We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place for either a lunch or dinner”
Review of Cafe Bistro Sol 32

Cafe Bistro Sol 32
Ranked #1 of 38 Restaurants in Mercadal
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $22 - $46
Cuisines: Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: It is a rustic house, situated in Es Mercadal, where it is pleasant and welcoming equipped with air conditioning and an outdoor terrace in summer, inside the house itself is a lounge with capacity for 20 22 nice people a ready-made daily on the kitchen menu Mediterranean and local products such as fish, lamb or veal market the main hall has a capacity of approximately 60 people, with tables bisro type noble wood and marble.
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great place for either a lunch or dinner”
Reviewed June 14, 2013

We first had lunch at a set price, the three course meal with a bottle of wine and water was tremendous and delicious forjustb15 euros. On the strength of the lunch we booked a evening meal and I have got to say the experience was memorable, we really enjoyed every bite. Apart from the food, there is a wide choice it suit every palate the decor and ambiance is excellence.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Bryan N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

342 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    228
    78
    24
    9
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mahon, Spain
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“One of the best!!”
Reviewed June 1, 2013

A very special evening!! with fantastic food and great atmosfere!! a very well thoght menu with lots of options meat, fish, rice or exotic food from all over the world, very diferent and new settled in the heart of Mercadal a great choice!!!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dave77702
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Okehampton
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Classiest meal on Menorca”
Reviewed May 24, 2013

On recommendation of my brother in law and his wife who ate here a week ago we tried out the bistro last night. We booked ahead as it was Friday and that was a good move as it was pretty well full and when 18 Menorquians arrived for a group meal it was packed. The meal was of the highest order, probably the best I have had in the 25 years of visiting the island, there are other good places here but this was different from the usual fare.
We both had starters, Tuna carpaccio, Cerviche of seafood with plantain "chips", then baked cod with a pesto crust, and monkfish with a green sauce. We also managed a dessert each as the portions were not too big, we had a bottle of the house rose which the waiter recommended and some bottled water, all of this came to 92E, but we did have some of the more expensive items on the menu.
You will have to be patient as the food comes out at a leisurely pace, but this more to do with the food being prepared for you, we were warned by the chef/owner when we booked about this, he advised us to arrive a little later than we wanted as there were 2 tables of 5 booked in at 8pm, therefore 8.30 would be better as he would be attending to them.
The staff were really cheery and helpful in explaining the menu, and totally un fazed when the large party arrive at 9.45 especially as the place is quite small. The restaurant is well laid out in a beautifully restored old house.
Parking can be problem so leave your car and walk in...nothing is far away here.
There menu is small with options for fish, meat and vegetarians.
The lunch menu 15E is also recommended .

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Will W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertfordshire
Level 6 Contributor
82 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed May 23, 2013

Lovely food in a very nicely refurbished typical Menorcan house. Service excellent. Very good meals every time we visit.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank KatyHertfordshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hornchurch, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Best restaurant we have found on menorca a jewel”
Reviewed May 19, 2013

While on a four day working break in menorca where we have a property, we went out for dinner one evening and stumbled on this restaurant.
It was a jewel to be found. Firstly the decor was stunning the service from the chef David was
Very attentive. He translated the menu for us as it was all in Spanish which was great.
We had two starters between us to share one being a goats cheese dish which was delicious,
The other was carpaccio which was lovely. Then we followed with the sirloin steak with a crust on with gnocchi stuffed with porcini mushrooms and a red wine sauce, and a spinach risotto. I have to say that this was one of the best meals I have ever tasted and we have eaten all over the world.
The staff, restaurant,and food was fantastic.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank anne m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Bistro Sol 32 also viewed

Mercadal, Minorca
 
Fornells, Minorca
 
Fornells, Minorca
Mercadal, Minorca
 

Been to Cafe Bistro Sol 32? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing