We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Heart of Krk marina, great breakfast, nice rooms” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Marina

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Marina
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Krk
Certificate of Excellence
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
42 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Heart of Krk marina, great breakfast, nice rooms”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2013 via mobile

The hotel Marina pictures don't lie. Rooms are very nicely done. Western quality standards for a good four star hotel. The hotel's location is great, right at the marina boardwalk with a magnificant view over the krk bay.

The breakfast is fantastic. Fruit, bread, condiments all served to your table. Really very good.

Only point for improvement would be to lower the volume of the restaurant live music so that it vannot be heard in the rooms. Currently this was the case, albeit very softly.

For culture, visit the Krk church and wonderful ancient city on which the hotel borders.

For adventure, find the smallest of the excursion boas and head out for a day of fishing and then eating the catch. Swim in some of the beautiful surrounding bays.

For relaxation, try to Find some peace again on one of the smaller excursion boats, or try to hike to one of the more deserted bays in the area.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank Patrick S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HoteliKrkManagement, Sales & Marketing Assistant at Hotel Marina, responded to this review, December 11, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying with us and for your lovely feedback. It’s always a delight to read such pleasant review. We are glad you found our hotel to be "a good four star hotel“, breakfast excellent, and location ideal.

We look forward to welcome you in the near future.

Best regards,
Tatjana Frančišković, Sales & Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    16
    2
    1
    2
See reviews for
13
26
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
98 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2013 via mobile

Location, location, location! Perfectly situated in the harbour of Krk, in old town. Modern and stylish rooms, very nice bathrooms with plenty of hot water. Balcony, a view to die for. Very good service, and a breakfast of plenty. A very good experience!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Vibek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HoteliKrkManagement, Sales & Marketing Assistant at Hotel Marina, responded to this review, December 12, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very very much for your beautiful review!

We are really pleased that you both loved the hotel, location and most importantly the service you recived during your stay with us. Feedback like yours keeps us working hard to ensure we give the best product and service to our esteemed guests.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back soon!

Best regards,
Tatjana Frančišković, Sales & Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2012

Drop-dead gorgeous view of the harbor, especially from one of the lounge chairs on our terrace, with drink in hand. However, there were multiple flaws that I feel I must mention. Pros and cons, here goes...

Pros: 1) Location, location: smack dab in the middle of Old Town Krk with an utterly charming view of the harbor, the neighboring island gem of Cres, and the sparkling Adriatic.
2) Rooms: modern, stylish, tastfully decorated in understated tones. Get one of the few terrace views if you can swing it-- nothing beats the view and the ability to sit al fresco to your heart's content. WiFi is free and fast, too.
3) Breakfast: plentiful, varied and generally of high quality, with some exceptions.

Cons: 1) Service: I asked for two extra towels the night we checked in and was told, "Maybe we could find one." Really? Wrong answer. We just put down ca. $900 for 3 nights and you can't find extra towels? Why must Croatian hospitality so often fall short?
2) Rooms: a) TV did not work b) air conditioning/heat always set to same temperature and not able to be regulated in the room c) shower a nightmare, no matter what we did, water got all the room--and I've dealt with many a tricky European and Asian shower and have never had so much trouble.
3) Price: Considering that a lot of Krk is pretty ticky-tacky -- Hvar this is not -- the price is pretty high for what you get.

Overall, I recommend Hotel Marina. 3.5 stars.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank I_am_a_Washingtonian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ljubljana, Slovenia
Level Contributor
239 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 233 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2012

Situated at the end of a small harbor for fishermen's boats and replicas for tourists, the small 4-star design hotel is ideally positioned in the old town Krk on the island of the same name, facing Cres, its Adriatic brother. You will have to ignore angry tourists while you drive through the pedestrian zone to one of the three parking places beside the hotel; and back, if you are unlucky. Anyway, call the hotel a few minutes before arriving so they let the ramp down from the busy street, then you have some 150 metres. Through a packed crowd in the season.

Hotel is ideal for couples, either newlywed or middleaged/elderly, wanting to explore the town or just rest in the shades of the old walls. Nearest beach is approximately a kilometer walk away, so the sunbathing fanatics and young families should look elsewhere.

Rooms are modern, spacey, well designed and well furbished, though minibar could offer more. Bathrooms beyond reproach. Restaurant equally modern, a nice terrace in front perfect for enjoying your spring/summer/fall breakfast. Yet… Breakfast is served at the table (thank God), but the third class industrial salamis and cheese served first are a shame for the region. Not so the fruit basket following. A glass of some acceptable sparkler would somehow amend the impression, but there is none included.

We have not tried the restaurant, I just checked the wine list – as this is probably the best hotel in the island, it is sadly short. There is no gourmet level restaurant in the town, you need to drive to Njivice for quality, Baška for wider choice or Vrbnik for views, a twenty minutes drive to each.

Hotel staff very kind and helpful, reception quick and efficient.

Funny enough, the rooms hold their prices on a same level throughout the year – best then to come at high season, when they are far more acceptable. No discount through internet booking providers. The price differences among rooms are negligible, so go for the best (balcony) - and definitely the seaside.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ZahtevniGost
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest
Level Contributor
65 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2012

We stayed there last October, just at the end of the season. The hotel is as close to perfect as it gets. Classy building, modern, but blends perfectly with the historic surroundings. Modern stylish and functional rooms and bathrooms. Top notch beds, bedding, and linen. Good size flat panel TV with cable programming from around the world.

The breakfast was fresh, plentiful, and highly personalized. On the last day we left at 5:30 am to catch a ferry there were coffee and rolls waiting for us, plus we were given picnic sacks with a large assortment of breakfast and snack food.

The staff was friendly and helpful and gave us great hints as to what to do and see. All around a great stay, not cheap but worth it.

Room Tip: Ours was on the second floor and had sea view. GREAT
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Wolfgang S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Level Contributor
80 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2011

My husband and I stayed here for one night on the spur of the moment when we were travelling through from Cres Island to Krk Island and from there to Rab Island. It is not a large hotel and all the rooms face the sea and have wonderful views across the bay. The interiors are very modern but comfortable and tasteful. Breakfast was served on the terrace facing onto the waterfront. The only issue was with the wireless internet which did not have a strong signal. It was suggested that the best signal was on the terrace but even this was weak. We solved the problem by going to an internet hotspot at a cafe on the water's edge which serves great cakes. Apparently there is free wifi provided for the town but many places don't get a good signal.

Room Tip: If you can get a room on the corner you get large sliding doors which open out and give the feel of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kiwi-Traveller2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2009

This hotel is a gem if you get one of the rooms on the 1st floor. The rooms are tasteful and spacious but most importantly have huge terraces overlooking the sea and the port of Krk. You've got a small dining table plus two deckchairs for sun bathing on the terrace. And still there's plenty of room to walk around. If you go in the summer you'll spend most of your time sitting on the terrace, enjoying the sun and watching the boats come in. In the evening, open a bottle of white and watch the tourists come into town to eat. Marina is the only hotel in the town itself and is the peaceful, classy alternative to the package holiday screaming-kids-by-pool style hotels just out of town. The whole hotel was refurbished a couple of years ago and got that trendy, boutiquey feel to it.

Breakfast was tasty and plentiful and service was relaxed, kind and attentive. Nice restaurant + bar on ground floor.

A whee bit (too) pricey but you get value for your money.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anders O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Krk
0.5 mi away
Valamar Koralj Romantic Hotel
0.3 mi away
Drazica Hotel
Drazica Hotel
#2 of 10 in Krk
3.5 of 5 bubbles 119 reviews
7.1 mi away
Hotel Malin
Hotel Malin
#3 of 14 in Malinska
4.0 of 5 bubbles 181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.5 mi away
Heritage Hotel Forza
Heritage Hotel Forza
#1 of 7 in Baska
5.0 of 5 bubbles 91 reviews
0.1 mi away
Boutique Hotel Placa
7.0 mi away
Hotel Vila Rova
Hotel Vila Rova
#1 of 14 in Malinska
4.5 of 5 bubbles 55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Marina

Property: Hotel Marina
Address: Obala Hrvatske Mornarice 8, Krk 51500, Croatia
Location: Croatia > Primorje-Gorski Kotar County > Kvarner Bay Islands > Krk Island > Krk
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Krk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Marina 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The exclusive boutique hotel Marina is located on the quayside in the historic center of Krk. It has 10 luxurious sea view rooms and suites exclusively furnished and equipped with air-conditioning, mini bar, LCD TV/SAT, direct telephone line, safe deposit box, wireless internet access (WLAN/Wi-Fi), hair dryer, natural cosmetics, bathrobe and slippers. In addition there is an a la carte restaurant, with live music in the summertime. The hotel offers laundry and room service. The hotel is located near the beach. In the surrounding area there are diving centers, water sports, boat excursions, car rental. Hotel guests may also use the swimming pool and other facilities in the Hotel resort Drazica, located 800 meters from the Hotel Marina. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing