We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming place, charming owners”
Review of Hotel Les Chamois

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Les Chamois
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed May 28, 2013

A great welcome after a long day's hiking! Really interesting menu at a really good price. Decent and affordable Corsican wine. Lucky to get a room with a double balcony and stunning views both south and west. Perfectly clean, no complaints. Thanks Michel!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Myles O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (207)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

12 - 18 of 207 reviews

Reviewed May 13, 2013

We had planned to stop here as a group of 15 on a motorbike trip around the region. Two days before, the owner contacted our group leader to say that 4 rooms had no water for some reason or another and so would we accept rooms in the 'gites'. We agreed as too late to do much about it being so close to departure date.
When we got there, it appears there was another group staying in the hotel for 3 nights, and so combined with the rest of our group still in the main hotel i doubt if this would leave 4 free 'water free' rooms. As the owner, Michel, is a bit of a story teller we all think that this was another one of them just to get the other groups booking.
4 couples were shown to the 'gites' which turned out to be what can only be described as a hotel/bunkhouse. It was very simple in all manner of the word with wooden bed frame, bunk beds, 60's decor etc and what you would expect if youth hosteling.
Garage parking is shown on their site but we were all shown the 'parking' outside in the garden behind the hotel or in front of the bunkhouse.
As we started to move luggage to our rooms, the owner was also delivering the towels, toiletries and plastic cups so you can see just how much preparation he had put into our stay.
With lots of electrical kit (phones, intercoms, etc) it was a bit of a juggle with only 1 socket in the room (another couple had none) but i managed to get everything done one way or another.
Water was piping hot in the bathroom which i think the couples in the main hotel would have appreciated and with no phone signal (SFR) it would have been nice if the WiFi worked!
Food in the bar/restaurant was okay although by time we had came to the desserts there were only a few left and virtually no choice, so one couple took nothing. None of this was off set in any way which i thought was a bit off.
In all, if you are choosing to stay here then the location is, and can be, impressive, but be prepared for a trip back in time as regards the hotel and service along with a lot of bull from the manager (and yes, no orange juice for breakfast and he will give you the story why).

Room Tip: Another hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stuartstead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
corinne n, Propriétaire at Hotel Les Chamois, responded to this reviewResponded May 15, 2013

I understand this reaction because the half of the group was accomodate in a "gite d'étape" near the hotel les chamois ....not a 2 stars hôtel .but it was in the period of "ascencion" and we have refused no more that 30 rooms !
I prevent the man who manage this group that 6 of them will stay in the gite he was "ok" ....
I regret that nobody ask me the wi fi connection because it works very well !
idem for the electricity I have "multiprises" free ....just ask me please !
All the persons of the group was happy with the diner and nobody talk to me for any problem !
please in the period of big request of room paying 47 euros for a half pension : room + diner + breakfast is a very correct price !
we do our possible !
regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2012

If you do not pay attention to the tacky style, old style furniture mixed with memorabilia from the 50's (ha! the restaurant room is so well stacked with pinball machines that you almost cannot sit) and car racing competitions, or to sub standard electricity appliances, this hotel could be OK.

However the staff acts in a rather strange manner. The manager's humour can be quite harsh and sometimes plainly rude.. They seem to be in a constant hurry. If you are lucky you will be able to drink on the terrace, but most times you'll have to help yourself.

Don't expect to get a boiler in your room or a wifi connection. Bed was ok. Food is good and not expensive. Wine is cheap. Breakfast is ok including good homemade croissants, but it should not be called "continental" I have never seen a continental breakfast without orange juice ! Canned milk and jams are not a nice touch to say the least..

Overall, we had the feeling we were not welcome, and it seems that the owner, although probably a good chap, does not come from a hotel background. The experience was not a pleasant one. One could argue, what can you expect for 47 euros ?

Surroundings are nice but this part of the Parc de Mercantour is not as interesting as the Vallee des Merveilles in my view.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tokolosh W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2010

my friends and i were doing a driving holiday and were planning on driving the Col De Turini.The hotel is situated right at the top which was perfect for us. the service was excellent and there was a friendly family run atmosphere. the rooms were clean well equipped, comfortable and of a good size. my room also had a balcony with stunning views of the surrounding mountains. also if your a petrol head like me then you'll love the monte carlo rally pictures and memorabielia!

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank driver26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: January 2018, traveled with friends
Thank RomeoRFL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
muix, Owner at Hotel Les Chamois, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: December 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Niancy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
muix, Owner at Hotel Les Chamois, responded to this reviewResponded December 11, 2017
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: November 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank sabrina b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Bollene Vesubie
12.7 mi away
Le Prieure
Le Prieure
#1 of 1 in Saint-Dalmas-de-Tende
73 reviews
21.6 mi away
Hotel L'Escapade
Hotel L'Escapade
#1 of 1 in Beuil
53 reviews
12.9 mi away
Hotel Valdeblore
Hotel Valdeblore
#1 of 1 in Valdeblore
72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.9 mi away
Hotel Chamois d' Or
Hotel Chamois d' Or
#1 of 2 in Tende
101 reviews
9.3 mi away
La Bonne Auberge
La Bonne Auberge
#2 of 6 in Saint Martin-Vesubie
56 reviews
18.5 mi away
New Chastillon
New Chastillon
#5 of 6 in Isola
487 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Les Chamois? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Les Chamois

Address: route de Turini, 06450 La Bollene Vesubie, France
Location: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > La Bollene Vesubie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in La Bollene Vesubie
Price Range: $58 - $60 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Les Chamois reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing