We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful Watermill”
other travelers have booked this property
Beautiful watermill from the mill pond
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Beautiful watermill from the mill pond
Heated 5.5m above ground pool Mill pond
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
23 reviews
Beautiful watermill from the mill pond
Heated 5.5m above ground pool
Mill pond
Landscaped Gardens
Waterfall in front gardens
Mill pond
Lounge/Dining Room
Lounge/Dining Room
Lounge/Dining Room
Sun bathing area by the stream
Heated pool covered eating area.
Bread oven
Bread oven where you can make your own bread or Pizza !
River side bread oven BBQ area .
Front of water mill
Living/Dineing area
Living/dineing area
Fitted kitchen in the original mill race where you can see crayfish,trout & eels
Mill stones
Oak room with ensuite shower,WC.
Annexed Millers twin room with own private balcony.
Granary room with ensuite jacuzzi bath.
Granary room ! Four poster a single bed .
Ensuite jacuzzi bath
stream for paddling !
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Watermill -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Melle, Deux-Sevres, Nouvelle-Aquitaine

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 23 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Triskabab...
Trowbridge, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful Watermill”
Reviewed March 15, 2018 for a stay in March 2018

What a lovely place, the grounds were fabulous, with a stream and a river. It was a peaceful setting, and sitting in the garden with a cup of tea listening to the water running an the birds singing was very relaxing. We were made so welcome by Jason and Marie-Laure with fresh flowers fruit and a welcome pack with a much needed bottle of wine.

The restorationof this mill has been done really well and parts of the old workings are all around. Would we go back most definitely and we were there in a nippy March, I can only imagine how much better it would be in the summer.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 16, 2018
Thank you very much Trish for your kind comments.

We hope that all your plans for the future turn out good.

Kind Regards

Jason & Marie-Laure
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorothy P
1 review
“Beautiful”
Reviewed August 2, 2017 for a stay in July 2017

Beautiful location, stunning property set in gorgeous grounds. Easy to get to interesting places like Poitiers, Niort, Futuroscope, the zoo at Palymre; highly recommended.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 5, 2017
Thank you Dorothy :-) It was a pleasure to have you stay and thank you once again for leaving the property so clean and tidy :-)

Kind Regards Jason & Marie-Laure
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wmak42
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
“Beautiful and relaxing”
Reviewed August 2, 2017 for a stay in June 2017

Stayed for 2 lovely weeks in June. The location is peaceful, the gardens and surrounding are thoughtfully designed to provide areas for relaxation and areas for activity. I loved lounging on the hammock beside the stream and exploring in the woods. The owners were very friendly, not only did we get the welcome hamper when we arrived they gave us bowlfuls of cherries and lettuces from the garden, we couldn't have asked for more. Jason was very knowledgeable about the local area and gave us plenty of tips of places to visit, wish we had asked him earlier in the holiday. The Mill is as described by the owner and all other reviews but none of them can really describe how idyllic it is until you have stayed there.

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 2, 2017
Hi Will
Thank you for your kind comments :-)
It was a pleasure to meet you and your family and are glad you enjoyed your stay .

Kind Regards

Jason & Marie-Laure
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sninsnore
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Tranquil getaway”
Reviewed May 9, 2017 for a stay in May 2017

The beutifully restored watermill is comfortable & well equipped. There area and grounds are tranquil only interupted with the sound of bird song and running water.
The welcome pack is extensive and was greatfully recieved
Jason and Marie-Laure were on hand if needed and were very helpful, they have done an amazing job of restoring this old property and have a welath of knowledge on the local area.
We had a restful time at Le Moulin Combe and will hopefully have the oppertunity to visit again

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 11, 2017
Thank you for your kind comments :-) It was a pleasure to meet you and hope to see you again one day !

Kind Regards Jason & Marie-Laure
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mattcush
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“simply stunning tranquil romantic watermill”
Reviewed April 17, 2017 for a stay in April 2017

first impression were excellent and from then on in it just got better Jason the owner was fantastic couldn't of wanted for anything more superb house and fantastic grounds and garden ,stream river plenty of fish and wildlife and just an hour from la Rochelle saintes Angouleme niort a lovely welcome pack what a lovely touch ,such a lovely feeling and vibe to the whole setting with so much to do with badminton table tennis cricket not forgetting playing pooh sticks in your our garden by the fantastic seating bar b q area 10 out of 10 thank you for a wonderful stay

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 18, 2017
Thank You Mathew ! Your kind comments make all the hard work worth while :-) We are so happy you had a nice stay and was lovely meeting you all.

All the best Jason,Marie-Laure & Family
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cags05
Watford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Relaxing fab location”
Reviewed March 29, 2017 for a stay in April 2016

Stayed here some time ago and hoping to come back. So chilled great for kids and fab location with so many attractions just a short drive away. Lovely stay and accommodation.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 30, 2017
Thank you so much ! Glad you enjoyed your stay :-)
We welcome returning guests with open arms and a nice bottle of bubbles :-)

All the best

Jason & Marie-Laure
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gardener1...
Kent
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“WONDERFUL COTTAGE”
Reviewed October 23, 2016 for a stay in October 2016

We were looking for a short break in France in an area that we hadn't visited for a little while. We certainly chose the right cottage. When you go down the short drive you see the cottage exactly as you see it in the website.
We were met by Jason, who gave us a short tour of the cottage and grounds and also showed us the very inviting welcome pack of French products.
We quickly settled in and enjoyed a very relaxing holiday doing very little, with the odd trip to the local attractions.
This is one of the best cottages that we have stayed in and recommend it to anyone who wants a relaxing holiday.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 24, 2016
Hi Vic & Jan
Thank you for your kind comments and pleased to hear that you had a nice holiday !

All the best

Jason & Marie-Laure
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing