We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very good until...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ibis Grenoble Universite
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Gieres
A TripAdvisor Member
Hemel Hempstead
1
Reviewed August 9, 2011

The first night and breakfast were lovely, relaxing and peaceful. However, things were completely different on the second day when 2 coach loads of people arrived. The second breakfast was utter chaos as the staff struggled to keep the buffet supplied with food and crockery. We were only left with scraps for our breakfast. We made sure we were up early the next morning.
I would definitely check whether there were booking for a large group before going back (or setting my alarm earlier)
Other than that, I was very pleased with my stay.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (294)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

16 - 22 of 294 reviews

Reviewed July 27, 2011

Good quality restaurant, Breakfast buffet is excellent value for money.
Location is not ideal for visiting Grenoble, but was convenient for me while watching the Tour de France.
Free wireless and free PC at lobby are nice additional features.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roland1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2011

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DPR1
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
A TripAdvisor Member
Cramlington
1
Reviewed June 21, 2011

The hotel was clean, the staff friendly and helpful however the hotel was a little isolated from restaurants or bars. Overall a good place to stopover is if in the Grenoble area. If your journey is to the University in Grenoble then this hotel's location could not be better.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2011

OK, so this is a really, really basic hotel with portakabins for shower cubicles and aircraft-like toilets, but it was cheap, clean and practical. The breakfast was excellent!
Not everyone's cup of tea, but OK if you're just passing through and need a cheap bedroom for the night.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Andrew H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2011

Stayed here for 1 night on our way back from the South of France. Its located out of the City centre, which was a blessing as the traffic in Grenoble was mad at rush hour. The Hotel is as usual, the same as all the others in the chain. It was on an industrial estate next door to the Ibis Hotel, but it was a nice quiet area. The hotel wasn't too busy so the showers and toilets were always available. You can eat at the Ibis, or there is a Hippopotamus Restaurant nearby and also a Mcdonalds a couple of kms away.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank JulesChesterfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2011

I have stayed there for 3 nights.
It is a realy nice business Hotel.
Very nice view from Room windows, you can see mountains and river.
Breakfast is also good.
It is walkable distance from Train station and Grenoble Central.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yatishtank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gieres
0.2 mi away
B&B Hotel Grenoble Universite
0.2 mi away
Premiere Classe Grenoble Sud - Gieres Universite
0.1 mi away
HotelF1 Grenoble Universite
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Comfort Suites Universites Grenoble Est
Comfort Suites Universites Greno...
#1 of 2 in Saint-Martin-d'Heres
88 reviews
1.8 mi away
Campanile Grenoble Universite - Saint Martin D'Heres
Campanile Grenoble Universite - ...
#2 of 2 in Saint-Martin-d'Heres
175 reviews
3 mi away
Appart'City Confort Grenoble Alpexpo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Grenoble Universite? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Grenoble Universite

Address: Rue de la Condamine | ZI de Mayencin, 38610 Gieres, France
Location: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Isere > Gieres
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Gieres
Price Range: $51 - $76 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ibis Grenoble Universite 3*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ibis Grenoble Université hotel is on the outskirts of the city, close to the bypass and the railway station, 5 min by car from the university and 10 min from the city centre, historic Grenoble (Musée Dauphinois, la Bastille). The hotel has 81 air-conditioned rooms with Wifi connection and 2 meeting rooms. A restaurant, a bar open 24/24, a terrace and outdoor free closed parking are at your disposal. Golf, tennis and squash can be played close by. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Accorhotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Ibis Grenoble Universite reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Grenoble Universite France/Gieres

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing