We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming transformation- Excellent Food”

Hotel de France - Le Relais de Ronsard
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
La Fleche, France
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Charming transformation- Excellent Food”
Reviewed May 6, 2014

We lived locally when we first came to France, and we have always enjoyed the excellent food in the restaurant, we now live some distance away, but still visit two or three times a year. We were charmed by the changes we found when we visited on Saturday evening. The hotel has been transformed, the decoration is classy & chic, but yet has lost none of the atmosphere generated by the motorsport memorablia in the bar, which has been skillfully updated and for which the hotel is well known by 24hrs enthusiasts . Superb service from happy familiar faces and also from the friendly new management team, We had a superb dinner, as normal, enhanced by a warm welcome from Christophe and we will make the journey on a more regular basis from now on. Superb, well done!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Desma M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    81
    38
    23
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Suffolk
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“What a transformation!”
Reviewed April 30, 2014

I go back a few years with this hotel, having first visited in 2009 for an Aston Martin function, motorsport and Le Mans 24 hour race are intrinsically linked with the hotel. I have sat in the bar, looked at the history on the walls many times, and enjoyed the food in the restaurant on a number of occasions since then. This month though was the first time I had stayed there, and what a transformation, the only room I had seen prior to its refurbishment was what is now known as the Derek Bell room. It is unrecognisable, the two star status does not do the rooms, the food or the hotel justice, the rooms in particular are now very much five star! The hotel has lost none of its charm or history since its refurbishment, retaining the staff including Christophe the barman. The hotel breathes its history, creating a unique history which is so much more tangible now that I have experienced an overnight stay. The food in the restaurant was that was excellent before is now even better, it is evident that the kitchen have had new found life breathed into them, reflected in the quality of food presented. Sally the new hotel manager is both bilingual and everything a hotel manger should be, with nothing too much trouble. The hotel is just as popular for dinner and lunch with the local population as it is with the guests! I can highly recommend the huge creme brulee! I stayed in the Jackie Ickx room, a spacious twin with very comfortable beds. The Derek Bell room, a double was very much in the same vain with each of the named rooms decorated in a unique style and named after the drivers who have stayed at the hotel over the years. Highly recommended as a base to explore the Loir and the Loire Valley.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Patrick C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
“Great Choice, Great Service, Excellent Food - Well done”
Reviewed March 25, 2014

The Hotel de France now under new ownership, and has undergone a total transformation over the last few months. For this reason we elected for a short stay mid March to see the improvements first hand. From first impressions is fair to say every little detail has been taken into account. Forget the 2star rating the HdeF is destined for 3star+ now.

The Bar area is now more relaxing and multi functional with mood lighting and comfy leather sofas. Ideal for pre diner drinks. Along one wall is a unique homage to the racing drivers of the Le Mans 24hrs who have stayed at the hotel in the past. The Restaurant and reception areas also have been given a sympathetic makeover.

The food and service par excellence. The restaurant menu contained a wide choice of dishes with emphasis on local produce. Like the rest of the Hotel the restaurant has been given a new lease of life. While still the same chef of old there is improvement both in quality and choice. The Restaurant was full on the Saturday night and from what I could judge it was all local people with the exception of our table.

Sunday the sun was shining and the bar and terrace were busy all day until late afternoon. With people stopping by for a coffee or drink. Great atmosphere, Great place, well worth a visit.

We arrived as guests but left as friends, such was the warmth of the new manager Sally and Paul her partner. Chistophe the original barman had a spring in his step and a smile on his face.

Highly recommended for any petrol head or as a perfect base to explore this lovely area of France. I can not wait until my return in late May.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SABLaChartre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Courdemanche, France
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely lunch”
Reviewed March 11, 2014

We have lived in the area for a while and were looking forward to seeing and experiencing the changes made by the new owner and his team.

The changes have all been for the better, the look and feel of the bar/brasserie have vastly improved, the timeline wall showing the journey of Hotel de France is a great tribute to the Le Mans drivers and adds to the comfortable feel to the place. You can easily enjoy a coffee, a glass of wine or even lunch or pop outside to the sun drenched south facing terrace, where you can sit and enjoy what the hotel has to offer.

The restaurant has had a few improvements adding to the ambience where you can enjoy your meals.

We enjoyed a lovely lunch there today, very reasonable Menu du Jour, 11.90€ per person, with the drinks and wine for 4 the price came to 75€. The food was really good, we all look forward to many more lunches and dinners at then hotel.

The team old and new really make you feel welcome and it was a all round lovely experience.

Thanks guys

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tsg-france
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
la Chartre sur le Loir
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“An old friend turned into a new romance!”
Reviewed February 24, 2014

As my wife andI live in this delightful very small town, around 2000 inhabitants, this has been our local for the last seven years. With historic links to the Le Mans 24 hour race - under an hour from the track - It has been as popular with the locals and tourists as with the regular contingents of petrol head Brits and their vintage Jags, Bentlys and Astons.

Great for a bistro meal in the bar or on the terrace, there is also a good restaurant. Taken over by an Englishman at Christmas and managed by Sally and Paul, the transformation has been fantastic. Total refurbishment in perfect taste without losing the essential Frenchness, not a centime has been spared, especially in the comfortable and elegant rooms. Much needed new beds, bathrooms and all the extra comforts you would expect in much more expensive hotels.

You will always get a warm welcom from Sally and the bar manager Cristophe. The chef seems to have a new sense. Of purpose and his dishes are more creative than blefore whether you enjoy the menu du jour in the bar. Or a bit of. Local haute cuisine in the restaurant. The bar meal will cost around 15 euros for two courses and a glass of wine; restaurant meals run from about 20 up to 40 euros. Home made foi gras, local fish from the Loir and the sea, meat and poultry from local farms and desserts to wallow in. The local AOC white wine is Jasnieres, that Oz Clarke describes as one of his top twenty wines in the world. Verry flinty, from dry to almost dessert, it is a taste worth cultivating.

We had lunch of home made rabbit pate, a good steak,. Chips and veg then cheese, with salad for me and fresh hake in curry sauce and rice followed by creme brulee for the other half'. Three glasses of wine and coffee, all for 35 euros

On Valentine's day we enjoyed a set four course menu with two choices for each course, all the romantic trimmings like candles, flowers and special cocktails aand perfect service from Hugo and Monique.

Congratulations to the new owners for turning this elegant old lady into a sparkling show stopper that will be the jewel in the crown of this thriving town.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank docgarlic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hotel de France - Le Relais de Ronsard also viewed

La Chartre-sur-le-Loir, Sarthe
Chahaignes, La Chartre-sur-le-Loir
 
La Chartre-sur-le-Loir, Sarthe
La Chartre-sur-le-Loir, Sarthe
 
La Chartre-sur-le-Loir, Sarthe
 

Been to Hotel de France - Le Relais de Ronsard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing