We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Valamar Koralj Romantic Hotel
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Krk
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Very nice hotel”
Reviewed October 24, 2011

We stayed there almost a week and I could stay more. The room was ok, a little bit small for a person with a child, but we couldn´t no that befoure, otherways we had booked a bigger room, but was ok. When we came i saw that our bathroom wasn´t realy 100% cleaned and I just tould the receptionist and they cleaned it, so was everythig good. The food is very good, every day something new and the restaurant has a wonderful view to the see. The beach and the city are very nice too. I just thing the beach it´s gangerous for small children, it was very slippery and at the first day I sleep with my baby in my arm and if it wasn´t a couple next to us to take us out the water it could be realy bad at it was in the and. There were no chairs too, like it says at the hotel reservation, but good, we couldn´t seat anyway because of our baby. The hotel bar was very good too, the waiters were very friendly altought one of them was telling us that they had not enought crew for the bar at this time of the year because it was after the seasons. I thought it was ok and the cocktails were realy good.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank travelland1781
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
valamar-koralj-hotel, Manager at Valamar Koralj Romantic Hotel, responded to this review, November 22, 2011
Dear Mr. Travelland1781, On behalf of Valamar Hotels and Resorts, and me personally, I would like to thank you very much for staying in our hotel. We are grateful that you have shared with us impressions from that period. Your comments are of tremendous importance to us, because in this way we acquire complete picture of the quality level of our services. We took Your comments seriously , because in this way we acquire complete picture of the quality level of our services, and they provide us with objectives and directions towards continual improvements. This was really a nice letter; very motivating to our crew. It made us happy and proud to hear that we’ve met your expectations. We were pleased, because we share the happiness of our patrons; and we were proud because your satisfaction with our service is a validation of our mission and goal fulfilment. I can assure you that quality and courteous service is our ongoing task and that we will continue to make your stay in our premises special. Sincerely your, Mile Pavlica Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

313 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    87
    152
    51
    16
    7
See reviews for
55
203
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
bavaria
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2011

+ : beautiful island & city, nice hotel location, right at seafront, rooms towards seaside partly with beautiful view and sunny balcony, spa area renovated and very nice (10,-€/P/d), overal in public area clean, pine trees around the primacy, breakfast OK

- : rather small rooms, tiny and worn (!) bathroom, doors creak, several damages in wooden frames, carpet is "done", worst was FREEZING shower water (both in room and in spa, we were given a complomentary spa voucher, therefore - still very unsatisfying), considering the regular rate, it appears to be somewhat high, service of some waiters was very rude, others were friendly, though

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hightower875
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
valamar-koralj-hotel, Manager at Valamar Koralj Romantic Hotel, responded to this review, November 22, 2011
Dear Mr.Hightower875, On behalf of Valamar Hotels and Resorts, and me personally, I thank you very much for staying in our hotel.Your comments are of tremendous importance to us, because in this way we acquire complete picture of the quality level of our services, and they provide us with objectives and directions towards continual improvements. Looking forward to meet you again. Sincerely yours, Mile Pavlica Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2011

We found it useing google earth: looked for a good location, and we had it.
It was 20 min. walk from the Krk city, had several beaches within its area (far better than hotels nearby) and it offered good ammount of services.

The reception desk stuff speaks German, Italian and English perfectly. Even Russian could do in most cases. Our room had no balcony, but it was close to reception, and we had WiFi there!!! Rooms are clean, service is very friendly -- all my sudden requests were fullfilled. Food (breakfast and dinner) is of great variety and good quality. There was also a nice tavern close to beach, and beach bar.

There are several beaches nearby: nice harbour close to the hotel, with sand bottom and concrete banks -- best for kids, rocky beach next to it, good for swimmers, and small harbor for pets (dogs) -- all are pretty clean.

Room is relatively big, with condition, minibar. Fun animation and rich evening programs. Good fitness, and massage and other wellness stuff. Free bathing/beach towels.

Few minor complains:

1. some people complain on "small shower" -- that can be a problem for reaaaly big people.
2. rooms lack places to dry things (towels, swimsuits) -- without balcony that's a problem.
3. Minibar fridge can contain only the minibar drinks -- no chance to keep a bottle of wine with melons in it, as we used to in other places.
4. Lack of power plugs to charge the notebook/ipad/camera/cellphone/mp3-palyer/incert the needed. A power plug junction adapter could be usefull.

otherwise, it's 4.9 out of 5. The hotel itself was the best part of our stay. Worth the money.

the city itself is also fun, and offers lots of entertainment.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank svSHiFT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2011

This is a lovely hotel with the most incredible views over the sea and coastline.

It's located about a ten minute walk along the coast from the town.

Beautiful pools, great bar, good rooms - would say that the only thing stopping this being a 4 star hotel would be the size of the bathrooms.

For those arranging your own holiday, it's a lot easier (though slightly more expensive) to get a taxi directly from the hotel to the airport (takes about 20 mins). You could get the bus, however that takes you 1.5 hrs out of the way to Rijeka only to get another bus to come back the way you've just come!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jellyj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
valamar-koralj-hotel, Manager at Valamar Koralj Romantic Hotel, responded to this review, November 23, 2011
Dear Mrs.JellyJ, Let us thank you for choosing our hotel for your holidays. It makes us really proud and happy hearing that you were satisfied. We appreciate a lot that your shared your impresions during your stay in our hotel. We hope you will visit us again. Best regards Mile Pavlica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2011

Spent 4 night here as part of a motor cycle trip through Germany, Austria staying in a number of quality hotel but this was by the far the best hotel of the trip. We had booked a Romantic Suite with Dinner B & B. The food was fab and the staff were all so friendly and helpful. dinner was served from 6-9 p.m. and was buffet but even at 8.30 p.m. they would be replenishing the dishes. The hotel was busy and there were a number of kids there but they were not a problem the staff around the pool's made sure of that. The suite we had offered us a patio area which is bigger than our garden at home and could be accessed from either the bedroom or the living area both rooms were very good size and the bathroom had two wash hand basins and the WC was separate. The hotel is set in a pine Forrester with walks through the trees to the village and down to the beach a welcome shade form the hot sun! There is a beech which is occupied by the hotel and has a bar and sun beds that can be hired for the day (small fee) all of which can be charged back to the room (no need to have any money. Almost afraid to tell people how good this place is as would like to keep it for myself! Website does not give justice to this hotel it is much better than any picture seen.

Room Tip: Worth spending the extra for the suite and ask for a room looking down in the direction of the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank d_macdonald60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2011

Just came back from an amazing weekend in Krk and the hotel was brilliant! Great location, half hour drive from the airport (taxi costs between kn200-kn250 per way), ten minutes walk from Krk little cute town centre, 2 mins from the seafront. The buffet had a wide selection in starters, mains and desserts and food was delicious! There is also a little tavern adjacent the hotel where you can chill with a glass of wine whilst listening to some live music. The staff at the hotel was friendly and very helpful! The room itself was clean and had everything you need. Overall, we loved the location, food and the friendly atmosphere! Highly recommended!

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hihine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
valamar-koralj-hotel, Manager at Valamar Koralj Romantic Hotel, responded to this review, November 23, 2011
Dear Mr.Mcdonald60, Thank You very much for your really nice comments regarding your stay in our hotel. It is a real pleasure reading them They are very motivating to our crew and in the same time a proof that we are on the right way. Best regards from island of Krk.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2011

My husband and I have done an extensive amount of world travelling and have stayed at many hotels all over the world and this was by far the worst.
We were told upon leaving that we were put into the last (and worst room) in the entire hotel which was right next to the emergency exit door which all the guests decided to use when they were taking their bags outside so the door would slam loudly and shake our room every 10 or so seconds the next morning from like 5am onwards. Plus we were on ground level so people walking past would look straight into our room, our TV remote didn't work and it took 2 staff, 3 visits, 2 remotes and a pack of batteries to fix the problem, air con didn't work in the entire hotel and hadn't been working for a week (and it was stinking hot! We asked for a fan but no can do!), ice machine didn't work so we couldn't have the cocktails or drinks which required ice, the bar staff would ignore you and wouldn't ask if you wanted a drink, I ordered an iceless cocktail and they gave it to me in a glass that was only half full, the shower was tiny and the water would leak onto the floor, stains on the carpet, the room was dark and smelled really musty like they never had the window open, they charged a fortune to rent the sun chairs / umbrellas, etc and I could go on and on! And this was like a 4 star resort! Not being picky either but it was just problem after problem after problem. We were on a driving trip through Europe and the very next morning, we were gone and onto the next city! Not a romantic hotel AT ALL.

Room Tip: Don't stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank goldcoastchick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Krk
0.2 mi away
Drazica Hotel
Drazica Hotel
#4 of 10 in Krk
125 reviews
9.1 mi away
Heritage Hotel Forza
0.5 mi away
Hotel Marina
Hotel Marina
#2 of 10 in Krk
57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.3 mi away
Blue Waves Resort
Blue Waves Resort
#4 of 14 in Malinska
151 reviews
9.0 mi away
Atrium Residence Baska
9.9 mi away
Jadran
Jadran
#1 of 9 in Njivice
133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Valamar Koralj Romantic Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Valamar Koralj Romantic Hotel

Property: Valamar Koralj Romantic Hotel
Address: Vlade Tomasica bb, Krk 51500, Croatia
Phone Number:
Location: Croatia > Primorje-Gorski Kotar County > Kvarner Bay Islands > Krk Island > Krk
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Krk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Valamar Koralj Romantic Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 193
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relaxation and romance on a dreamy island in Krk bay Perched above an idyllic island bay and engulfed by thick and scented pine forests, this hotel is perfect for a relaxing holiday with your loved one. Contemporary design and Mediterranean feel of all rooms and romantic suites provide sanctuary after a day spent exploring the quaint town of Krk, savouring the beauty of surrounding beaches or unwinding at the Spa. Gourmet experience is ensured by a show cooking buffet restaurant serving international and Croatian favourites. The Valamar Koralj Romantic Hotel and its subtle romantic design touches create the right atmosphere for your next romantic holiday. Soft music, candlelight dinners on the restaurant terrace, four poster canopy beds with specially designed linen and breakfasts served either in bed or on your room terrace are all sure to put the spark into your love life. For your special anniversaries or weddings, be sure to check out special event packages available at the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, HRS, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Valamar Koralj Romantic Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing