We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic!”
Review of Matchani Gran

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Matchani Gran
Ranked #1 of 1 San Climente B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 18, 2010

We stood at Matchani Gran for 14 days in August and it was really a pleasant and quiet stay. You realize that the new Spanish managment has experience in the hotellerie. The country house is really beautiful and the rooms are very characteristic with nice ancient furniture but fantastic new viscoelastic mattresses. The breakfast is abundant and varied served under a beautiful patio by Cate, a "historic presence" at Matchani. The pool area is very comfortable with wide spaces and new deckchairs. Matchani Gran is in the countryside, so a car/motorcycle is needed, but the peace and the silence there, are fantastic (even if the airport is near). Once a week the owners prepare a tasty bbq for a very honest price! and you have even the possibility to cook by yourself. The town of Sant Climent is small, but is well served : you can find one of the best Minorca's restaurants "Moli de Foc" and a new one "Es Casino", supermarket, bakery, butcher etc. I would reccomend this hotel to everybody! Try it!

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank helga62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (95)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

24 - 30 of 95 reviews

Reviewed September 29, 2009

What you see on the website is what you get, wonderfull hosts and a tranquil setting. The rooms were immaculate and in keeping with local tradition. The house and gardens are lovely. Our hosts Shaun and Jenny were great and treated us as I`m sure they would like to be treated themselves. Shaun seemed to know when you wanted to be alone but was always on hand with a joke when you didn`t...nothing was too much trouble to them, from picking us up and dropping us at the airport, the welcome drinks and lunch...(totally unexpected) The advice on where and when to go... even an umbrella left at the door in the morning after a shower in the night.
As previous people have said Jens cooking is to die for...try the scrambled egg in the morning or the Lamb in the evening if she cooks.

I have no hesitation in recommending Matchani Gran to anyone who wants a little peace and nice surroundings with like minded people. We`ve never been anywhere twice but will be returning soon....Sorry Shaun!
I would recommend a car for part of your holiday at least, unless like us, you enjoy walking and buses.
Mike and Cathy

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank mike213
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2009

From the moment we arrived, the welcome we received from Shaun and the other guests was amazing. The house is gorgeous, the bar & pool areas great places to relax and enjoy conversing with our hosts and fellow guests. Our room was rustic and pretty. I loved the way everyone looked after each other, so refreshing. Shaun and Jenny were fabulous hosts and we enjoyed the breakfasts. The meal they served one evening was wonderful, made more special by the surroundings and the company - we haven't had such a good meal and laugh since!
There are many good restaurants nearby and Sean's recommendations can be relied on. He always has an interesting story to tell.....we liked his jokes!
We would definitely recommend staying at Matchani Gran. Being so close to the airport was a great advantage and really did not affect us at all.
Our greatest regret is that we didn't leave something for the lovely lady who kept our room and bathroom so clean and tidy. We each thought the other had left something and it was only a few nights ago when talking to friends about Matchani that we realised what had happened, so we sincerely apologise for that.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dennetts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2008

We have just had 12 relaxing days at Matchani Gran. Shaun and Jenny could not have been better hosts, from the free drinks on arrival to the excellent dinners on the nights Jenny cooked the service could not be faulted. An atmospheric, sympathetically restored farmhouse with a surprise around every corner. Well run and with a mix of like minded guests it made for a pleasant and totally different break from the usual hotel. Thoroughly recommended.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
matchani, owner and manager at Matchani Gran, responded to this reviewResponded November 4, 2008

How nice. I only have 3 jokes !!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2008

If you are looking for new and modern accommodation, forget Matchani Gran.! This is a sympathetically converted farm house full of atmosphere and character. Our hosts, Shaun and Jenny Murphy , welcomed us so genuinely and generously with free drinks and a delicious lunch. This was but a taste of things to come ! A case of wine(compliments of the house) was awaiting our party of 6 on the patio. Our holiday could not have been more relaxed and happy. The guests seemed to take their "cue" from our hosts and ,as the weather was superb,we all ate al fresco in a house party atmosphere
The swimming pool( and surrounds ) was very well maintained. Towels and brollys were provided, and we were encouraged to take these to the beach should we so wish.
Our bedrooms were quaint but our every need was met. We had full bath en suite and all the usual toileteries and more !
We ate out at some of the most expensive restaurants but Jenny's dinners surpassed them all.
I thoroughly recommend Matchani Gran.
Lenore Blean (N. Ireland) September '08

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank N_IrelandLenore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
matchani, owner and amnager at Matchani Gran, responded to this reviewResponded November 4, 2008

No relation, honestly.
Makes it all wothwhile.
Doing a good job here is like wetting yourself in a dark suit.
It gives you a warm feeling, but no one really notices.
Sometimes!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2008

We have just come back down to earth after staying at matchani gran for a week, where we have experienced a little bit of heaven!
Shaun and Jenny, our hosts, welcomed us with a refreshing drink before settling us into our beautiful country farmhouse style room.
Shaun took time out from his busy day to sit down, and show places of interest to us such as the beaches and the marinas and restaurants - he even gave us a map!!
The breakfasts were freshly prepared and plentiful, although Jenny no longer cooks in the evening, we were able to use all of the kitchen facilities or barbecue ourselves should we wish to.
Potential guests who have not visited Menorca before should note that a car is essential for exploring the island, as it is very beautiful.
Having read other comments on this site, we appreciate all of the positives and whilst the negatives may have an element of truth - they were very much outweighed by our experience of total relaxation, laughter, joy, silence, peace and a renewed sense of wonder for nature and beauty. Not forgetting the added bonus of meeting lots of friendly, and interesting people!!!
Matchani Gran is the ideal base for exploring Menorca. A place where you can return in the evening after a day of activity, have a drink at the bar and chat with fellow guests about your experiences.
Matchani Gran is a farmhouse, so you should expect a little fraying around the edges - five star luxury it is not, but our experience was priceless- emotionally and spiritually. We felt genuinely welcomed almost as family members, but not in an intrusive way.
If you decide to stay here then forget your watch, and just allow yourself to ..be....
We will certainly be back for more !!

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WirralScousers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
matchani, owner manager at Matchani Gran, responded to this reviewResponded November 4, 2008

Wow, they can come back!
We do cook one night per week, and arrange other nights where guests cook and we provide potatoes, salad ,bread etc

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2008

This is a very comfortable and relaxing place to stay. Friendly and accomodating hosts who are there when you need them and know when to leave you alone. The room was spacious, particularly the huge bathroom. The twin beds could have been a bit more comfortable (being a bit picky). Breakfasts excellent, can't understand negative comments elsewhere.
All other guests were very friendly and made for a great atmosphere, spurred on by Shaun. Spent a number of happy hours relaxing in the bar, the lack of formality making for a very laid-back environment.
Jenny's cooking is to be highly recommended on the evenings when it is offered. On other evenings there are plenty of fine local alternatives which Shaun will tell you about, the very best of which is Moli de Foc.
Yes, the airport is nearby, but not that busy, not too intrusive and very convenient.
You can find faults as detailed by others, but they are all more than made up for by the good points.
If you want more formal 5* luxury in Menorca then maybe try Hotel Rural Biniarroca but if you want to really relax then stay here.
We are returning again this year.

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank tsukroff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
matchani, owner manager at Matchani Gran, responded to this reviewResponded November 4, 2008

Thank you.
Breakfast is served. Not self service.
I am your waiter.Our poached eggs are wobbly, and Jens scrambled eggs light and fluffy.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Climente
3.4 mi away
Catalonia Mirador d'es Port
3.1 mi away
Hotel Artiem Capri Menorca
4.5 mi away
Artiem Carlos III Adults Only
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Boutique Hotel Jardi de ses Bruixes
4.7 mi away
Occidental Menorca
Occidental Menorca
#2 of 6 in Punta Prima
2,815 reviews
3.1 mi away
Biniarroca Hotel
Biniarroca Hotel
#1 of 4 in Sant Lluis
269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Matchani Gran? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Matchani Gran

Address: Carretera Binidali km 1,5 | Mao Menorca, 07712 San Climente, Menorca, Spain
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Menorca > San Climente
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in San Climente
Price Range: $85 - $212 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Matchani Gran 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
..Access to Matchani Gran is along a beautiful drive, lined with 100 fir trees. The drive is one third of a mile long, and is ideal for a gentle stroll after breakfast to admire the many wonderful birds; one of which being the Hoopoe...Matchani Gran is situated within ten minutes drive of Mahón and under two miles of San Climente village. There is a bus service from San Climente to Mahón, or to Calan Porter ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Evoline ltd so you can book your Matchani Gran reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing