We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very special and relaxed place”
Review of Matchani Gran

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Matchani Gran
Ranked #1 of 1 San Climente B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 25, 2013

We stayed in Matchani Gran for a week in may 2013 and had a really nice time.
It is a very charming place full of character, located in an old farmhouse close to the airport.
This is not as bad as it sounds since Menorca airport is small and there are only flights in the morning and (early) evening. We were not bothered at all and unless you are extremely sensitive to noise it will not be a problem.
This place is not a slick hotel with a lot of amenities but the owner (who also lives here) is a very friendly and helpful person who will do his best to make you feel at home.
The guestrooms are nicely decorated and adequate. The bed is big and comfortable.
There are cats and donkeys walking around and in the large grounds you will not only find a pool and a hottub but also plenty of places to sit, lie down and relax.
Inside the barn there is a large recreation room with an internet pc (free), a billiard table and lots of books. There is also a bar and you are free to use the kitchen to cook yourself a meal.

It is essential to have a car since the nearest village is 1,5 km away and there is not too much public transport around.

On the downside, there is no reception and only in the morning there is a friendly lady who serves breakfast and does the housekeeping. It can be a bit confusing to arrive here around noon not finding anybody to receive and accommodate you.
There is no safe place to leave your room key and doors are left unlocked after the room has been cleaned. Now, Matchani Gran is an isolated farmhouse and it seems to be in a very safe region but still I do not think this is a good idea.

We also noticed that the roof of this large barn is in bad needs of repair. It is leaking when it rains and at the back of the barn (where the donkeys have their stable) it is near to collapse.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nielshartgers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (97)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

14 - 20 of 97 reviews

Reviewed March 16, 2013

The Matchani Gran is a pleasant rural stay on Menorca, and the place has much potential, some unrealized. The long narrow bumpy driveway initiates the rural experience, although it could use a little grading. The complex of rooms are relaxing and comfortable amidst the farm fields, if a little tattered around the edges. Rooms ample enough and activities room and gardens are interesting if a bit gone to seed. Was there in the off-season true, but pool was unusable and the pleasant garden courtyards needed a bit sprucing up and linens another good wash. The peace and quiet and country setting made our stay quite pleasant as a base for exploring Menorca’s unique island character and excursions. The small village of San Climent down the road has a good restaurant, Casino Sant Climent, open some nights (the Thursday tapas special night was a fun local event and the proprietor very helpful).

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RTavi_mon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2013

my friends and I spent a night here and found it so relaxing and beautiful! Our room was very clean and absolutely gorgeous. Lorenc made us sandwiches for dinner the night before and brought them to our room! So thoughtful! We wished that we could stay longer but only had a day. We had a delicious breakfast in the morning before we had to leave. They have lots of cats, burros and sheep and the property is absolutely astounding! Can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Victoria C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2012

If you want to stay somewhere different, this is it. A wonderful old farmhouse lovingly restored. It boasts the longest barn in Menorca, much of it now comprising a resident's lounge area with a library, flat screen TV, pool table, sofas and armchairs.
The hotel is just a short drive from San Climente where there the Casino Bar serves good food and tapas, with a regular jazz venue.
Cathy will serve you breakfast and then the day is your own. The owners, Yola and Lorrenc are very laid back and you are free to do as you please. There's an honesty bar and you have free use of the kitchen once breakfast is cleared away.
There is an excellent pool plus a hot tub. If you want some peace and quiet there are a number of private spots with comfortable loungers.
It is possible to walk into San Climente and catch buses to the beach but this is a pain in the heat of mid summer so a car would be advisable. The airport is close by so there are occasional noises as aircraft take off but most of the time they take off the other way and there's no real problem.
We have known Matchani Gran for many years but had not stayed there until we needed to book somewhere for family and friends to stay whist attending a wedding on the island. Everyone absolutely loved it.

Room Tip: If you really want privacy, ask to stay at their little caseta, set away from the main building, sur...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DhBahiya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2012

We stayed at Matchani Gran several times over the last 15 years and we find this a great place to relax and a great base to get around the island. Yola and Laurenc have continued to improve the facilities like free beach towels, complimentary shampoo and soap, air con in all bedrooms. The bedrooms are clean and the bathrooms functional although a little basic. The bedrooms could do with better lighting and some more mirrors for the girls! Although the rooms are rustic and clean, the girls find it difficult to put the mascara on straight,and blame the lighting, personally I put it down to one too many gin and tonics! The converted farmhouse has a lovely feel and a perfect setting for a relaxing break. Although the airport is nearby, the plane noise does not bother us at all. Having said that, it's only a 10 minute drive to the airport which is handy. One of the things we love about this destination is we can be there for coffee in the morning, having got an the 6.30am flight from Luton. Most people staying here go out for the day, so the pool area and gardens are usually quiet. Yola and Laurenc have alotted space in a couple of fridges in the kitchen to each room, so you can put your drinks and food in there. You have a free run in the kitchen if you decide to eat in. Laurenc cooks a bar b que once a week for guests at a modest price. You will need a car here unless you fancy a 1.5km walk to the village where there are a few shops and a supermarket. What is really great about Matchani is the eclectic mix of guests, of all ages, mainly couples and some families from countries all over the EU. We always seem to meet a great group of people and sometimes share a barbque in the evening. This is a great base from which to discover the island. Secluded beaches and coves within 10 minutes drive and loads of fabulous restaurants both luxury and rustic within 10 miles. We went in September this year and usually go in June or September... the flies have not bothered us and no mosquito bites, unlike the UK this year! It would be nice if they had a few bikes to use to get around locally and get some exercise, if you didn't want to get use the car! Caty who cooks your breakfast is a gem. Good continental breakfast as well as your choice of eggs, fruit and fresh pastries. This isn't 5 star but you don't pay 5 star prices! However it's great value for money and a fab place to relax.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SimonON
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2011

My partner and I spent 1 week here recently after becoming a little tired of touristy hotels over the last few years.
After reading the description on the b and b's website we kind of knew what to expect.The directions given are good and the place is just 10 mins from the airport.You definately need a car unless you are very adventurous or a good walker .
The rooms are very cool and decorated to compliment the farmhouse style with roughly plastered walls and nice colourful touches.a/c works well but lights could be a bit better as room quite dark at night.Shower was good and nice quality large bottles of shower gel and shampoo were provided as well as a little gift.
The owners work during day but you have a number to contact them.From what we saw there are 3 staff including a lovely lady called Caty who does the breakfast and some housekeeping,also your laundry if you need it!.
The breakfast is a nice continental with addition of eggs as you would like them cooked.The only problem is the flies and i think the breakfast would have been better inside or effective fly catchers installed.
You have the run of the kitchen hot drinks are available at no extra cost and an honesty bar system is in operation which works vey well.An authentic lounge with free internet and a library of books and dvd's are at your disposal.Unfortunately no English channels are available on the t.v
Some days we had the lovely swimming pool to ourselves and there was always a spot to find in the garden if you wanted some peace.
We also enjoyed the animals and the wildlife.
If you like a nice independant holiday and enjoy peace and quiet the place is for you and this is the first time we have stayed anywhere like this and it wont be the last.
Dont go expecting pristine 4 or 5 star facilities and accomodation, accept it for what it is, a unique holiday experience.

p.s. If not for the flies and the kitchen I would have given the rating excellent

Room Tip: Most rooms are different and all have their pros and cons
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank funnyboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2011

We stayed one week (came back last Saturday) and had a very good time. The place is beautiful,an old Menorcan country house, very well conserved. Rooms are good size and clean. Service is also very good. Breakfast is abundant and with different options of local products every day, plus... toasts, eggs, jam, yogurts etc.. You can cook your own meals in the kitchen and use the bbq if you like, they do not have any problem with that! They let you use a communal fridge,so you can buy your food and drinks and enjoy them in the lovely outside area near the swimming pool or in one of the gardens. There is also a self service bar and prices are very honest..you just have to note down what you drink and pay at the end of your staying. Once a week they organise a bbq with fresh fish or meat (3 courses menu for 20EUR) and it's a nice occasion to get together with the other hosts.
The owner and staff are very nice and always available to help. We had our flight at 10pm on Saturday and they let us use the room until late as they didn't have any booking for that day.
All in all, we had a very good time and will definitely recommend this place to our friends. The only tiny con that this place has, it's its proximity to the airport,as sometimes you can hear the noise of the aircraft's turbines, however it's not a very busy airport and it closes at 11pm, so didn't bother that much.

Room Tip: North side rooms are bigger or small cottage.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank elisa c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Climente
4 mi away
Hotel Port Mahon
Hotel Port Mahon
#1 of 8 in Mahon
775 reviews
8.3 mi away
Valentin Son Bou
Valentin Son Bou
#2 of 8 in Son Bou
1,573 reviews
20.9 mi away
Biniatram Agroturisme
Biniatram Agroturisme
#23 of 52 in Ciutadella
77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Farmstay Biniati d's Pi
Farmstay Biniati d's Pi
#2 of 4 in Sant Lluis
33 reviews
21.8 mi away
Hostal Residencia Menurka
Hostal Residencia Menurka
#3 of 19 in Ciutadella
123 reviews
4.1 mi away
Alcaufar Vell
Alcaufar Vell
#1 of 4 in Sant Lluis
174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Matchani Gran? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Matchani Gran

Address: Carretera Binidali km 1,5 | Mao Menorca, 07712 San Climente, Menorca, Spain
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Menorca > San Climente
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in San Climente
Price Range: $89 - $926 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Matchani Gran 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
..Access to Matchani Gran is along a beautiful drive, lined with 100 fir trees. The drive is one third of a mile long, and is ideal for a gentle stroll after breakfast to admire the many wonderful birds; one of which being the Hoopoe...Matchani Gran is situated within ten minutes drive of Mahón and under two miles of San Climente village. There is a bus service from San Climente to Mahón, or to Calan Porter ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your Matchani Gran reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing