We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Auberge de L'Arbousier
Nearby Hotels
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Risico(Homps)
Booking.com
View Deal
Reviews (90)
Filter reviews
90 results
Traveler rating
39
28
11
6
6
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
39
28
11
6
6
See what travelers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
37 - 42 of 90 reviews
Reviewed May 29, 2011

There are three things that make this place so good. First is the food, which is really good. Using fresh quality ingredients, the meals are well cooked and full of flavour. Second is the location, right by the Canel du Midi where you can watch the boats or walk along the tow parth or just sit on the terrace and watch it all go by. Lastly and by no means least is the excellant hospitality shown by Francois. He is so helpful and courteous, even booking a boat ride for us as our french did not stretch that far.
Try to get a room that overlooks the canal if you can. Our room was large and had everything we needed for a comfortable stay, it was also very good value for money. It is an easy journey to Carcassonne if, like us, you want to visit this beautiful city.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RupertB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2011

Everything is absolutely stunning in its attention to detail. Large, clean and comfortable rooms with en suite bathrooms. An amazing and varied regional dinner menu. And it is. Crowned by a friendly owner and staff. It is right on the Canal du Midi.

  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Toulousian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2010

Hotel good for all ages, but the town is unsuitable for children. However, the hotel is well placed for all ages if one is wanting to explore the area (hiking/canoeing). When booking check whether or not the room contains the lift shaft: ours did and whilst this did not keep us awake at night as most residents retired early, it may affect some people. Hotel description states air-conditioning: our room did not have any so one assumes the description referred to the public rooms. Some nights this was a problem as it was so hot.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WrinkleyFace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2010

September 2010 I visited Auberge de L'Arbousier for the fith time. I have introduced many friends to this little Paradise, and they are coming back again and again. This vacation was with a 86 year old female friend (walking difficulties), her 6o year old son, two small dogs - Coco and Ici - and me Jytte - 74 years. I very special group. We stayed one week and had an exellent vacation. Our host made sure we got special meals, when we had exhausted the menu. Everything very, very good. Our rooms were clean cosy and so well maintained (lots of clean soft towels every day). When the winter weather gets us here in Denmark, I will dream of this Paradise. Thank you from Jytte, Copenhagen, Denmark.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank olsen_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2010

We stayed here for 4 nights. We had a rear room with balcony. Very spacious and clean. Unfortunately there are no rooms with balconies overlooking the river. The food and service were extremely good. A very peaceful location being next to the canal and only a short walk along the river to Homps where you can find bars and other restaurants etc. - you will not want to find any other restaurants though as the food is very good. We stayed half board which was very good value at around £55 per head. A good area for cycling and walking. Good location for touring. I would certainly recommend this to you.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linda58essex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews