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Trip2hotels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alvarosimbad s, Manager at Simbad Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 17, 2013

Dear Customer, Thank you for sharing your impressions with us. We are delighted that your stay with us has been so positive. Hope to see you back very soon for Simbad.Greetings

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2012

Great hotel - we went there at the end of the Ibiza season so it was very quiet - the staff were great, very helpful, food was good - we went half board and there was enough variety to keep us happy, which is not always the case with the inclusive buffet style meals. It was up there with the best from an inclusive meal perspective. If it was busier I would say the sunbathing space around the pool would be limited, but there were several beaches with in a very short walk. No complaints at all, the only thing to bear in mind is that its a fair walk from the town - you have to walk around the harbour and the port which takes a good 45 minutes. Plenty of taxis and buses available though and we enjoyed the walk as there is plenty to look at. It is definitely worth mentioning that if you get a sea view, the view across the bay is really beautiful, both in the day and night, and well worth the bit extra we had to pay to get it.

Room Tip: Definitely spend the extra to get a sea view, the view from the other side is just of a road and som...
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dom999v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Talamanca
0.6 mi away
Hotel Argos
Hotel Argos
#1 of 10 in Talamanca
427 reviews
2.6 mi away
Aparthotel Playasol Jabeque Soul
0.0 mi away
Hotel Ses Figueres
Hotel Ses Figueres
#6 of 10 in Talamanca
194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
OD Talamanca
OD Talamanca
#4 of 10 in Talamanca
128 reviews
2.0 mi away
THB Los Molinos
THB Los Molinos
#3 of 52 in Ibiza Town
757 reviews
1.6 mi away
Royal Plaza Hotel
Royal Plaza Hotel
#16 of 52 in Ibiza Town
418 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Simbad Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Simbad Hotel

Address: Calle Figueres 22 | Playa de Talamanca, 07800 Talamanca, Ibiza Town, Ibiza, Spain
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Ibiza > Ibiza Town > Talamanca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Talamanca
Price Range: $99 - $317 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Simbad Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 111
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Otel, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Simbad Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Simbad Hotel Talamanca
Simbad Hotel Ibiza/Talamanca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing