We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Les Violettes Hotel and Spa, Alsace, France”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Les Violettes Hotel & Spa Alsace, BW Premier Collection
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Jungholtz
Dubai
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Les Violettes Hotel and Spa, Alsace, France”
Reviewed July 8, 2013

This was my first visit to the Alsace province of France and it was just beautiful on a nice summer day. The hotel is situated just outside the town on the hill side close to the woods and about 200 - 300 meters from the famous church of St. Lourdes, which has been restored well. The location is just too good to relax. The hotel has different levels and two blocks. The main block consists of the reception, a bar on the upper level, restaurant on the level below the reception and the spa two levels below the reception. Most of the rooms are in a the next block. The rooms are spacious and airconditioned. Wifi coverage wasn't good in all the rooms and definitely good scope for improvement. Due to my schedule, I had to cancel my appointment in the Spa, which I was told was very good. The hotel also has an open swimming pool. Staff were very courteous and nice. The food in the restaurant was nice. In the town of Jungholtz, there is a wine museum (Don't go with too much expectations, it's small, but well made) which is in the basement of the Wine tasting center, where a variety of local wines are available to taste and buy. This is a predominantly a white wine area and the choices are plenty to suit different taste and to go with different cuisines. The guide at the local wine tasting station was good.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the swimming pool gives an excellent view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Prakashroops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

878 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    322
    265
    164
    93
    34
See reviews for
73
620
7
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Valatie, New York, United States
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2013

Les Violettes is like a dream. Secluded in the French countryside of Alsace near the German border, it is a true romantic and relaxing getaway. My wife and I went for a few days on our Honeymoon in France in November, and were treated incredibly well. Vanessa, the lovely manager of the hotel immediately gave us an upgrade to our room upon check in, and helped us get an BMW M3 Compressor upon check out. The staff, especially Megan, helped us with everything else along the way--which was a number of requests from running out of Euros to other things, but they never let us down and always helped us with a smile on their face.

We had unbelievably good massages at the Spa, and the staff at the spa was incredibly nice and accommodating as well. We enjoyed all the well-appointed and unique rooms they have to offer-including the Salt Cave which was unforgettable. I have been to top notch spas in NYC, Beverly Hills, and else where, and I am telling you- this was one of the coolest, most unique spas to which I have ever been. The location for me, being in the relative middle of nowhere definitely added to fun "escape factor", but the spa is definitely well thought out and well maintained. The pool, which allows you swim outside from inside was nice as well. We dined well, and at night we read and talked by the fire in the lounge. And, breakfast was perfect--do not miss!

Since we were there during Christmas time, they had lights on an enormous pine tree out front which was really fun and beautiful at night. We could also see horses in the pasture next door from our balcony, and it all was very peaceful and positive.

When we left, well, literally, the pictures of my wife are incredible--she is just glowing. I have only good things to say about Les Violettes and I hope to visit again sometime in the future.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stephen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tilburg, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
193 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2012

This is a nice hotel in the Alsace. When arriving the receptionist was very professional and showed me to my room. Hotel has quite some rooms and finding your room is not always easy. The rooms were clean and spacious but to warm. The airco did not work as it should do. The internet connection was very slow. Checking out took ages but at the end they managed to figure it out.

Had dinner in their restaurant with a group with a preset menu. The restaurant looks nice and they have a cosy bar. The food was average and the wine overpriced.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Toine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Strasbourg, France
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2012 via mobile

Lousy wifi reception throughout the property although their website clearly states that wireless internet is available in every room. If that were not enough, wherever wifi works, internet connection speed is terrible (200kbps max). Virtually no cellular signal with Bouygues Telecom. Geeks beware!

Spa was nice although pool temperature could be 10 degrees warmer.

Food was good not exceptional.

Staff was very nice.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fr8d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsingborg, Skåne Län, Sweden
Level Contributor
60 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2012

Superb hotel and restaurant in Alsace area. We were looking for somewhere to stay on our way to Switzerland driving from Sweden and by chance found this superb hotel. The room was very nice and elegant. Pool area was nice too, after a hot day the swim in the afternoon was great. Located in a very peaceful area in the forest. Food was also very good, but the English was not so good among staff in the restaurant. Reception was excellent.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anita W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2012

For the second year running, my wife and I spent a one-night stop-over at this hotel while driving from UK to Italy and, as last year, came away saying that we must return for a longer stay. The hotel is located in an extremely peaceful setting on the edge of a forest.
On this visit, we chose a Romantique Annexe Suite - one of the more expensive rooms. It was superb - very spacious with a large, modern and well-fitted bathroom plus a large balcony with loungers. This type of room is in the new building and involves a slightly circuitous walk to the main building (for reception, restaurant and pool/spa) via a brightly lit underground tunnel - interesting as it takes one past the windows of the illuminated wine cellar.
The connecting indoor/outdoor swimming pools are fabulous.
The restaurant offers an excellent menu choice and food was very good. The only negative about our whole stay was the rather intrusive "muzak" being played during dinner and breakfast.
Our command of the French language is only passable but we found that some staff, although not all, had good English when we faltered.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrGrumpy76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyderabad, India
Level Contributor
169 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2012

Was at the hotel for three nights in April 2012 for a business meeting. overall the experience was good - however for English speaking travellers it is a bit of challenge as the staff mostly converse in French and it always took me a while to convey my message.

The room is good but a tight fit - there are other expensive variety if you can afford them.

overall a very beautiful location and good place to stay

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EnigmaticIndia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Jungholtz
7.5 mi away
Hotel Spa Restaurant Domaine Du Moulin
22.6 mi away
Resort Barriere Ribeauville
Resort Barriere Ribeauville
#1 of 11 in Ribeauville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,075 reviews
7.6 mi away
Chateau d'Isenbourg
Chateau d'Isenbourg
#1 of 4 in Rouffach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 558 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.4 mi away
Hotel Restaurant Spa Verte Vallee
2.2 mi away
Domaine de Beaupre
Domaine de Beaupre
#1 of 4 in Guebwiller
4.5 of 5 bubbles 127 reviews
3.0 mi away
Le St Barnabe Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Les Violettes Hotel & Spa Alsace, BW Premier Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Les Violettes Hotel & Spa Alsace, BW Premier Collection

Property: Les Violettes Hotel & Spa Alsace, BW Premier Collection
Address: Thierenbach, 68500 Jungholtz, France
Location: France > Grand Est > Haut-Rhin > Jungholtz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Jungholtz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Les Violettes Hotel & Spa Alsace, BW Premier Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dans un cadre superbement restauré, une très belle demeure en grès des Vosges, l'Hostellerie Les Violettes, un des plus beaux Hôtels Spa d'Alsace, fleurie et cossue vous offre calme et tranquillité ainsi qu’une excellente table. La véranda dans son écrin de verdure domine la vallée préservée de Thierenbach. C’est un véritable havre de paix d’où l’on profite, autour de tables rondes, de la nature en toutes saisons. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Les Violettes Hotel & Spa Alsace, BW Premier Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Les Violettes Hotel & Spa Alsace, BW Premier Collection Jungholtz, France

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing