We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst hotel ever stayed at!!!!!”

hotelF1 Dunkerque Grande Synthe
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
hotelF1 Dunkerque Grande Synthe
Reviewed August 22, 2013

Having used these hotels on many occasions for overnight stop overs this has to be the worst example I have ever stayed in.
It was dirty throughout, the showers were black and toilets also.
Our room smelt awful...............
It was the first time for my other half and it was embarrassing for me to take her there.
I know these are value for money no thrills service stop over hotels but it was just a dirty unkempt bad example...
The breakfast was the worst ever with stale french stick....
I think the manager thinks and cares as much about the hotels hygiene as he did his own...
Absolutely the worst experience I have ever had!!!!!!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank FrostyNorwich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (55)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

24 - 30 of 55 reviews

Reviewed July 28, 2013

When you pay a very tiny amount for a hotel like the HotelF1 chain I don't expect the World, I expect something very small and basic. I'm only after a bed for a couple of hours in-between travels. This fits the bill perfectly. The shower and toilet facilities being down the hall is a bit of a weird concept at first but you get used to it. The beds are comfortable enough for a quick over-night stay.

Due to the lack of a bathroom there is plenty of space for luggage and whatnot which is nice. Checking in was also very quick and fuss-free.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PeepJC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2012

We always stay here for our first night in Europe as it doesn't matter what time you arrive. You just insert the card you used to reserve the room in the machine outside, put your PIN in and you're given the number and the code to the doors.
We like it as it is easy to find an only 20 miles from Calais ferry port. You just get onto the E40 heading towards Belgium, get off at exit 54 for Grande Synthe, left at roundabout, then left at 2nd set of traffic lights and its just on the right. You can see the F1 sign from quite some way away.
It is set in a light industrial area so it's quiet at night. the private car park is busy, but we've always found somewhere to park, even late at night.
For 33 euros (£26.33) a night you don't expect the Ritz, but it is clean and has been refurbed since our last visit. Each room has a double bed with a single bunk over it, a decent tv, towels, and a sink. Toilet and shower cubicles are along the corridors. Pillows are thin, but we've found that's usually the case in Europe. Nowhere to store clothes but there are some hangers. Good firm mattress.
Unfortunately we were woken at 5.15 by a noisy coach driver outside our window, but you can't blame F1 for some of their customers. It was quiet again after he left.
We've not had the breakfast, but there is a snacks machine and hot drinks machine in the reception so at least we could get a coffee late on, which is more than we could do in any of the other hotels and b&bs we stayed at.

Room Tip: If you can get a parking space outside your ground-floor room you can open the window wide and just...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank Hondabird007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2012

I stayed here for a night with my family after a late night ferry trip from Dover. We were met by a very helpful gentleman who was doing security / night porter. The room was adequate and very clean, breakfast was fresh and plentifl. We will return on our next Dunkirk trip.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Martin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2012

What an excellent hotel - the Duo room is very well sized and very quiet (because it's in the middle of nowhere). I don't mind having to walk down the hallway to have a shower and go to the toilet - they were spotlessly clean. Helpful and friendly staff understood and helped me with my limited ability of French. Already been twice, will definitely go again!!

Room Tip: Some of the rooms smell slightly of damp... go for the rooms that face towards the road - they get m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jmdruff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2011

We stayed here at the beginning and end of our recent trip through Dunkerque. What an excellent system. €33 for every room and no keys ( pin number for the doors ) makes everything very easy.
The rooms are basic but spotlessly clean. You get a TV, sink and free WIFI. It is basic but it's all we needed and we WILL definitely use it again if we're in town. There isn't much nearby but there is a huge shopping centre, petrol station and eating places 2 minutes drive away.
Definitely recommended by ourselves, 100%.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GotaFamilyNow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2011

  • Stayed: April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Antonyh1952
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grande-Synthe
1.7 mi away
Premiere Classe Dunkerque - Saint-Pol-Sur-Mer
Premiere Classe Dunkerque - Sain...
#2 of 2 in Saint-Pol-sur-Mer
280 reviews
3.2 mi away
B&B Hotel Dunkerque Centre Gare
3.4 mi away
All Suites Appart Hotel Dunkerque
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Kyriad Dunkerque Sud - Loon Plage
1.3 mi away
Ibis Budget Dunkerque Grande Synthe
2.5 mi away
Quality Hotel Dunkerque
Quality Hotel Dunkerque
#1 of 3 in Armbouts-Cappel
164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to hotelF1 Dunkerque Grande Synthe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about hotelF1 Dunkerque Grande Synthe

Address: Rue du 8 Mai, 59760 Grande-Synthe, France
Location: France > Hauts-de-France > Nord > Grande-Synthe
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Grande-Synthe
Price Range: $27 - $40 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — hotelF1 Dunkerque Grande Synthe 1*
Number of rooms: 63
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your hotelF1 Dunkerque Grande Synthe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing