We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enlightening. Wear good walking shoes and take a jacket!”
Review of Simserhof

Simserhof
Ranked #2 of 7 things to do in Bitche
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Frankfurt, Germany
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Enlightening. Wear good walking shoes and take a jacket!”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

Very informative tour of this major fort on the Maginot Line. Good WWII review from a French perspective. The walking tour underground was particularly interesting, although it may not be possible for those with mobility issues. To access the entrance down into the tour area, one must be able to walk a little distance up a sloped path, and be able to walk a fair 1.5 hours, without restroom facilities. An elderly member of our group was unable to complete this part of the visit. There is an old creaky elevator down into the underground, but for the general tours a stairway of 149 steps (both directions) is part of the tour. Do remember a jacket or sweater as it is about 10* Celsius below ground and quite damp. The cafe was adequate and restroom facilities are only available in the main part of the visitor center, not once you are underground. The tour guide we had was very pleasant, professional and full of information and able to answer any questions our group had in English. We arrived at 10 AM and were one of the first tour groups, and left by 1:30. Our reservation was for 10:30. A good time to go, as it was much busier when we were ready to leave. Most ages would enjoy this.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank whatnext4us
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    57
    33
    5
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Henley-on-Thames, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Absolutely amazing!”
Reviewed May 23, 2013

Allow plenty of time - I was there 4.5 hours what with waiting for tours to start. But it is worth it. Take it all in - the film, automatic train ride, and especially the walking tour. Basic catering on site which you'll need as you'll be there so long. Modern visitor centre and very professionally done overall.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank bert015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
switzerland
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Interesting tour, very informative, and in excellent condition”
Reviewed May 11, 2013

Before going, make sure you make a reservation. Tours are in French, German, and English but you must reserved beforehand to ensure they provide a tour in your language. As others have mentioned, you watch a short film at the beginning talking about the reasons the Maginot Line was built, what happened in that area during the war, and the aftermath. Then you take a train tour in the tunnel followed by a guided tour showing you where the soldiers worked, ate, bathed, medical facilities, and so on. Overall, I think it lasted about 3 hours and it's very cold in there (10°C / 50°F). And go to the bathroom before you start the tour because there are no bathroom facilities down there.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank texswiss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridgeshire, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Interesting Visit”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

A trip to the Maginot line is a must if you are in the area. Do call and book your visit in advance as English speaking tours are only available at certain times of the day and you could have a long wait if you o not call before hand.

There is free parking at the site, you do have a 5minute walk through some woodland on a gravel path so if members of your party are not so able you may wish to drive them down to the visitor centre before parking.

The visits costs 12 euros, which is excellent value. This includes a walking tour around the barracks and workshops which lasts around 1 hour 15 min. There is also an audio visual tour where you watch a film for 15 min and then have a 30 minute tour on a train through the ammunition area. It is cold inside so remember to take a jacket or jumper.

The tour is very good and gives you a great insight into the everyday life of soldiers who were stationed at Simershof. I would say the tour would probably be too long to capture the attention of young children.

There is a cafe selling drinks and hot and cold food, there are also picnic benches to eat outside when there is nice wether.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank highland_Mc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Fascinating Historical Site”
Reviewed August 8, 2012

Being among the oldest baby boomers, we are acutely aware of how little World War II history we know, and how even less our children know. So, on a hot day in July, we decided it was time to see what the Maginot Line was really all about. What a magnificent site (as well as a testament to war planning folly)! The tour of the ammunition facilities via the automated train was very interesting, but the tour of the barracks, power facilities, and other areas led by a very articulate, witty guide was fascinating. Plan on about 3 hours to cover both, and while the cautions to bring a jacket are appropriate, we found the underground temperatures very pleasant, even in short sleeves (but then we're Americans used to air conditioning). One bit of advice--it's not obvious at the parking lot off the highway that there is a road down to parking very near to the facility. We didn't see that and took the "pietons" trail down into the valley (very steep in places). So unless you want a longish hike down and then back up, look for the road down the hill on the left side of the parking lot.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank MHerisson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Simserhof also viewed

 

Been to Simserhof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing