We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hear all the cars & trucks passing by all night!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Comfort Inn & Suites Sombrero
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Prospect
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 15, 2010

In some hotel web pages this motel is listed as being in North Adelaide, when clearly it's in Prospect

This was the last hotel avaiable due to the Clipsal 500 race. We arrived late in the evening and was greeted by a very welcoming & helpful duty manager - Andrew. Unfortunately it's all downhill from there. We asked what restaurant was still open, there was only one Pizza place 10 mins walk away which was still open, but we were told "be careful" walking there. I guess he's implying the are is a bit dodgy.

In terms of the accommodation
- The carpet corridor to our room was smelly
- Whilst the room itself is good size, it was 70s brown brick boarding house style room & bathroom
- Windows was very very thin. Fronting a very busy road, we can hear every single car & truck passing by LOUD and CLEAR all night! It was almost like the cars & trucks were about to crash into the room!
- There were several Light fittings missing
- There were no Do Not Disturb signs, the cleaners wakes us very early everyday
- "Continental breakfast" was 4 slices of white bread and butter which was put in the bar fridge

All this for $150/night, spend your money elsewhere

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank figures1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerSombrero, Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites Sombrero, responded to this reviewResponded April 5, 2010

Thank you for the review.
We welcome feedback from guests as it helps us to keep improving and to address concerns.
It is unfortunate that the guest did not bring their concerns to our notice during their stay with us as I am confident we would have been able to offer them a variety of rooms to choose from and we would have ensured all their concerns were rectified.

There are some points raised in the review which I wish to address.

1. We do not ever promote ourselves as being in North Adelaide. Unauthorized third party web sites take information and present it without due care and certainly we would welcome such sites being bought to our notice so that we can get them to alter any misinformation.
2. The complimentary continental breakfast also includes butters, jams, milk, cereal, and orange juice, not only bread and butter. This is replaced each morning.
3. The area around the hotel is safe and we only advise guests to not walk around late at night to food outlets when phone ordering is an option, as a safety precaution. It’s more a sign of our times rather than our location.
4. As to the issue of noise there are only two rooms facing the main road that have not had double glazing as yet. We can only assume that the guests had one of them. Although they do have laminate glass and stops most of the noise. However what we don’t know is if the guest chose to sleep with windows open, therefore eliminating the effect of any laminating or double glazing.
5. By referring to our website, there are photos showing our room types. Guests are encouraged to select a room type that meets their price and expectation.

Once again we thank the guest for the taking the time to let us know about their experience, so that we can always keep improving. I have passed the compliments on to Andrew and thank you for this as it is always nice to hear that our staff is welcoming and helpful to our customers.

Kind regards.

Con Kapiris
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (99)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

96 - 99 of 99 reviews

Reviewed January 29, 2009

We were in Adelaide over Australia Day 2008. This is when the "Tour Down Under" (bicycle race) is also in Adelaide - so we didn't have many hotel choices for a last minute trip.

The hotel is just north of the business district - too far to walk. It's in a business / semi-industrial area, but we didn't feel safety was an issue. The location is fine if you don't mind driving to everything, but it would not be good to stay there without a car.

The room was large but basic, and the beds were comfortable. I did get a peek at some other rooms and there were some that looked tiny! I was a bit disappointed at the facilities for the cost; but when a big event is in Adelaide, the town fills up quickly.

  • Stayed: January 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sunnilue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2015
Google Translation

  • Stayed: April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank bernard69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Con K, Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites Sombrero, responded to this reviewResponded October 12, 2015

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2015
Google Translation

  • Stayed: January 2015, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sarakyr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Prospect
1.6 mi away
Comfort Inn Manhattan
Comfort Inn Manhattan
#2 of 3 in Enfield
34 reviews
2.2 mi away
Adelaide Inn
Adelaide Inn
#26 of 55 in Adelaide
334 reviews
4.5 mi away
Mawson Lakes Hotel
Mawson Lakes Hotel
#1 of 2 in Mawson Lakes
375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Majestic Minima Hotel
Majestic Minima Hotel
#11 of 55 in Adelaide
596 reviews
3.5 mi away
Majestic Roof Garden Hotel
3.9 mi away
Hilton Adelaide
Hilton Adelaide
#18 of 55 in Adelaide
2,468 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn & Suites Sombrero? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn & Suites Sombrero

Address: 288-292 Main North Rd | Prospect, Prospect, South Australia 5082, Australia
Location: Australia > South Australia > Greater Adelaide > Prospect
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Prospect
Price Range: $93 - $144 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Comfort Inn & Suites Sombrero 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Comfort Inn and Suites Sombrero is located 5kms north of the centre of Adelaide. We are close to Regency Park, and with good access to the Northern Industrial Precincts and Ports area. Comfort Inn and Suites Sombrero is rated by the RAA as a four star establishment. We have also undergone a lengthy and stringent process, successfully meeting the criteria to become recognised by the Australian Tourism Accreditation Association. We also offer cooked breakfast in our restaurant week days or room service. We have a spa and swimming pool which is semi enclosed to enable you to enjoy it any season. Our suites are designed to make you feel comfortable, they have queen size beds, en-suites, air-conditioning/heating, direct dial telephones, free wi-fi, flat screen televisions and the latest swipe-card access entry system. We also have fully furnished 1, 2 or 3 bedroom Townhouse Apartments. They have a fully equipped kitchen with dining room and separate lounge. All our two and three-bedroom apartments have their own laundry facilities. Its like a home away from home. Parking is not a problem as we have a large free onsite car park available which has security gates with secure after hours card access We are located within walking distance to a regional shopping precinct,with supermarkets, banks,coffee shops restaurants, gymnasiums and a large variety of shops and services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Comfort Inn & Suites Sombrero reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing