We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm and friendly B&B in an amazing location”
Review of Hotel Les Chamois

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Les Chamois
GreenLeadersGold level
Level Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Warm and friendly B&B in an amazing location”
Reviewed August 4, 2013

Great one night stay here on the Col de Turini. Owners and staff are very friendly. Rooms are clean, if a little "old style", bar the massive flatscreen TV. Fabulous view of the valley below. The adjoining restaurant has good food, if rather quaint with retired old pin ball machines in the corner. Basic but overall great value for money and very friendly.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JamesMunro13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    57
    24
    17
    16
See reviews for
20
88
3
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2013

stayed for one night with group of friends it was a lot different to what I was used to room was perfectly clean but oldfashioned except for large flat screen television we had a balcony with very good views of surrounding area. Prices was quite unbelieveable as for room, breakfast, evening meal and drinks it worked out about £140 per couple and as we had paid more than that for one night in a novomotel it was quite astounding. Michel and his wife were a very nice couple and we were very glad we had stayed there other than the other hotel near the ranch as while we were they an american man and his son were booked into that hotel and as he was interested in the mini's that we were in he stayed and ate and drank with us when his son went back to their hotel at 10.15pm the owner wouldn't let him in when he asked about his luggage he said come back tomorrow, he came back over to our hotel to tell his father where Michel said he was a little strange and always moaning about not having enough guest, with that 3 of the men in our party went over to the hotel and managed to get their luggage and the money they had paid back, luckily Michel had another room so they ended up staying here as well. As i say the owners of hotel we found very friendly and accommodating it is very different and I must admit electric sockets did look a bit frightening. Must also mention their wonderful dog biloo who I fell in love with, a pyrenean mountain dog, was told he only barks when there are wolves around and some of our group had sat in the bar later than us and had seen the deer come down from the mountains and he didn't make a noise. Altogether it was a good night and stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 275happytraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nice, France
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 28, 2013

A great welcome after a long day's hiking! Really interesting menu at a really good price. Decent and affordable Corsican wine. Lucky to get a room with a double balcony and stunning views both south and west. Perfectly clean, no complaints. Thanks Michel!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Myles O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canet-en-Roussillon, France
Level Contributor
98 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2013

We had planned to stop here as a group of 15 on a motorbike trip around the region. Two days before, the owner contacted our group leader to say that 4 rooms had no water for some reason or another and so would we accept rooms in the 'gites'. We agreed as too late to do much about it being so close to departure date.
When we got there, it appears there was another group staying in the hotel for 3 nights, and so combined with the rest of our group still in the main hotel i doubt if this would leave 4 free 'water free' rooms. As the owner, Michel, is a bit of a story teller we all think that this was another one of them just to get the other groups booking.
4 couples were shown to the 'gites' which turned out to be what can only be described as a hotel/bunkhouse. It was very simple in all manner of the word with wooden bed frame, bunk beds, 60's decor etc and what you would expect if youth hosteling.
Garage parking is shown on their site but we were all shown the 'parking' outside in the garden behind the hotel or in front of the bunkhouse.
As we started to move luggage to our rooms, the owner was also delivering the towels, toiletries and plastic cups so you can see just how much preparation he had put into our stay.
With lots of electrical kit (phones, intercoms, etc) it was a bit of a juggle with only 1 socket in the room (another couple had none) but i managed to get everything done one way or another.
Water was piping hot in the bathroom which i think the couples in the main hotel would have appreciated and with no phone signal (SFR) it would have been nice if the WiFi worked!
Food in the bar/restaurant was okay although by time we had came to the desserts there were only a few left and virtually no choice, so one couple took nothing. None of this was off set in any way which i thought was a bit off.
In all, if you are choosing to stay here then the location is, and can be, impressive, but be prepared for a trip back in time as regards the hotel and service along with a lot of bull from the manager (and yes, no orange juice for breakfast and he will give you the story why).

Room Tip: Another hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stuartstead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
corinne n, Propriétaire at Hotel Les Chamois, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
I understand this reaction because the half of the group was accomodate in a "gite d'étape" near the hotel les chamois ....not a 2 stars hôtel .but it was in the period of "ascencion" and we have refused no more that 30 rooms !
I prevent the man who manage this group that 6 of them will stay in the gite he was "ok" ....
I regret that nobody ask me the wi fi connection because it works very well !
idem for the electricity I have "multiprises" free ....just ask me please !
All the persons of the group was happy with the diner and nobody talk to me for any problem !
please in the period of big request of room paying 47 euros for a half pension : room + diner + breakfast is a very correct price !
we do our possible !
regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
47 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2012

If you do not pay attention to the tacky style, old style furniture mixed with memorabilia from the 50's (ha! the restaurant room is so well stacked with pinball machines that you almost cannot sit) and car racing competitions, or to sub standard electricity appliances, this hotel could be OK.

However the staff acts in a rather strange manner. The manager's humour can be quite harsh and sometimes plainly rude.. They seem to be in a constant hurry. If you are lucky you will be able to drink on the terrace, but most times you'll have to help yourself.

Don't expect to get a boiler in your room or a wifi connection. Bed was ok. Food is good and not expensive. Wine is cheap. Breakfast is ok including good homemade croissants, but it should not be called "continental" I have never seen a continental breakfast without orange juice ! Canned milk and jams are not a nice touch to say the least..

Overall, we had the feeling we were not welcome, and it seems that the owner, although probably a good chap, does not come from a hotel background. The experience was not a pleasant one. One could argue, what can you expect for 47 euros ?

Surroundings are nice but this part of the Parc de Mercantour is not as interesting as the Vallee des Merveilles in my view.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tokolosh W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed September 13, 2010

my friends and i were doing a driving holiday and were planning on driving the Col De Turini.The hotel is situated right at the top which was perfect for us. the service was excellent and there was a friendly family run atmosphere. the rooms were clean well equipped, comfortable and of a good size. my room also had a balcony with stunning views of the surrounding mountains. also if your a petrol head like me then you'll love the monte carlo rally pictures and memorabielia!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank driver26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Bollene Vesubie
9.3 mi away
La Bonne Auberge
La Bonne Auberge
#2 of 6 in Saint Martin-Vesubie
4.0 of 5 bubbles 45 reviews
12.9 mi away
Hotel Valdeblore
Hotel Valdeblore
#1 of 1 in Valdeblore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 57 reviews
21.6 mi away
Hotel L'Escapade
Hotel L'Escapade
#1 of 1 in Beuil
4.5 of 5 bubbles 39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.3 mi away
Hotel Relais Saint Louis
Hotel Relais Saint Louis
#5 of 6 in Saint Martin-Vesubie
3.5 of 5 bubbles 18 reviews
12.8 mi away
Le Prieure
Le Prieure
#1 of 1 in Saint-Dalmas-de-Tende
4.0 of 5 bubbles 58 reviews
9.2 mi away
Hotel le Gelas
Hotel le Gelas
#3 of 6 in Saint Martin-Vesubie
3.5 of 5 bubbles 52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Les Chamois? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Les Chamois

Property: Hotel Les Chamois
Address: route de Turini, 06450 La Bollene Vesubie, France
Location: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > La Bollene Vesubie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in La Bollene Vesubie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Les Chamois reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing