We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very good value!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Landgasthof-Pension "Am Sonnenhang"
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Vohenstrauss
Bad Windsheim, Germany
Level Contributor
141 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“Very good value!”
Reviewed May 19, 2012

Nice little hotel with very good breakfast. We did not use the restaurant for dinner, but the menue looked very nice! The owner family is very hospitable and friendly.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mbaka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    6
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
9
20
Solo
0
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Morfelden-Walldorf, Germany
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2012

We stayed in "Am Sonnenhang" for one night. They hosted us in the new "dependance" in a triple room. Actually it was a small apartment: my child enjoyed a separate room (with bathroom!) and we also had a nice terrace with a view on a small lake. Anything was nice and clean.
Restaurant serves traditional Bavarian cousine: good quality and very fair prices. But if you are thinking about going in a Saturday evening, it might be slightly crowd and service might be slower... maybe too slow if you are not in the right mood.
We also enjoyed the breakfast and therefore the kindness of the personnel.
We think this is a highly recommendable choice for a short break, in a family friendly atmosphere.

Room Tip: We had a room in the brand new dependance: ground-floor rooms have a nice terrace with a view on a s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Antonino P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gdynia, Poland
Level Contributor
46 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2012

We spent there only one night and morning this March, and were delighted.
The hotel consists of two buildings - the main one, and the separate small bungalow, with probably four-six rooms there. Everything located on quite steep hill.

They have the regular restaurant, apparently visited by the locals. No wonder, as the cuisine is very good. Importantly, the restaurant is open until at least 10pm, which is rather unique for small hotels, and very comfortable for those who arrive late, as we did. You can still have a regular dinner arriving at 9:30.pm.

The rooms are clean and comfy, with everything you may need.
Silent location, if you need the absolute silence, ask for the room in the main building, facing the meadow.

The personnel is very, very friendly, speaking good english.
Overall - excellent place, very much recommendable.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank turysta78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ansbach, Germany
2 reviews
Reviewed January 15, 2012

The hotel was a great price and very very clean even with there remodeling in progress. The hotel and restaurant is VERY VERY family friendly. The food and service was 10 out of 10.. I will stay again and tell everyone about the amazing experience.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
156 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2011

Arrived late at night, bar tender came out and showed us to our room, and made sure everything was to our satisfaction.

Bedroom was modern, clean and comfortable.

Breakfast next day was good, combination of cold buffet, and hot dishes cooked to order. All served with a smile.

Don't know how they do it for the money!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MagicTorchster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
104 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2011

Room 18 was outstanding, price is really moderate. Best is the extreamly friendly people, offering us beers and even meal though arrived after closing hour.
One drawback, no mobile connection in some parts.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Credoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vohenstrauss
3.4 mi away
Gasthof zur Post
Gasthof zur Post
#5 of 6 in Vohenstrauss
4.0 of 5 bubbles 9 reviews
7.6 mi away
Hotel Burg Wernberg
Hotel Burg Wernberg
#1 of 1 in Wernberg
5.0 of 5 bubbles 389 reviews
2.9 mi away
Gasthof-Pension Zum Schwarzen Baren
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Landhotel Lindenhof
Landhotel Lindenhof
#2 of 6 in Vohenstrauss
4.5 of 5 bubbles 16 reviews
5.5 mi away
Klassik Hotel am Tor
Klassik Hotel am Tor
#1 of 9 in Weiden
4.5 of 5 bubbles 86 reviews
5.5 mi away
Hotel Zur Heimat
Hotel Zur Heimat
#4 of 9 in Weiden
4.0 of 5 bubbles 35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Landgasthof-Pension "Am Sonnenhang"? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Landgasthof-Pension "Am Sonnenhang"

Property: Landgasthof-Pension "Am Sonnenhang"
Address: Am Sonnenhang 5 | Kaimling, 92648 Vohenstrauss, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Palatinate > Vohenstrauss
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Vohenstrauss
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Landgasthof-Pension "Am Sonnenhang" 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Free Wi-Fi and free parking are offered by this family-run guest house in Vohenstrauß. All rooms have a fridge and the reception is open 24 hours a day. The 2-star Superior Landgasthof-Pension Am Sonnenhang has rooms with satellite TV and private bathroom. Most rooms include a balcony. A range of meals and snacks are served in the restaurant. In the summer, guests can relax on Am Sonnenhang's large terrace. Landgasthof-Pension Am Sonnenhang is located in Bavaria's Oberpfälzer Wald (Upper Palatinate Forest). Many cycling and hiking trails can be found nearby. The centre of Vohenstrauß and the A6 motorway are a 10-minute drive away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, Cheap Tickets and HRS so you can book your Landgasthof-Pension "Am Sonnenhang" reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing