We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location and great view!”
Review of Hotel Argos

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Argos
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Talamanca
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 18, 2014

The hotel had a perfect location on the beach with a walking distance (20 min) to Ibiza town. The room was good but make sure you book one with a sea view!! The cleaning ladies was great! (Taught me how to say soap in Spanish, haha) The rest of the staff okay. Breakfast was good if you like sweets... They had an automatic orange juice press, freshly squeezed juice every morning. The pool area could be better, but I don't like to hang out by the pool so that didn't bother me.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank evahartzell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (427)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Argos
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

116 - 122 of 427 reviews

Reviewed June 12, 2014

stayed 5 nights. room ok, clean, breakfast ok, even with poor coffee. the dinner dining room reminds my military service . the bar is also sad, except on the terrace. with a bit more effort in terms of attitude and decoration it could deserve the 4 stars it claims . here the stars are only in line with the price .....which might be all right for IBIZA, but internationally is difficult to justify . the pool is ok, the beach so and so . and the staff attitude at reception desk should definitely be more proactive
to call those 2 rooms a spa is also quite ambitious

Room Tip: better with sea view
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nicolas s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2014 via mobile

We booked into the Hotel without issue. Our room overlooked the local Spar shop and surrounding buildings which was fine. The Hotel provided a high chair and cot bed that was pre ordered. The cot bed was made up ready and our daughter had a fab sleep in it. The room has a fridge which was very small internally and we struggled to store large bottled water and food in it as it also functions as the minibar.

The beds were comfy and clean. The bathroom was also very clean and functional. I asked reception for an Iron and I was provided with one for the duration of our stay complete with board.

Nice balcony area where you can chill with a beer and also very quiet at night.

Room service available with sandwhiches and pool side type food able to be delivered to your room upon request.

Staff including the cleaners are very friendly and approachable. The bar tender was kind and very helpful and assisted us with our daughter as this was our first trip away supplying high chairs and cleaning the tables etc.

Close to the Hotel are various beech side restaraunts and Cafe's with a chilled out feel. LaCaxa (cash point) is a 10 min walk so you can draw money at a small cost. Short walk to IBIZA town along the harbour so ideal location yo explore if you prefer quieter surroundings.

The evening meals were good with Chili con Carne, fish, meat etc. Breakfast also good with fresh orange juice, cereals. Yoghurt, croissants. Randomly had chicken nuggets but they went down well.

Pool area small but nice sunbeds were limited.


All in all a great stay and we will deffinately return.

Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
Thank Marra1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2014

Just returned from a very enjoyable stay at the Argos. Cannot fault the place.
We booked a sea view room, and the bay vista is fantastic. Ibiza Town is a 7 Euro taxi ride away, buses are rare, and it's a fair walk, but the taxis are easy enough to flag down.

Room Tip: Pay the extra for a sea view room. Get in quick before they sell, out.
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peter J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2014

We have stayed here many times over the last decade. As a family-run hotel, you get warm, friendly service. Facilities are very good + a huge choice of items at inclusive breakfast. However, best of all is the lovely, quiet, location overlooking Talamanca bay - a sea view room is a must! Only 20mins walk from the centre of Ibiza Town or via water ferry.

I strongly recommend if you are visiting Ibiza.

Room Tip: Pay extra for a sea-view room - it's worth it.
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Max T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2014

I loved this hotel, I hope the owners read this because they have such a little jewel and with with a few small but important improvements.some it could shine!
The good.
I knew of this hotel as stayed in apartments overlooking the hotel some years ago. We went to have a look for the future but the dated interior was off putting at the time. Having another look because of the location and then seeing that the rooms had been renovated this inspired me to book it although the other parts of the hotel still looked dated. The location of the hotel is really good, amazing views from the sea view rooms overlooking Talamanca Beach which is safe and has several beach bars scattered around the peaceful bay. Ibiza Town is on your doorstep via Water Taxi ( high season only) situated opposite the hotel Corso, a good 3 mins walk away from the hotel, the water taxi goes from Marina Botafoch to Ibiza Town from about 10am daily every 15 mins until 1 am in high season which is perfect. Alternatively if you feel more active and with comfy shoes on, you can walk from the hotel into Ibiza town which is approx 4 miles round trip. Its a lovely stole in the evening as most of it is along the wide footpath which runs the length of Botafoch.
Although there is room for some very important, the Argos Hotel is a little gem. Its spotlessly clean, I have never stayed in either a 4 or 5 start hotel that has been cleaned to this standard.
The rooms are very minimal but I liked that, Lots of hot water a clean fluffy white towels. You can get Beach Towels from reception for a deposit of 10 Euros, you can change your towels as much as you like and at the end of your stay they give you back your deposit when the towels are returned. The charged for drinks at the bar were very reasonable, I had read on Trip Adviser that the staff were awful, maybe they had taken notice and done something to improve that? Bar one older lady on reception which i will explain later, we had the opposite experience and found the staff very friendly, helpful and generally really nice people. Nothing was too much trouble, the staff are such an important part of your holiday and can ruin it or make it and they certainly help to make our holiday.
The indoor pool is fab and so warm, it was lovely at the end of the day to have a swim as the outdoor pool is not heated and in April although the sun was out it was a tad too cold to use.
Good part about the food, lovely fresh fruit, fresh bread, puddings and the fresh fish every night was lovely although smothered in garlic butter all the time.. shame! Fresh orange juicer.The pillows which are usually a big let down were remarkably acceptable, a choice of soft and hard, great touch.
The Bad
OMG the beds, they are HARD!..A major let down for this hotel! I real shame! I don't have a bad back unless I sleep on a hard bed and they made my back seriously ache, i was in serious agony most of my holiday and never slept properly at all! Although the young lady on reception had my mattress changed to a foam one it was still too hard and so small next to my husbands bed we may as well have been in separate rooms. My back improved marginally but not enough for me to sleep properly without waking up in pain but i was coping. Then frustratingly the family from hell with three children moved into the room next door and although we understood that the soundproofing had been done it was not significant enough to dull this unruly family so we moved rooms. Again the young lady helped and gave us a quite room which was bliss, however the bed only had one mattress on top of the two bases and the hotel did not change the mattress to the slightly better hard foam one for me. I asked an older lady at reception explaining the problem the beds again to her asked if they had mattress toppers at all? She could not care less by her tone, her answer was to shrug her shoulders, roll down her bottom lip, raising her eyebrows and tell me they are new beds and they don't have mattress toppers! very rude and not accommodation at all and she did not give a hoot about me or my problem clearly. I said that every hotel i have ever stayed in have mattress toppers and maybe it is something they should consider!. I ended up having to put two sunbed cushions under the sheets for the last two nights which looked ridiculous were far too small to sleep on properly, were really hot too, but i woke with no pain which was bliss. My husband who can sleep on a log also had back ache due to the mattress's.
The hotel have spent a small fortune upgrading the rooms but the most important thing to offer a guest is a good night sleep and they have installed cheap nasty mattresses that are far too hard so that they last. I rent out property and good beds are a basic requirement. I have just stayed in a Premier Inn this weekend and the beds were fantastic! maybe the owners should send the management over to the UK and go check it out. Note to hotel, not everyone like to sleep on a hard bed so invest in mattress toppers! and respect that your guest have a valid point when they are struggling to sleep and spend the rest of the day in agony! Note to guest who don't like hard beds who are due to go, budget £100 extra and go visit the local Ikea and buy yourself a mattress topper!
The food was hit and miss, it was occasionally ok but mostly just adequate, we did not go hungry but dinner was not something to get excited about just to fill you up on the good bits stated above.. If your expecting anything more you will be disappointed. If your a vegetarian you will have to find somewhere else to eat. My daughter is a vegetarian and wont eat anything that has eyes, does not do mushrooms or eggs, so it would not be a good hotel food wise for her.
I watch my weight and there were no healthy options, everything was always covered or soaked in butter or dressing of some kind. The potatoes ( not the chips) the fish, the salad dressing or oil on everything. Even the lettuce had dressing poured over it every night and the lovely tomato and onions which i love had revolting slithers of oily fish piled on top of it every night. It would be so much better to offer everything separably so people have more choice.
Breakfast was marginally better but it is beyond me that why they put out chicken nuggets for breakfast and streaks of fat offered as a poor excuse for bacon. The menu is not geared up for us English or those who like good food.
We like to brew our tea bags in the cup before adding milk so had to spoon it from a cup of milk at the table, not a 4 star experience. Little milk jugs for the milk would have been easier. We holiday 4 times a year in both 4 and 5 star hotels and this food and the beds were not 4 star hotel. You wont go hungry as I said and everything is cooked well, maybe a tad cold but cooked well, its just very limited and smothered in stuff.
My suggestions which would make this hotel fantastic are
Go buy some good quality mattress toppers
Offer tea and coffee facilities in our room at an extra charge for that facility if its makes it easier to do so.
Offer DVD or CD rental too, would have been a great touch as the only English channel was BBC Worldwide news. Although we read, It would have been nice to have the option of a DVD as in April its a bit cold at night and most places are closed in the evening
Introduce some healthier options to your menus

The suggestions above are small ones and would make this hotel into the Real Little Gem that it could be so easily.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Lollipopdreams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2014

My complaints are so picky, perhaps, that I am sorry to suggest: a more imaginative buffet, both breakfast and dinner, especially the later. AS well, why not with small placards indicate what the food item IS. AND dinner being from 7:30 PM is late. While the staff tried, their first language is Spanish and mine is English. BUT the service in the dining room is excellent and efficient.

Room Tip: There ARE seaside view rooms. We thought we had one, but did not. Luckily, the street side, for me...
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bud101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Talamanca
2.0 mi away
Aparthotel Playasol Jabeque Soul
0.6 mi away
Simbad Hotel
Simbad Hotel
#5 of 10 in Talamanca
477 reviews
3.3 mi away
Hard Rock Hotel Ibiza
Hard Rock Hotel Ibiza
#1 of 33 in Playa d'en Bossa
2,308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.1 mi away
Sol Beach House Ibiza
Sol Beach House Ibiza
#14 of 56 in Santa Eulalia del Rio
1,814 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hotel Torre del Mar
Hotel Torre del Mar
#7 of 33 in Playa d'en Bossa
871 reviews
1.4 mi away
THB Los Molinos
THB Los Molinos
#3 of 52 in Ibiza Town
757 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Argos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Argos

Address: Calle Mola s/n | Playa de Talamanca, 07800 Talamanca, Ibiza Town, Ibiza, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Ibiza > Ibiza Town > Talamanca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Talamanca
#1 Luxury Hotel in Talamanca
Price Range: $115 - $354 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Argos 4*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Argos Hotel Ibiza is a four star hotel. It enjoys a privileged location, between the bays of Talamanca and Ibiza town, whose city, world heritage, so far only 1.8km., 5 minutes from the marina Botafoch, casino and various nightlife areas such as the famous nightclub Pacha.106 rooms renovated in 2012 (most with sea views),with a modern design, new bathrooms, led lighting, beds of 1.05 x 2.00 meters and beds of 2.00 x 2, 00 meters(upon request and availability), air conditioning, flat screen TV, safe (for rent), telephone, minibar and terrace. Wi-Fi access throughout all the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Argos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Argos Hotel Talamanca
Hotel Argos Ibiza/Talamanca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing