We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Bristol
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Le Montreal(Chalons-en-Champagne)
$68
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$40
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Balladins Chalons/St-Martin(Saint-Martin-sur-le-Pre)
$28
$27
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
hotelF1 Chalons en Champagne(Chalons-en-Champagne)
$30
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Free Internet
Hotel du Pot d'Etain(Chalons-en-Champagne)
$103
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Hotel Le Renard(Chalons-en-Champagne)
$116
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
$93
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Premiere Classe Chalons-En-Champagne(Saint-Martin-sur-le-Pre)
$44
$40
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Pasteur(Chalons-en-Champagne)
$159
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
Hotel De La Cite(Chalons-en-Champagne)
$48
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Reviews (347)
Filter reviews
348 results
Traveler rating
238
99
9
1
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
238
99
9
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsshort driveen champagnerooms are comfortablelocal areabreadbreakfast was excellenttea and coffee making facilitieschampagne regioni highly recommend this hotelstar hoteltown centrewi fiexcellent hotelwarm welcomehusband and wife teamstopover en routeexplained how
Filter
Updating list...
124 - 129 of 348 reviews
Reviewed September 7, 2013

Jenny B's review "Excellent family hotel" sums it up very well.
It's a 3 star hotel in an unprepossessing suburb of Chalon with no restaurants nearby.
The room was clean, well equipped and updated with a solid exterior roller blind to keep out noise as well as double glazing. Free WiFi worked well.
Breakfast was, as others have said, fresh, extensive and excellent, though Brits should note there is no hot food (bacon, fried eggs etc).
Parking is either free outside or EUR 7 in the underground locked garage.
We found it was more like 30 - 35 minutes to walk into Chalon town centre - welcome after a long drive and it's easy to get a taxi back (around EUR 10.00).
The only odd note was that we were initially treated like guests at Fawlty Towers, being rudely abused by the receptionist (and I speak very good French) for no clear reason. However this later changed and he was pleasant enough.

Room Tip: Room 327 is on the 2nd, not the third, floor at the end of the corridor and perfectly quiet.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Theale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
51BM, Propriétaire at Hotel Bristol, responded to this reviewResponded September 30, 2013

Dear Madam,

I'm really sorry to read that your check-in went wrong and that my husband was unpleasant with you as you came ! I could not explain what could have happened but I'm very embittered because it is absolutly unusual by us. I can just apologise for both of us and promise you, that for your next stay in this area, you will have just to send me an email directly on hotelbristol@live.fr to book and we will offer you your breakfasts.
Your room was the 27, in direction of the garden of my neighbours.
Thank you for your very accurate description of your stay and for your compliments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2013

I had booked after seeing reviews on TripAdvisor. This is a brilliant place for a stopover. Room was great with free WiFi, though no AirCon which would have been nice as it was very hot when we were there. Breakfast was quite superb. Fruit, cheese, meat, cereal, etc with a remarkable selection of breads. Hard to fault.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robert C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
51BM, Propriétaire at Hotel Bristol, responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2013

Dear Sir,

What a wonderful compliment : a gem ....we blush with emotion..it is too much : we try to offer to each client an individual welcome in a small, clean, confortable and safe hotel. All the Photos on the webside of our hotel Bristol in Fagnières, correspond exactly with what the guests can discover or see in the hotel and they try to translate the warm and pleasant atmosphere we would like to keep here. Thank you very much indeed for your reviews and we will be happy to welcome you again, if you would have the opportunity of a stop over or of a longer stay to discover our region. And by booking in direct in our hotel, you will always have a more friendly contact and get exactly what you expect. See you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2013

We stayed overnight here on our way home from Switzerland - a first but most certainly not the last. The location was perfect for us - a quiet residential area with a 20 minute walk to the centre of town - so no noise at night and enough distance to digest an excellent meal in town. The hotel is clearly immaculately cared for by both cleaning and decorating staff and the welcome at reception was just as good.
Overnight was totally peaceful and breakfast was a revelation! Don't believe that a British hotel's "continental breakfast" is what you get here - the choice and the quality were exceptional. Everyone else in the breakfast room was French and many of them were obviously regulars - we don't blame them!
We will most certainly be back - the Bristol is now our preferred stop-over point every time.
Thank you Famille Masson!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SuffolkTabTwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
51BM, Propriétaire at Hotel Bristol, responded to this reviewResponded August 25, 2013

Dear Sir,

We are happy to read you spend a friendly overnight stay by us, particularly after your travel through France. I always tell my guests, they need to walk about 30 minutes from the hotel to the restaurant's area but I read you walked faster ! Just 20 minutes ! You are both very good walkers and with the beautiful weather we have had this year, walking in the evening, after a nice dinner would have been especially pleasant.
We look forward to welcoming you again next time you go to Englang and stay to your disposal on contact@hotelbristol-marne.com for a booking in direct. Congratulations again for your comments and compliments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2013

We based our decision to book for a one night stopover this week (heading north to tunnel) on previous tripadvisor reviews and weren't disappointed. I would agree with the previous comments about the fairly plain exterior - it is in an urban but quiet setting - but we were very pleasantly surprised. The rooms are very clean, well equipped and comfortable with updated and spacious shower facilities. The owners are so welcoming, helpful and obviously genuine - spending time and trouble to advise us about directions, parking and restaurants in Chalons centre on the evening of our arrival (as they do not have a restaurant on site). The breakfast room was clean and well laid out, with a good range of continental breakfast options - the food was also fresh and well presented. Highly recommended - and only about 5 minutes' drive from the autoroute, traffic lights permitting. We will definitely book again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jenny B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
51BM, Propriétaire at Hotel Bristol, responded to this reviewResponded August 25, 2013

Dear Madam,

Thank you very much vor your friendly comments about our hotel after your stay by us ; ithe fact is that the hotel does not feel especially warm and welcoming from outside, in the suburbs of the town, at a 30 minutes walk from the restaurant's area. So we try to welcome our guests like in a family, to help them to forget the sad façade ...and we are lucky, like you wrote it, to be located just between two exits on the motorway A26/A4 (numbers 17 and 18) on he way to Calais or to the South and to the Alps. We will be happy to welcome you again and to answer in direct on contact@hotelbristol-marne.com, to any question you could have or any booking you would like to do..

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2013

We stayed here for one night to break our journey. We had 2 Labradors with us and were a bit apprehensive but we needn't have worried. We were given a ground floor room so it was easy to go in and out with the dogs and we all received a warm welcome. The owners were so helpful, giving us lots of information about the town and where to eat, and when we asked if we could have breakfast in our room they brought us a real feast! The room was spacious and comfortable and it was nice and quiet so we were well-rested for the rest of our journey. I'd definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: If you have dogs with you ask for a ground floor room
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnnieKettering
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
51BM, Propriétaire at Hotel Bristol, responded to this reviewResponded July 26, 2013

Thank you very much indeed for all your compliments !
You saw we have also a young Cotton of Tulear and we had 2 King Charles spanniels before ; so we always try to welcome family with their four legged friends, as we know how it could be hard to find an hotel, especially with 2 dogs.

They were very quiet and I'm sure, very happy that you could stay with them in the room, for your family's breakfast.
And we would be happy to welcome the whole family on another opportunity, now that you know our address.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews