We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very reliable stop on the journey south”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Logis de France Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Lincolnshire
Level Contributor
58 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“A very reliable stop on the journey south”
Reviewed August 21, 2012

We have stayed at this lovely traditional hotel for many years now. It always provides a very reliable stopover at the start of our holiday. The rooms are comfortable and the food is very good. The area is interesting and worth exploring if you have the time.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Haliaeetusalbicilla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

215 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    143
    50
    11
    7
    4
See reviews for
40
111
3
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
England
Level Contributor
39 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2012

This used to be our favourite hotel in France. After our most recent stay we will never go back.

We have stayed at the hotel regularly since 1987. We spent some of our honeymoon there in 1991. Even when not staying we have visited the restaurant, or just spent time on the patio watching the world go by. We went to the restaurant most years on the Friday before 24 Heures du Mans. We have taken friends and family there and recommended it to others.

We were therefore very upset with our treatment when we last arrived at the hotel. At reception we were informed by Christophe (the barman) that we had rooms on the 1st and 2nd floors. I queried this as my mother is registered disabled and usually confined to a wheelchair and we had deliberately reserved a ground floor room for her. Christophe told me that a later group booking had been given our rooms and he could not help. Eventually he called the male patron from the bar who also told us he couldn't help. No attempt was made to help with the problem and he eventually shrugged his shoulders and walked away to carry on drinking with his friends on the veranda.

It was 6pm after a day of travel from England and there was no time to find somewhere else to stay. My mother was not able to go to her room to change, rest or shower as going upstairs is very painful and she was only able to attempt it once. She eventually went to the room after we had eaten but needed help to do so.

We are appalled that we booked a room for a disabled person and the hotel did not honour it. Also, if they had notice that our room reservation was given to someone else they could have E-Mailed me and we could have found somewhere else.

We were also surprised and disappointed at the attitude of the patron and staff. No assistance was offered and no apology given.

Service has been going downhill since old Madame Pasteau passed away a few years ago, it is now run by her son and daughter in law.

We are very sad that we will not be returning to our favourite French hotel.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Thunderace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lytham St Anne's, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2012

A perfect place to break the journey from the channel ports to the south-west. Our spacious and comfortable room was complete with the usual French 2star small cubicle for shower, wash-basin and lavatory, all perfectly clean and everything worked. The welcome was warm and with a genuine desire to please. When we entered the bar we were asked if we would like the TV re-tuned to the FA cup final. Despite all this excellence,the high spot of our stay was dinner. Served in a well-appointed room with well spaced tables and linen tablecloths and napkins. Beautifully prepared and expertly served.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dadleo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gold coast
Level Contributor
47 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2012

Finding this hotel in La Chartre was a bonus to my trip around the Loire Valley, I did not stay in the hotel, but dined here and also enjoyed numerous cups of coffee here.

The staff are fantastic very obliging and welcoming, the food was fantastic in the restaurant we celebrated a friends birthday here and the staff went out of there way to make the evening a most enjoyable experience. The hotel is classic French and as an Australian I welcomed the opportunity to enjoy all that was on offer.

The hotel is situated in the middle of the village on the square and is a hive of activity during lunch time with the locals enjoying there lunch time breaks.

Thank you so much to all the staff at Hotel de France....

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank aries2461
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed April 6, 2012

The Hotel de France in La Chartre sur le loir is a lovely traditional 2star family run establishment with a very good restaurant. For any fan of motor sport this Hotel is a must see. The Hotel de France was used as a base for John Wyre’s British Motor Sport Teams competing in the Le Mans 24hrs, from the 1950’s to 1980’s. Aston Martin, Ford GT40, TVR, Triumph, Mirage, and Porsche 917. The walls of the bar are adorned with signed photos and other memorabilia. The Hotel is split in to two areas The Main Hotel building housing the bar restaurant and reception and large spacious rooms above all individually furnished in a traditional style then just to the side of the main building is the annex with additional rooms again furnished in a traditional style. If you look hard, you will find the hidden garden down by the river side with a generous heated outdoor pool. A tranquil place to relax. Please remember the Hotel is only a 2 star establishment and the price reflects this. The rooms are always clean and well presented; hot water never fails to flow, fresh towels and crisp bed linen always to be found. I’ve stayed at this hotel for 20+ years and I will be back again this year. This is a quite exceptional Hotel and probably the Best Motor sport Hotel!

Room Tip: Rooms in the annex are quieter and those on the ground floor would suit the less agile
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SABLaChartre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham UK
Level Contributor
33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2011

We didn't stay in the hotel but dined here for dinner. Good starters, excellent steak and bearnaise sauce. Good value. It's popular, so book for dinner.
We also dined here for a light lunch. Fresh fish and an excellent bottle of chilled Touraine rose, seated outside over looking the small sunny square - very nice indeed.
The service was very professional and our waiter spoke English.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank EgonR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
42 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2011

The hotel and the room were lovely, but the whole stay (one night only) was ruined by the patron. Upon arrival our key was virtually thrown at us. Our not being able to decide whether to eat dinner or have a drink first was greeted with a snarl of disgust. Our aperitifs were slammed on the table in front of us. If we hadn't been so tired we would have left there and then. Rude rude rude. Never again. Doubly unpleasant as we were having to pay for it. I would rather face London riotst than the patron of that hotel again.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jonathan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Chartre-sur-le-Loir
8.4 mi away
Auberge Relais du Cheval Blanc
Auberge Relais du Cheval Blanc
#1 of 1 in Beaumont Pied De Boeuf
4.5 of 5 bubbles 84 reviews
7.7 mi away
Le Grand Hotel
Le Grand Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chateau du Loir
4.0 of 5 bubbles 26 reviews
22.0 mi away
Domaine de la Courbe
Domaine de la Courbe
#1 of 3 in Le Lude
4.0 of 5 bubbles 449 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.2 mi away
Hotel Novotel Le Mans
Hotel Novotel Le Mans
#8 of 41 in Le Mans
4.0 of 5 bubbles 514 reviews
20.7 mi away
Hotel Arbor - Auberge de Mulsanne
7.1 mi away
Le Moulin Page
Le Moulin Page
#1 of 3 in Chateau du Loir
5.0 of 5 bubbles 22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Logis de France Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Logis de France Hotel

Property: Logis de France Hotel
Address: 20 Place de la Republique, 72340, La Chartre-sur-le-Loir, France
Location: France > Pays de la Loire > Sarthe > La Chartre-sur-le-Loir
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in La Chartre-sur-le-Loir
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Logis de France Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the northern edge of the Loire Valley, the Hotel de France, in La Chartre-sur-le-Loir, with its ivy covered Art Deco facade, offers chic and luxurious rooms. With a sun drenched terrace, a superb restaurant, bar, inviting swimming pool and gardens that back onto the Loir River, the hotel serves as a comfortable and relaxing base from which to explore the countless delights this region has to offer. The Hotel de France, famous for its long association with the teams, drivers and cars of the Le Mans 24 hours race, overlooks the main square of the charming town of La Chartre-sur-Le-Loir, in the Sarthe department of the Pays de la Loire region in north-western France. It has excellent access to the main Autoroutes, heading north to nearby Le Mans, south to Tours and Bordeaux, and east to Paris. The airport at Tours and several main line train stations are also close by. Used as a destination of choice for leaders of state, film stars and motor sport royalty, the hotel has welcomed the President of France, President Kennedy's family, Steve McQueen, Sir Stirling Moss OBE and a regular guest for the Le Mans 24 hours, Derek Bell MBE. These are just a few names from a long list of personalities that have enjoyed the hotel's hospitality over the years. The Hotel de France has been privately and independently owned for over 100 years. The beautiful Art Deco style building boasts many traditional features, both inside and out. An extensive and sympathetic internal refurbishment was undertaken in 2014 following a change of ownership. Each of our 22 individually designed bedrooms, finished to the highest standards, have a chic and luxurious look, with modern en-suite facilities. Residents can also enjoy our heated riverside swimming pool and garden. Our restaurant, Le Relais de Ronsard, is the ideal place for a long, leisurely lunch, a romantic candlelit dinner for two or a family celebration. Enjoy delicious seasonal dishes, prepared by our chefs, who have served at the hotel for over 25 years. The entire team at the Hotel de France look forward to offering you a warm welcome and to providing a memorable stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Logis de France Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Logis De France Hotel La Chartre-Sur-Le-Loir

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing