We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Do not trust this hotel or Expedia! Be very wary!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Sea Hotel by Grupotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Santa Margalida
Colchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Do not trust this hotel or Expedia! Be very wary!”
Reviewed August 4, 2011

Arrived at this hotel as an independent booking through Expedia.co.uk. It was paid for weeks in advance and confirmed. We know Can Picafort well and booked this hotel due to good reviews and the excellent beach location.
On arrival we were told the hotel was overbooked and were offered some alternative sub-standard accommodation 50Km away, which we declined.
Eventually we were accommodated at the Viva Mallorca hotel for 1 night (wonderful place!) and advised that the Santa Fe did have availability from then on. This turned out to be a complete lie. They were offering us the bel vue in Alcudia as an alternative, (see the reviews on this web site, It is labelled "Hell view"). The hotel was very overbooked and many other guests were being relocated. We refused this and despite Expedia and the Santa Fe having our money already, we ended up paying ourselves to stay at the Hotel Gran Playa for 1 night. We were told there were no rooms available in the resort at all, yet we found this hotel ourselves and it is on the same street and only 2 hotels down from the Santa Fe. There was a final attempt by Expedia/Santa Fe to find accommodation for the rest of our holiday which failed as it is high season and everywhere seemed full, unless you were happy to stay in a rubbish hotel. So 2 days into our 10 day holiday we have paid additional costs to fly home, as there is no where to stay that is suitable for a family.
Expedia are currently unwilling to refund us the costs we have incurred due to their failings! If they had told us the rooms were not available we would not have travelled to Mallorca in the first place.
We specifically booked this accommodation, had it confirmed and paid in full weeks in advance only to be treated like third class citizens. We have paid large amounts of money to get to Can Picafort as well as the cost of the hotel.
We are out of pocket and are being fobbed off by Expedia.
DO NOT TRUST THEM WITH YOUR MONEY!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank beenalotofplaces
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    48
    16
    6
    15
See reviews for
20
66
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sopron, Hungary
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2010

This was the most terrible hotel where I roamed it once! They were German in the hotel only , a guest was with a couple of other nationalities, but they did not deal with them!The not for German guests not too very much wanted neither,to say hello,neither to give any kind of information though! All of the hotel was a nightmare.He was not a problem with the cleanness alone. The foods were very delicate though. The most positive one was the proximity of the seacoast. The water crystal clear and shallow, was wonderful!Summed up: I would recommend this hotel to the German tourists only, for others no way,if their summer holidays do not want to be ruined!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank entsante
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Santa Margalida hotels

Here
Level Contributor
55 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2010

We stayed twice at the Santa Fe, in June 2007 and June 2009 and the difference between both years was amazing.
In 2007, everything was ok, the room was cleaned every day and was very clean, the food was good and the choice was large, but in 2009, things have changed.
When we returned there in June 09, we were amazed by the very bad quality of the food for diner.
The breakfast buffet was quite ok, but for diner, all was very fat, the cook when he brought the dishes to the buffet was wearing very dirty pants and did not look so clean at all...
So we had diner outside every evening which was not planned in our trip, but the buffet was looking so ugly that we thought it was better like this for our health...
The people working there were friendly, but not so longer as friendly as in 07.
Beside that, the good point is the hotel location directly at the beach and the promenade and the sea view from the rooms (the lateral seaview is even better than the straight seaview) which are really great.

  • Stayed June 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PierrotFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochdale, Greater Manchester
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2009

Have just got back today from one week at the Santa Fe. Wish I'd gone for longer. The Hotel is in a fantastic location. It has it's own private beach with around a dozen sun loungers. If you can bag one of these, it will cost you 3.50 euros per day, but you get a voucher for a free drink. The main beach itself is fantastically long and sandy. The sun loungers here are 6 euros including straw umbrella. I brought my own beach tent, so no cost to me! The sea is shallow for a good way out, the waves were big and strong most days, so younger children need to be careful, but they can paddle by the edges with no problem.
From the hotel which is situated right on the sea front, you can go for a stroll down a pedestrianised walkway to the harbour. It's a lovely twenty minute walk with shops, bars, and restaurants all the way down. At the bottom you can do like a "u" turn and come up through the main town. Again a lovely walk with shops, bars and restaurants. The shops are mostly clothing/gift type. There's plenty of cashpoints if you need them, I think I counted four, and a Burger King if you fancy it. Also for the male footy fans - No 1 bar just off the main street is an English bar with a big screen telly showing all the matches. I think there's two discos, definitely one, but I don't know what it's like coz I didn't visit, but many of the bars have live entertainment of an evening. It's a bit cheesy but good fun!
The Santa Fe itself is brilliant. I've never seen a Hotel as clean, and it stays that way all day! There's a lot of German people there, in fact I was one of only two English guests, but I made loads of friends of them. They like practising their English, and after a few beers, it can be a right laugh! The food was nice, not fantastic. I stayed half board. The breakfast was best, and catered for most nationalities, and there was plenty of it. Nobody minded if you went back for seconds or thirds. Tea was mostly salad, with maybe three choices, those being fish or meat. Chips were always there, and somedays pasta or rice. If you mixed it up a bit, you could go all week with a different meal. No cakes for dessert, usually blancmange type puds, jelly and ice-cream. But everything was cooked well and very tasty and hot. The staff were brilliant too. Served your drinks with your meal within minutes of sitting down, and cleared away just as quickly too. One review mentioned having to share tables with strangers as you are seated by the staff at the Hotel. That's stopped now and you can sit where you want and with who you want.
The room I stayed in was a single. It didn't have a sea view as these rooms look out over the forecourt at the front. But it was nice, cool and restful there. It was long and narrow and with not an awful lot of space, but definitely adequate, and it had a fridge so I could store some snacks. It was cleaned everyday and clean towels everyday too. The bed wasn't changed, but that might be because I made it up myself every morn!! Maybe if I'd left it then it would have been.
If there was anything to complain about I can only maybe think, my bed could have been a bit more comfier, but that's personal choice. Oh and the African tat sellers on the beach drove me mad a bit, but I ended up chatting to one or two and they stopped mythering, just waved as they went by.
What can I say, I will definitely go back here, and that's not something I would normally do. It was just great!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Lucinda16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2009

Had a great time at this hotel. We found it being mostly german a good not bad point as there was no rowdy rude people to contend with. The hotel did not have a pool which I thought would bother me but to be completely honest I didn't miss it at all!

The beach itself is great and the scenery across to the mountains from it is fantastic.

There is plenty of choice at breakfast and dinner the food was varied and tasty maybe the only slightly negative point on food was that the spanish have quite a heavy hand with the salt .Would definitely return to this hotel again

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank mad-sammy-cat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cambridge
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2007

We stayed at the hotel Santa Fe in Can Picafort, we just got back yesterday boo hoo.We could not fault the hotel at all, the service was brilliant the staff were very friendly and ever so helpful .The hotel was right on the beach so my husband did not have far to throw the lilo,although it was mainly catered for the german holiday makers we did not find the language barrier any problem as all the staff spoke english . The food was excellent plenty of choice .We would stay at this hotel again and would recommend it and also the resort of Can Picafort has something to offer everyone from night clubs to bars & restraurants .This was one of the best holidays we have had and we canot wait till our next adventure

  • Liked — location, food
  • Disliked — tables in dining room I felt were a bit small to seat four people
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank weeizzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Margalida
0.3 mi away
Grupotel Gran Vista & Spa
Grupotel Gran Vista & Spa
#2 of 39 in Ca'n Picafort
937 reviews
0.3 mi away
BQ Can Picafort Hotel
BQ Can Picafort Hotel
#7 of 39 in Ca'n Picafort
183 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grupotel Farrutx
Grupotel Farrutx
#17 of 39 in Ca'n Picafort
84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel THB Gran Playa
Hotel THB Gran Playa
#12 of 39 in Ca'n Picafort
359 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grupotel Montecarlo
Grupotel Montecarlo
#13 of 39 in Ca'n Picafort
148 reviews
0.6 mi away
Zafiro Can Picafort
Zafiro Can Picafort
#1 of 39 in Ca'n Picafort
1,655 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sea Hotel by Grupotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sea Hotel by Grupotel

Property: The Sea Hotel by Grupotel
Address: Passeig Colom 132, 07458 Santa Margalida, Majorca, Spain (Formerly Santa Fe Hotel)
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Santa Margalida
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Santa Margalida
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Sea Hotel by Grupotel 4*
Number of rooms: 163
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sea Hotel by Grupotel, a new establishment with innovative design, opened in 2016. Located in front of the beach of Can Picafort, where the former Grupotel Santa Fe was situated, this adult only hotel's design takes its influences from the sea, the waves and coral and marine elements. Staying at this four star property offers a unique and sensory experience inspired by the Mediterranean Sea. Be surprised by the modern and exclusive atmosphere of The Sea Hotel with friends or couples. Breathe the sea air, observe the special sunset from your room and enjoy top quality facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire and Priceline so you can book your The Sea Hotel by Grupotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Santa Fe
The Sea Hotel By Grupotel Majorca/Santa Margalida, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing