We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small but caring”

Best Hotel Dunkerque
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Best Hotel Dunkerque
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Grande-Synthe
camberley
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Small but caring”
Reviewed May 3, 2013

Stayed overnight at this small hotel just outside Dunkerque. Rooms are quite small but adequate for a short stay. Bed was comfortable. Bathroom was compact but usable. Had a TV with BBC1 (on Channel 17 if you're interested), but no other facilities in room. Breakfast was a buffet with lots of choice and good value at Euros 6.90. Restaurant was closed during our stay, but there are plenty of places to eat reasonably close by.

Staff on reception and in the dining room were very helpful.

Room Tip: rooms at the back are quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bdcamberley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    27
    20
    8
    6
See reviews for
16
23
6
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Frankfurt, Germany
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2013

We stayed in an accessible room which except for the very low bed, was fine. Breakfast was good and plentiful. They were also relaxed about the hours and restocked croissants just before 10am. It is convenient to the port and also shopping. Several restaurants nearby too. Not luxury but a nice decent place to stay with plenty of parking.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thekla924
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed September 7, 2012

This was our second time at the Best Hotel and again we had a good experience. Yes the rooms are small but the beds are comfortable and the bathroom is adequet. We managed to find the BBC on the TV wich made a big difference (Room 112). The hotel staff are freindly and helpful and as I am disabled they put a cone in the disabled parking when I went out so noone else could use it. All I can say is you get what you pay for.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clacton
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2012

We have stayed in various hotels in and around the dunkerque area and Calais. The Best hotel will now be our number one choice for future stopover trips. The hotel has a really nice reception area, rooms are adequate nice comfortable bed, flat screen tele but we did not get any uk channels. Clean bathroom with nice hot water and powerful shower. good value for money.
Free safe parking and plenty of spaces.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JanJems
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2012

I stayed here with my wife and two lads, 12 and 9, on the way back from a week long holiday in Vendee. Booked via 'booking.com' we needed 2 rooms. Still a good price - around £75. As it turned out one of the rooms had 3 single beds so we managed in one room. As other reviews said - it is in an industrial wilderness - no bars, shops or anything.
Room was clean and hotel was not in bad shape. There was a telly with a few channels but just one English - BBC Prime I think.
Bring your own entertainment, drinks and snacks and it is a good stopover option for a ferry.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GrahamL1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luxembourg
Level 6 Contributor
93 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2012

The rooms were small, basic and clean. The staff were friendly and helpful. There are no bars or restaurants within walking distance; the hotel is in a commercial zone and quite a distance from the centre of Dunkirk.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank voyageurLuxembourg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lochgilphead
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2011

Having read the reviews of this hotel prior to booking, we were a little concerned but decided to give it a try. We are really glad we did. Before we even got there, the staff provided us with excellant directions on how to find the hotel by phone, even though our French, and their English, was limited. On arrival the receptionist was friendly and very helpful making us hot chocolates after the kitchen had closed. The room was clean and tidy. We had a family room for three which was spacious enough and the compact en suite had an excellant shower. All in all a very nice hotel, not for a weeks holiday perhaps, but for a stop over on the way to somewhere else as we were, it provided an excellant nights accomdation.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank joolst14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grande-Synthe
4.4 mi away
Campanile Dunkerque Sud - Loon Plage
1.7 mi away
Premiere Classe Dunkerque - Saint-Pol-Sur-Mer
Premiere Classe Dunkerque - Sain...
#2 of 2 in Saint-Pol-sur-Mer
267 reviews
2.9 mi away
Kyriad Dunkerque Sud - Loon Plage
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Quality Hotel Dunkerque
Quality Hotel Dunkerque
#1 of 3 in Armbouts-Cappel
150 reviews
2.4 mi away
Campanile Dunkerque Est - Armbouts Cappel
3.7 mi away
Les Gens de Mer
Les Gens de Mer
#9 of 13 in Dunkirk
77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Hotel Dunkerque? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Hotel Dunkerque

Property: Best Hotel Dunkerque
Address: Rue du 8 Mai 1945, 59760 Grande-Synthe, France
Location: France > Hauts-de-France > Nord > Grande-Synthe
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Grande-Synthe
Hotel Class:2 star — Best Hotel Dunkerque 2*
Number of rooms: 43
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Best Hotel Dunkerque reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Hotel Grande Synthe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing