We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (15)
Filter reviews
15 results
Traveler rating
0
7
5
2
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
0
7
5
2
1
See what travelers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 15 reviews
Reviewed February 9, 2019 via mobile

I booked and paid for a shuttle bus to the airport at 5am. When I didn't appear for it, no one took the time or trouble to phone up to the room to check that everything was OK. Needless to say, I missed my flight, which was entirely my own fault. But the point is, however, if you are looking for a hotel where the staff "go the extra mile", the Grand Excelsior is definitely not it.

Date of stay: February 2019
Trip type: Traveled solo
Thank Malcolm W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2019

We've stayed there with the whole family just for 1 night before our flight back. So the rooms was big and they've placed all 5 of us there (to be honest I was expecting family suit with at least 2 rooms). So the bed is good but the bathroom is disgusting with a bad smell. The breakfast is quite ordinary though there are some good products but coffee is awful and general impression is not good.
The personnel on reception looks rather indifferent to you. We've came at 3 p.m. and could not have any lunch there.
No bathrobes, no sleepers.
The only plus is closeness to the airport (2 km).
Parking at the hotel is 17 euros per night.

Date of stay: January 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Julia P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2018

Stayed 3 nights, midweek on business. Check-In was OK, and large rooms are clean. Breakfast was a standard German buffet. Other facilities were missing. There is no bar or restaurant (except breakfast). But they provide a vending machine with a few sandwiches, and beer / wine / soft drinks. There was no WiFi in the rooms, and only connection available was Telekom, in the lobby at Euro4.95/day. While I was there, they got the hotel WiFi working on the first floor There is no shuttle bus operating (so Euro20 taxi to the airport). The TV in my room was not working properly - I reported it on the first day, but still not working when I checked out. The room was fitted with aircon - but not operational. Parking is available - but Euro16 does not seem great value.
On the plus side, staff are friendly, and there are a couple of restaurants a few 100 metres walk away.
Overall - the hotel will be good when it is finished (around January?), but I would select it only as a "last resort" until then.

Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Tony W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2018

A formerly, Bavarian style, “noble” hotel from the nineties, if the lift does not lie, which they normally don’t do.
Formerly branded Sheraton.
Slowly awakening from a period of sleep.
Clearly, and visibly In transition.
Very nice, and attentive personnel, both reception, as well as breakfast.
Housekeeping is surely good, as rooms, and public spaces are very clean. Corridor carpets though, being old, will never look clean.
Breakfast is fresh and pretty ok, has a limited assortment, but what a typical European breakfast stands for. Crispy croissant, lifts the experience. Coffee is filter, but quite ok. Machine coffee would of course be better. Tee assortment is fine. A small detail for improvement, would of course be fresh orange juice.
Rooms are spacy. Beds and pillows are good, but maybe matrasses a bit soft, for some.
Currently no airport shuttle. This is a disadvantage, not for the cost, but for the risk of experiencing an angry taxi driver, having a relatively short drive.
TV channels, those which work, are all in German language.
Currently no Wifi.
With a bit of cosmetic fix up of this hotel, and correction of airport transport and Wifi, surely this hotel will raise again, to what it surely deserves.

Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank MichaelH15168
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2019 via mobile
Google Translation

Date of stay: May 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
grandexcelsiorhotels, Verkaufsleiter at Grand Excelsior Hotel Munchen Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews