We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautifull hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hospes Maricel Mallorca & Spa
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Cas Catala
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 27, 2014 via mobile

This might be on of the most beautiful hotels in Mallorca. The nicest rooms (some with a miniture plung pool) are in a new building which is located across the street and not on the shore. The old building has the suites which are unfortunatly overpriced and some don't even have a balcony. The spa is amazing.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maxis78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HospesHotels, Director General at Hospes Maricel Mallorca & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded March 13, 2014
Google Translation

Estimado cliente,
Le agradecemos que haya escogido Hospes Maricel para pasar su estancia en Mallorca. Nos agrada saber que considera nuestro hotel como uno de los hoteles mas bellos de Mallorca. Así como su satisfacción con el Spa. No dude en contactarme para su próxima estancia.
Cordialmente,
Jorge Mateu
Manager Hospes Maricel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (744)
There are newer reviews for Hospes Maricel Mallorca & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

190 - 196 of 744 reviews

Reviewed February 21, 2014

I just wanted to say a very big thank you to all the wonderful staff at the hotel and spa! I spent my 40th birthday there without leaving. All the staff were so pleasant and helpful with a nothing is too much trouble attitude. Thank you for making me feel so special. You are all a great asset to your company! Mallorca never fails to impress me with the great people we have living and working on this island.
Lovely location, lovely environment, lovely buildings, great food, great cocktails, great massages... I feel a lot younger and relaxed than when I arrived. I will be back.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lucie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HospesHotels, Director General at Hospes Maricel Mallorca & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded March 13, 2014
Google Translation

Estimado cliente,
Le agradecemos que escogiese nuestro hotel para una ocasión tan especial, como lo es un cumpleaños. Nos alegra y satisfice saber que tuvo una estancia tan agradable con nosotros en Hospes Maricel, así como su satisfacción con nuestros servicios. Esperamos poder volver a recibirle. No dude en contactarme para su proxima estancia.
Saludos,
Jorge Mateu
Manager Hospes Maricel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2014

I visited the spa today where I had a Balinese massage and a 5 flowers facial.. The hotel and spa were amazing.. I was greeted in the spa by an extremely friendly and professional person that showed me around and made me feel very special and welcome.. For my 2 treatments I had Dee as my therapist who was excellent and made me feel so relaxed and comfortable.. She explained everything at all times.. I then used the other facilities which were very relaxing and enjoyable.. I had an amazing time and big thanks to everyone that made my day special.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled solo
Thank Kerry1402
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HospesHotels, Director General at Hospes Maricel Mallorca & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded March 14, 2014
Google Translation

Apreciada Kerry1402,

Muchísimas gracias por compartir su experiencia en Hospes Maricel con otros viajeros y clientes de Mallorca. Celebro que su estancia con nosotros fuese tan agradable y satisfactoria.

Esperamos volver a verla en su proxima visita a Mallorca y pueda disfrute nuevamente de nuestros servicios. ¡Muchas gracias!

Cordiales Saludos,

Jorge Mateu
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2014

Very quite place with stunning views from the rooms. The bathroom should be better, once it becomes FULL of WATER outsider shower. The staff was pretty good and the breakfast was superb. The patesserie is internally produced and delicious. My sons were very well assisted.
No doubt We Will return to be outside and enjoy the seaview and the pool.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marcia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HospesHotels, Director General at Hospes Maricel Mallorca & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded March 14, 2014
Google Translation

Estimado cliente,

Desde Hospes Maricel, le agradecemos el tiempo tomado para compartir su experiencia en nuestro hotel con TripAdvisor. Nos enorgullece saber que tuvo una estancia tan agradable y una experiencia satisfactoria.

Esperamos volver a verle en su próxima visita, muchísimas gracias. Y por favor, no dude en contactar conmigo la próxima vez que desee volver al Hotel.

Cordiales Saludos,

Jorge Mateu
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2014

The whole family enjoyed so pleasant holidays with a marvellous location, perfect service, excellent food (delicious mangus ragout)elegant sea view rooms and a charming 5 mondes Spa.Great brekfasts over the sea are magic.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank legalop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HospesHotels, Director General at Hospes Maricel Mallorca & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded March 14, 2014
Google Translation

Estimado usuario “legalop”,

Muchísimas gracias por compartir su experiencia sobre su estancia en Hospes Maricel. Nos complace y satisface enormemente saber que tuvo una estancia tan agradable.

Esperamos volver a verle en su próxima visita, muchísimas gracias. Y por favor, no dude en contactar conmigo la próxima vez que desee volver al Hotel.

Cordiales Saludos,

Jorge Mateu
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2014

I spent New Year's Eve at this hotel. It was a special offer package especially for this night.

The package was for two persons and included a one-night stay in a double "dreamer's" room, gala dinner, buffet breakfast, entrance to the spa, a welcome drink and a bottle of champagne.

THE HOTEL
The hotel is absolutely beautiful - elegant, spacious and luxurious. It is modern with a traditional design. The terrace facing the sea is a great place to have breakfast, with a breath-taking view over the Mediterranean.
It's not a very large hotel but there is a lot of space between the main building and the other block where the spa is and many of the rooms, so there is a bit of walking necessary.
Please note, the hotel is not in the centre of Palma.

THE STAFF
The staff were very friendly and chatty, yet still managed to be formal and polite. They were very welcoming and made us feel at home.
There is a lot of staff and they do a good job but there seems to be a little lack of organisation and structure of roles, meaning that the service, though always with the best intentions, tends to be a bit random. Here's an example: when we arrived we parked the car in front of the hotel. We were getting our things out of the boot and a member of staff appeared to help us. we only had one small bag each and could easily have managed on our own. The main door was held open for us and we were received by the front desk. About twenty minutes later we watched another guest arrive. This was a woman carrying a small baby. No one went outside to greet her and she had to open the door to the hotel herself.

THE ROOM
Our room was a "double dreamer's room" and was absolutely beautiful. I loved it so much that I am considering designing a guest bedroom in my own house based on this room. The double bed was the most comfy I've ever slept on and there were extra pillows if we wanted them. We had a private balcony that had its own pool. There was a huge bath tub in the bedroom as well as shower and separate toilet in their own cubicles. There were two wash basins also in the main bedroom and plenty of space for getting ready. There was a mini bar in the room, digital safe, widescreen TV and central heating (air-con in summer).

THE SPA
If this review were based only on the spa the I would have rated four stars, not five.
Unfortunately we did not visit the hotel at the right time to enjoy the spa properly. The spa is very nice but is small. There is a small steam room, a small sauna, a small swimming pool, which is half inside and half outside, and a medium-sized jacuzzi. The water in the jacuzzi was too cold to be able to enjoy it.
Because of the New Year's Eve package, most of the guests were in the same situation: arriving in the afternoon, staying one night and leaving the next day. This meant that the only time for us to go to the spa was in the afternoon when we arrived. This was the only time that most other guests could go to the spa too, so it was far too busy for the size of the place. And most guests were Spanish, meaning it was loud and full of small children. It was far from the relaxing experience we were expecting. I think the swimming pool is where children should play, not the spa.
At the spa, towels, slippers, robes and drinking water are provided.

THE FOOD
The food is of a high standard and quality. The dishes are simple, but are done very well. There will be no awards here for creativity but the ingredients used are clearly the best quality.
In the evening we were served the gala dinner, which consisted of glasses of cava in the lounge and appetisers served by waiters walking round with trays.
When we were shown to our table in the main dining area, we were served foie gras, sea bream, veal, a sorbet as a palette cleanser and then a varied dessert. All the dishes were very simple but elegantly presented, cooked to perfection and tasted delicious. There was plenty to eat and the portions were large. We had opted for the wine pairing option to accompany the menu, which was simply one white wine, one red wine and then champagne. The wine was also plentiful - our glasses were never empty.
The breakfast was a buffet and was also very simple but very good. The choices were far from overwhelming but there was something for everyone. The orange juice was freshly squeezed and the pastries were fresh.

A FEW OTHER THINGS:

When we were shown to our room, there was a personalised hand-written card on the desk from the head receptionist welcoming us to the hotel. There were also some small biscuits with Mallorcan sobrassada. We were supposed to get a bottle of cava in the room but it wasn't there. When I called the reception to ask about it they explained that they didn't have enough ice buckets for the volume of arrivals and that I should take the bottle from the mini bar. This was champagne and was priced at 44€. They just gave it to me for free when I had been expecting a 7€ bottle of cava.

During the time that we were at dinner, our towels in the room were changed for fresh ones and a bottle of water was left for us to drink during the night - which was obviously a genius idea, it being New Year's Eve!

Happy 2014 travellers! Hope you get to stay at the Hospes Maricel in Mallorca this year.

Room Tip: All of the rooms have a "partial sea view" according to the hotel's website. Our room...
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LisaMarieSykes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HospesHotels, Director General at Hospes Maricel Mallorca & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded March 14, 2014
Google Translation

Apreciada “LisaMarie”,

Muchísimas gracias por compartir su experiencia tan detalla, en Hospes Maricel con otros viajeros. Nos complace constatar que todo salio según lo esperado y pudo disfrutar de una fecha tan especial. Y permitame disculparme si hubieron algunos aspectos no tan agradables de estancia general en el hotel.

Esperamos que vuelva a disfrutar de nuestro hotel y nuestros servicios bien pronto. ¡Muchas gracias!

Cordiales saludos,
Jorge Mateu
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2013

Rooms were beautiful & massive (we stayed in an eco-deluxe room with private plunge pool). Picturesque setting – stunning pool overlooking the ocean. There’s no sand beach, but you can access the ocean from a ladder. Unfortunately when I was there, the ladder was broken though at some point guests started ignoring the sign/ropes & using it anyway. It’s hard to stare at the beautiful ocean & not be allowed in! Spa was very relaxing. I sadly didn’t do any treatments (not enough time), just enjoyed the calm spa pool.

Staff is professional but check-in was pretty slow. I am not a fan of the drawn out check in, not when you have travelled for over 15 hours to get somewhere. We had to check-in on the complimentary cocktail & several times on the person checking us in.

We did not eat at the hotel, instead we ventured out to explore the island & had dinner most nights by the marina. We wanted to have breakfast one day, but it was incredibly pricey…I don’t recall exactly but I think it was about $80 per person so definitely not a quick breakfast (to say the least!).

If I was to return to Mallorca, I would consider staying here again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank roberta_nyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cas Catala
0.2 mi away
Gran Melia de Mar
Gran Melia de Mar
#3 of 181 in Calvia
991 reviews
7.9 mi away
Hotel Pure Salt Garonda
Hotel Pure Salt Garonda
#2 of 78 in Playa de Palma
543 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Nixe Palace
Hotel Nixe Palace
#1 of 5 in Cala Major
891 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Barcelo Illetas Albatros
1.4 mi away
IBEROSTAR Grand Hotel Portals Nous
0.6 mi away
Be Live Adults Only Marivent
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hospes Maricel Mallorca & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hospes Maricel Mallorca & Spa

Address: Carretera d'Andratx 11, 07184 Cas Catala, Majorca, Spain
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Cas Catala
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Cas Catala
Price Range: $201 - $939 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hospes Maricel Mallorca & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 51
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hospes Maricel Mallorca & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hospes Maricel Mallorca Hotel Cas Catala
Hospes Maricel Calvia
Hospes Maricel Hotel Calvia
Hotel Maricel
Hospes Maricel Mallorca & Spa Cas Catala, Majorca, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing