We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely food, lovely setting, excellent service”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of C'an Olga

C'an Olga
Ranked #3 of 37 Restaurants in Mercadal
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Romantic, Special occasions, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Lovely food, lovely setting, excellent service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2013

The tittle of my review says it all: this was an very good restaurant, a hidden gem in Mercadal, a sleepy town in the Menorca. I ordered a meal which had never tried: slow roasted baby goat and it was just a dream, very soft and suculent meat, with perfectly cooked vegetables. My hubby had the steak with menorcan cheese which was very tasty too. The host, was very attentive and friendly and helped us to chose the perfect wine to go with our meal and our particular preferences. Dessert was amazing too, specially the creme brule! The restaurant has a lovely setting, with a cute garden in the background and well chosen music too.
Would not hesitate to go back and highly recommend it.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank LauskiLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

272 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    151
    82
    26
    10
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Lovely food in romantic setting”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2013

The restaurant is slightly tricky to find but well worth searching out. We sat outside in the covered courtyard (supplemented with a heater and side screen to keep the May evening chill at bay). The dining area was surrounded by planted borders which were lovely and colourful. We were presented with complementary nibbles and then had a lovely 3 course meal with a bottle of wine for 70 Euros. The menu offered lots of choice and the food was very nicely presented but with decent portion sizes and the waiters were attentive and friendly. There are a few good restaurants in Mercadal but this one is worth visiting for that special occasion.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank UkWorldtraveller46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
99 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“Lovely!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2013

A great romantic setting with a traditional twist. It's one of the few remaining restaurants that serve a complimentary sherry on arrival. Nice menu which caters for everyone and a good wine list all served in a quirky courtyard setting, accessed through a traditional Menorquian house.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Helena365
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
28 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“a bit disappointing”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2012

name is misspelled here, the right name is Ca N' Olga (la casa de olga!!). went there for a romantic good dinner and was a bit disappointed. the terrace described as "romantic" is just normal and the crowd is rather old (60 and above). then came the food... and again a bit of a disappointment vs the description in the guides and in trip advisor and the overall attitude of the owner/camareros. the cochinillo was not that good and the rest of the courses was not impressing. don't think i will go again.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank laurentbcn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Albans, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
88 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Best on the island!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2012

I have owned a home on Menorca since 1986: back then the choice of restaurant was very limited, and C'an Olga was even then a shining beacon of excellence. Now there are many, many good restaurants, but C'an Olga is the one we return to. Beautiful setting, great food, nice touches like sherry and amuse-bouches alongside great food and unobtrusive service. Ian Hamilton

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank IanRHamilton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed C'an Olga also viewed

 

Been to C'an Olga? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing