We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A peaceful hotel in Majorca”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Rural & Spa Monnaber Nou
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Campanet
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A peaceful hotel in Majorca”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2013

My wife and I spent five days in this hotel in late May 2013. It has a pleasant and peaceful location among olive groves at the foot of pine clad mountains. It is set back about 20 minutes from the motorway, reached via the narrow streets of Campanet. ( Make sure that you hire a small car !)
As a converted manor it is quite different from a modern hotel. We had a very comfortable en suite bedroom with a pleasant view over the olive groves to the mountains in the distance. (It is important to book a room in the main building if available).
We dined in as the nearest equivalent restaurant would have been about half an hour away in Pollenca. The service was efficient and pleasant and the food good, if occasionally slightly exotic. The staff had adequate English although most of their guests were German.
We would strongly recommend it for a quiet few days.

Room Tip: Choose a room in the main hotel overlooking the main driveway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

458 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    279
    121
    30
    18
    10
See reviews for
91
279
10
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cork
Level Contributor
49 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2013

Look it depends what your looking for out a trip. If cycling and walking are what your into then a great place to locate yourself.

Room was lovely,food ok and the pool is fine. The prices are set at boutique price but lets make this clear it ain't boutique. Pool bar was closed for the duration of our trip. Some of the waiters need to learn that a smile is free and your welcome goes a long way. The girl asking if people wanted drinks/food around the pool was lovely to deal with.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hoggy30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
159 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2013

We booked the Monnaber Nou based on the great reviews it received here on Tripadvisor and on their own homepage, where they market it as a luxury spa hotel. Due to this praise we were happy to pay a premium for the luxury service.
However, after arriving there we found out that the hotel clearly does not live up to its luxury destination - the rooms are spacious, but the furniture is very old and worn, the bathroom had hairs on the floor and the rooms are very dark due to the old and small windows. The breakfast was very disappointing - the selection was very limited (all breads were hard, so that you could have used it as a hammer, the selection of meat consisted of three different varieties and the warm food was scrambled eggs, bacon and one other option). Last but not least the reception personnel was not overly friendly or eager to help.
Don't understand me wrong. The hotel is in a beautiful location albeit away from the sea or any dinner options, is a beautiful old finca itself and has a nice enough pool area. If the price would be 75-100 Euros lower (per night) it would be a good hotel, which I would happily recommend.
Considering the current price tag and the luxury category I have to clearly warn you about booking this hotel and would recommend to look for a better option.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Xabbu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monnabernou, Owner at Hotel Rural & Spa Monnaber Nou, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
Many thanks to all our guests that make this, our dream, possible, it’s a shame you didn’t give us the opportunity to resolve these inconveniences during your stay so that you could have enjoyed our small retreat from stress. Even though as you mention, your biggest concern is price wise, and unfortunately we don’t make such aggressive offers, as suggested by yourself.

The building was built in the XVII Century and has been preserved with its former splendor and atmosphere, decorated strictly under a traditional Mallorcan Style, but always having under consideration the commodities of the 21st Century. I can understand you may prefer something more minimalist and modern, but for us it’s a tribute to our ancestors. Thanks to the orientation of the building, which points south, the Rooms are always illuminated with natural Sunlight, and regarding the windows, you have to understand they have been preserved that way to respect the antiquity and styling of the house: an original Mallorquin Manor set in a 309 acres property and located right next to the Tramuntana Mountains, with woods and forest full of holm oaks, ancient olives trees, carob, almond and pines trees. 15 minutes away from Pollença and Alcúdia bays, where you can find lots of fun options and then return to your retreat where peace and quiet prevails.

We also follow a strict and scrupulous daily cleaning procedure in which we look after the all details and preferences of the clients, like for example if they would prefer harder or softer mattresses, double beds or individual ones, and if you had any problems be sure that we would of resolved them for you whatsoever.

At Monnaber Nou Hotel feedback is very important for us and our clients, and that is why we listen to even the smallest complaint or recommendation, and put all our effort in bettering ourselves every day. We doubt that at reception you have not been attended properly, for our staff works hard to comply with our clients every request, and are at the reception desk all day and part of the night to.

And last but not least, we put a great deal of effort into making all our products from our Ecological Finca available for the client, so he can try them at super time or even at breakfast time, and that’s why, as well as a variety of 5 different meats (Parma ham, York Ham, Salchichon, Chorizo, Salami) you will also find our own Sobrasada Mallorquina, made from our black Mallorquin Pigs, as well as our own Paté. On top of that we also offer at breakfast, lunch and Supper time our very own Olive Oil with no extra charge, and a variety of seasonal fruits picked in the Finca. Regarding the bred, every morning at 6:00 we cook a large variety of different types of bread, going from typical mallorquin bread (which as you say is hard as a nail, but Mallorquins are that way I’m afraid), French baguettes, chapatas, bred buns, integral bred buns, integral baguette, normal white and integral bread etc. As well as a variety of different pastries like Mallorquín Ensaimadas, Napolitanas, Cruasans, etc. not to mention our homemade Cakes.
We hope you can give this alternative type of tourism an opportunity, leaving behind sometimes the more industrial side of the Hotel business, which has a les personal approach on the client’s behalf, and focuses more on the mass production, instead of the small details and elaborate side of the clients comfort.

Many Thanks and we hope to see you soon with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Level Contributor
56 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2013

We stayed here for the ironman 70.3, so had to make sure we had somewhere to store a bike. Hotel was accommodating about that so no problem. Lovely old traditional buildings with pretty and eccentric furnishings. We were in the annexe building about a quarter mile from the main hotel, where the rooms were spacious and clean, with a balcony overlooking a lovely water reservoir and windmill, but furnishings rather dated and a little tatty. The beds were the main disappointment with a peculiar plastic incontinence cover beneath the sheets, which was so unpleasant we removed it.
Apart from that it was lovely. Beautiful fields and farmland surrounds both main building and annexe, and the sound of wild fowl and peacocks echo around the grounds.
Out of season meant no pool down at the annexe and no pool bar service up at main hotel. Swam in the freezing pool but still enjoyed it.
We had lunch and it was well cooked, locally sourced and tasty, if slightly overpriced. Waiting staff not terrific as we were really thirsty and had to wait about twenty minutes after sitting down before we even got a glass of water. But they were pleasant enough when we got their attention.
All said, it's a gorgeous and peaceful place, unpretentious if slightly down at heel, where the staff are a little thin on the ground. Annexe feels like a hostel rather than a hotel and you'd certainly never come if you were expecting luxury.
It's a nature lover's hotel where the absence of any staff intrusion makes it doubly peaceful. Worked very well for us because of location and the unfussy casual nature of the atmosphere.

Room Tip: The annexe is peaceful but a long walk from the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WanderingScotty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monnabernou, Owner at Hotel Rural & Spa Monnaber Nou, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Thanks ever so much for your kind review, we are glad you enjoyed your stay at our Standard Rooms in the Garden House. Due to the styling and nature of our Hotel, most of the decor tries to maintain fidelity to the original or better yet traditional styling of old Mallorquin Manors. We are sorry to hear you found our hypoallergenic and hygiene keeping bed covers uncomfortable, they are mainly for hygienic reasons and are commonly used in most Hotels. We will have this in mind though for future reference.
Here at Monnaber Nou we fixate above all on the peace and tranquillity as you well pointed out, leaving our clients ponder the facilities of our Hotel as they please, giving our clients the sensation of being just like at home instead of at a Hotel, and sometimes mistaken in this way for a Hostel.
Once again thanks for your review, and hope to see you once more at Monnaber Nou Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2013 via mobile

This could be Mallorca's best place, everything is as organic as it could get, the problem is with the managing it...very poor quality of service in the restaurant, very tired staff! BEAUTIFUL PLACE APART FROM THAT, will definitely go back to see the improvement!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bichescu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monnabernou, Owner at Hotel Rural & Spa Monnaber Nou, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Thank you ever so much for your review. Here at Monnaber Nou Hotel we try to better ourselves every day, and a hard critic is just what we need to correct our flaws.
As you have mentioned, most of our food is organic, hence the Hotel being an Eco-Hotel, and sometimes this service or added value entails having a longer preparation process. However, we will take notice in your review and see to it that the staff offers a better service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockport
Level Contributor
99 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2013

The hotel proved much easier to find than expected having excellent signage from all directions.
It is located a few miles from Campanet in the rolling hills with magnificent views and totally remote.
The hotel itself is most impressive with a very rustic Spanish feel - especially in the public areas and restaurant.
The rooms are spacious and most comfortable with excellent facilities. A minor irritation was that the carpet were very hard and ridged - so it felt uncomfortable with bare feet.

We ate in the restaurant on the first evening, which was our 30th Anniversary - and the food and service were superb - albeit a little expensive.

Breakfast was extensive with a variety of cold meats, cheeses, cereals and pastries which could be enjoyed on the terrace. Again, the waiters were very attentive and courteous.

We didn't utilise the Spa facilities or the pool.

We had indicated on our booking the good wifi internet was imperative. We were initially dismayed when told that internet was only available in the public rooms and became very frustrated to find it only working spasmodically and very slowly. We were finally told that there was a software problem and that it would be fixed - but there was no communication to inform us that the issues had been remedied and we were left reliant on using internet cafes or other hotels/restaurants.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monnabernou, Owner at Hotel Rural & Spa Monnaber Nou, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
We are so pleased to hear you enjoyed being at our Hotel and had a good time.
Unfortunately in the period you stayed, we were experiencing some technical difficulties regarding the quality of signal and services of our Internet and Hot Spot functions.
Also, due to the nature of our Hotel, being this a Historical building that has maintained its original proportions and architecture, some of the rooms have such wide walls that the internet signal can be barely detectable with some devices, for this and other reasons, unlike other Hotels, we offer our clients free of charge Internet Service. However all our main rooms and sitting rooms have full internet cover and maximum speed.
Once again we are sorry for the inconvenience this has caused you, and we are glad to let you know that all technical issues regarding Internet availability and speed have been resolved satisfactorily.
We hope to see you soon once again at Monnaber Nou Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
227 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2013

We returned to this wonderful hotel this year - the first time we've ever gone back to somewhere we've stayed before. It was lovely to be back in the friendly and relaxed atmosphere.Just the smell of the olive wood fires in the sitting area made me feel welcome to be back. All of the waiting staff were the same and remembered us, which was nice. The food was even better than last year - really excellent. This year we explored more of the surrounding area that is in walking distance and there are so many lovely walks, caves and local villages to explore it was most relaxing. The bed was really comfortable, room was quiet and all in all it would be hard to find anything to fault! We will be back again next year - one tip I would give the hotel is to make a note on the booking that it is a returning guest so that new reception staff can still be aware that the guest is a repeat visitor - it would make all the difference on checking in.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank happygirl20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Campanet
0.4 mi away
Monnaber Vell
Monnaber Vell
#2 of 2 in Campanet
4.5 of 5 bubbles 131 reviews
11.0 mi away
Finca Hotel Son Palou
6.8 mi away
Cas Comte Petit Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Finca Es Castell
Finca Es Castell
#1 of 1 in Caimari
5.0 of 5 bubbles 304 reviews
2.1 mi away
Ca'n Riera Rural Hotel
Ca'n Riera Rural Hotel
#2 of 2 in Moscari
3.5 of 5 bubbles 11 reviews
23.2 mi away
Hotel Isla Mallorca & Spa
Hotel Isla Mallorca & Spa
#21 of 73 in Palma de Mallorca
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,531 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Rural & Spa Monnaber Nou? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Rural & Spa Monnaber Nou

Property: Hotel Rural & Spa Monnaber Nou
Address: Finca Monnaber Nou | Mallorca, 07310 Campanet, Majorca, Spain
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Campanet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Campanet
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Rural & Spa Monnaber Nou 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the north of Mallorca, lying between the mountain and the sea at the Sierra of Tramuntana in a precious natural enclave you will find the estate of Monnaber Nou with one of the most beautiful hotels characterized by its old Majorcan style originally being the old houses of Monnaber Nou, conserving its old stones architecture and creating a mixture of tradition, simplicity and comfort.Due to its privileged location, history (century XIII) and harmonious decoration along with the exquisite and personalized customer service, the hotel is selected by nature lovers seeking for peacefulness, calmness and relaxation during their vacation. The hotel is considered the perfect place for conferences, incentives and events offering exclusiveness for groups in a separate building 500 m from the main building. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Rural & Spa Monnaber Nou reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Rural And Spa Monnaber Nou
Monnaber Nou Campanet
Monnaber Nou Hotel Campanet

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing