We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Pure bliss”
Relax beside the pool
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Relax beside the pool
Front of house with parking
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
30 reviews
Relax beside the pool
Front of house with parking
Bedroom 1 (downstairs)
Bedroom 2 (downstairs)
Downstairs bathroom
Bedroom 3 (upstairs)
Bedroom 4 (upstairs)
Bedroom 4 seating / tv area
Sun room
The pool
Shade by the pool
Homps church
The Canal du Midi at Homps
Minerve
Boating on the Canal
Lac de Jouarres
The Canal du Midi
Olonzac market
La Cite at Carcassonne
Lastours
Carcassonne La Cite on the 14th July
Sunset on the Canal
Local village of Aigne
La Franqui beach (35 mins)
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
4 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Homps, Aude, Occitanie

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 30 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Go715001
Paris, France
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Pure bliss”
Reviewed June 13, 2017 for a stay in September 2016

We have stayed here two years in a row and are looking forward to our third this year.

The house is fantastic and has everything you could possibly need to enjoy a holiday. We use it for family holidays...first year my husband and my parents (I was pregnant), second year same again but with our the 10 month old (the house is equipped for babies)


Indoors there are plenty of bedrooms and a bathroom downstairs and shower room and toilet upstairs. (Ideal again for us as we had downstairs and my parents had upstairs).
The kitchen, dining room and sitting room are open plan and are equipped with everything you could possibly need. A huge array of crockery/utensils/pots and pans/Tupperware etc and also loads of plastic cups/plates for enjoying drinks and snacks by the pool. The front room has lovely comfy leather sofas and a tv/DVD/netflix...and to top it all off the whole house is air conditioned!! A saviour whilst pregnant and again with the baby last year. If like me though you like a bit of warmth there is a great little seating area in the front porch!

The outdoor space with the pool is ideal. Big parasol with sun beds and little tables. Built in BBQ over next to the shaded dining table and chairs. Wooden swing chair looking over the pool. Last year we brought a little paddling pool for the baby to put in the shade. She loved it.

The house is in a great location, out to the right a short walk into the centre of the village with a selection of restaurants on the canal, a couple of wine shops, local shop and the shop at the petrol station (a mini super market) or out to the left to get to a triple lock on the canal...great for watching the boats. There are a few villages within a few minutes in the car and loads of vineyards around.

I would highly recommend this house although at the same time I'd like to keep it secret!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 15, 2017
Thank you for your great review, much appreciated.
Hope all other changes we have made go down well too.
Look forward to the feedback.
Enjoy this years stay.
Best regards,
Carole and Jim
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gourmand6...
Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Highly Recommend”
Reviewed October 3, 2016 for a stay in September 2016

This is our third year staying in here. Our second under Jim and Carole. What can I say?

The house has everything you can think of to help make for a great holiday. Starting with the best welcome pack we have received in all of the many houses we have rented over the years. Incredibly clean and well serviced. The change of sheets and towels after the first week is lovely. The air conditioning provides welcome respite after a day in the midsummer sun (not available in many houses we have rented previously).
Plenty of bedrooms and two bathrooms ensure everyone has their own space.

The pool makes for a great lazy day when you don't want to venture too far from the house and village - plenty of sun loungers and a new swing chair this year. Jim and Carole have added to the house each year and are great at continuously improving the house. It is hard to see what more they can add as it has, as mentioned earlier, everything.

The location is perfect. Lots of local restaurants to choose from ensuring that everyone can enjoy a drink without having to worry about driving. Lots of villages round and about with market days. And most especially lots of barges and boats passing through the canal to create constant entertainment.

Jim and Carole are the most responsive owners we have come across in all our years renting. Can't recommend this house & location enough. We have booked again for 2017.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 5, 2016
Thank you! Great positive review. Nice to know we are getting things right and hope to keep making changes and additions that everyone appreciate and enjoys. A few more changes planned for next year which we hope will improve everyone's stay. Look forward to seeing you again. next year
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alan W
Crawley, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely house, beautiful location, good for large families”
Reviewed August 29, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Stayed here several times before - house now under now owners, but still nicely appointed and well equipped with everything you would need. Very nice private pool, and plenty of games etc. to keep the children amused. Highly recommended - must be as we have been back several times !

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Pool & location
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 29, 2016
Glad you and the family enjoyed your stay and all the facilities used and appreciated. Thank you for the recommendation and would look forward to having you back in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CMH1935
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Absolutely fantastic with everything you could possibky need”
Reviewed August 3, 2016 for a stay in July 2016

I have just returned from an amazing stay at La Pepiniere in Homps with my daughter and her husband. Our third stay in this property and when we heard after our second visit that it was changing hands we were concerned that it would go 'down hill' Quite the contrary, it is better than ever and such a relaxing, welcoming house in which to spend your holiday.
There is everything you could possibly need in the kitchen, all so clean and tidy. The beds are extremely comfortable with high quality sheets etc and lovely big bath towels in addition to beach type towels for the pool. Homps is a great village with excellent restaurants and a local garage selling bread etc. On Tuesdays there is a brilliant market in the neighbouring town of Olonzac supplying endless varieties of local produce.
Whilst sitting by the pool I played a game with myself trying to think of anything that would make the house any better and could not think of a single thing except the provision of a hand rail or even the rope type bannister on the stairs. As an elderly person, I would find that reassuring but cannot think of any thing else that would make this lovely property even better for a holiday. Needless to say, we have booked again for next year!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The comfort and cleanliness
Liked least: Having to leave at the end of the holiday
Traveling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 4, 2016
We would like to thank you for your great review of La Pepiniere.
You seem to have enjoyed it as much as we do..
We gladly take on your suggestion re the handrail for the pool and will be looking into getting one fitted.
Glad you have re-booked and looking forward to welcoming you again next year.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
trottyo
Carmarthen, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent holiday villa in a relaxing location.”
Reviewed July 1, 2016 for a stay in June 2016

We stayed with another couple in this lovely holiday villa during the second week of June, and found the property, spacious, comfortable and well equipped (the air conditioning is a real plus point) with an excellent pool and poolside area with shaded dining area and barbecue.

Homps, a relatively quiet village set on the Canal du Midi, set in the middle of the Minervois wine region is an ideal base for exploring this lovely part of France. It is laid back with a couple of nice canal side bars and restaurants yet within easy reach of the Mediterranean and attractions such as Carcassonne and Minerve and the towns of Bezeirs and Narbonne (with its wonderful indoor market).

All in all a very enjoyable week in a superb villa. We have stayed in many holiday homes in France over the years and this one is one of the (if not the) best..

I should also point out that communications with the owner Jim were excellent.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 1, 2016
We thank you for your great review. We love the villa ourselves and hope that those who rent feel the same way during and after their stay.
You evidently did and we would love you to stay there again in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
petercmil...
Holywood, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Great villa in a great area,with excellent facilities”
Reviewed June 24, 2016 for a stay in May 2016

This is an excellent villa in a quiet area with off road parking ,great outdoor area with pool,shaded dining area and barbecue .It is also within walking distance of canal de midi and local restaurants.Within reasonable driving distance of the ancient city of Carcassonne a must see area,and lots more areas of interest.There was a very welcome and useful starter pack on arrival ,the open plan ground floor is very spacious and very well equipped, wi-fi, TV, dvd player,all round excellent quality decor.Would have no problem recommending this villa and area to anyone for a great holiday in a beautiful part of France.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: Outside pool area
Liked least: No complaints on anything.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 24, 2016
Many thanks for your positive review.
We are glad you enjoyed your stay at La Pepiniere and would hope to see you there again in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maureen51...
Addingham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“The Perfect Holiday Rental”
Reviewed June 15, 2016 for a stay in June 2016

We were a family of 6 (plus 5 month old baby) and rented the villa for a week. How we wish that we had booked for longer! We found La Pepiniere to be the perfect holiday rental - we could not have asked for more. Everything was just as we imagined it to be - much better than the photos depicted. The welcome basket was a very thoughtful gesture - as was the souvenir tea towel. The lovely pool was much enjoyed by all, even baby had a dip! The whole villa is very well equipped especially the kitchen area. We could not fault the perfectly laundered white sheets and towels as well as the cleanliness of the property. We know the area fairly well, but Homps is by far our favourite place. Most certainly we will return as soon as is possible.

Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 15, 2016
Thank you for the positive review.
We are glad that you enjoyed your stay, as we want our guests to enjoy the villa and Homps as much as we do.
We look forward to welcoming you back to La Pepiniere.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing