We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A good stopover”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Munich Airport
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Oberding
Glasgow, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A good stopover”
Reviewed December 27, 2013

My dad and I stayed overnight,as our flight arrived in at night making it too late to continue to Austria by train the next morning. The hotel was clean and comfortable, and despite being next to the runway was remarkably quiet. There is a shuttle service available to/from the airport from both terminals at the airport, which costs €5 per person each way (children travel for free).

The hotel offers continental breakfast buffet from 4am until 10am- which is perfect for those catching early morning flights or wish to take a long lie after arriving in late at night! Staff are very friendly.

Would recommend this hotel to anyone who requires to stay overnight at Munich Airport

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas N, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Munich Airport, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
Dear Simone M,

Thank you very much for giving a feedback to Holiday Inn Express Munich Airport.
I am happy to hear that you have been enjoying your stay and that everything went fine for you.

It would be very nice welcoming you again at Holiday Inn Express Munich Airport.
Kind regards,

Thomas Nau
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

923 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    181
    374
    267
    70
    31
See reviews for
228
240
77
290
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Avon, CT
Level Contributor
342 reviews
132 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
Reviewed December 16, 2013

Not too close to the airport (10 minutes away by car), but along the landing path, so pretty loud during airport hours.

Typical HIEx....new, simple. Efficient checkin, clean, functional rooms. Rooms on road side were loud if you tried to sleep with the window open (My room was a ridiculous oven, so I had no choice) as cars, buses, trucks go by with regularity on this busy back road. I stayed a couple days later and had a room on the back of the hotel facing a field that was nice and quiet.

Free wireless for platinum members for multiple devices, free parking for platinum as well. Breakfast is mostly rolls, cereal, yogurt, cold cuts. No other hot food.

I don't like HIEx, overall, but it wasn't bad.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank biztrav123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Munich Airport, responded to this review, January 1, 2014
Dear biztrav123,

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us your feedback. Your comments are highly valuable to us and will assist us in our continuous efforts to maintain and improve the service level we aim for. I am pleased to know that you had a satisfactory stay at our hotel. I appreciate feedback that we receive, whether positive and negative to ensure we provide the best level of service and facilities that we can give to our guests. Thank you again for your review and I hope to have an opportunity of welcoming you back again soon.

Sincerely,

Krysllin G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 13, 2013

It was a nightmare! Definitely will not stay at any of the Holiday Inn Express in the future.
Girl at the reception was prompt at service, I didnt spent much time at the check in. The nightmare started right after check in. I been allocated at the corner room at basement, and part of the hotel is having renovation NEXT to my room. I dont understand how can a reputable hotel arrange a room to your guest when you already know the big renovation is ongoing..Its okay I'm Asian, used of discrimanation especially in Germany. What do you expect me to do? sleep?? Or rest with unbeatable cracking noise? I call reception and request them to stop the work. It was 7pm already.

Next thing, I went for dinner at hotel restaurant. Guess what? For a simple pasta, they made me to wait for 1 HOUR!!!! One hour such a precious for business traveller. If im sitting at city restaurants with crowds I can understand of waiting hour but not with 7 other guests only.
I only ate 10% of the pasta as I cant force myself to finish lousy food been served by reputable hotel. Its totally unacceptable.

I knew I cant sleep well tonight for sure..im too upset to forget what had happen today!

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Geniusneenee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas N, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Munich Airport, responded to this review, December 16, 2013
Dear Geniusneenee,

Thank you for taking time to explain the circumstances happened to you during your stay at Holiday Inn Express Munich Airport.
I am really sorry to hear that you had such a bad stay with us. This sounds absolutely not like the service we are normally used to provide.
I would like to talk about this detailed with you why I am asking you to contact me directly: Thomas.nau@fmhos.com.
I would appreciate hearing of you soon and remain sincerely,

Thomas Nau
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester UK
Level Contributor
101 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed December 13, 2013

This is a lovely Holiday Inn express. All the same as you would expect but the staff really are exceptional. Very helpful with WiFi etc and just seemed very happy to help.

The shuttle bus to the airport cost €5 if you are not an IHG Plat but its very efficient and runs from 4am when I needed to take my flight. Also, they start breakfast at 4am which is very sensible for an airport hotel - I wish others would do the same!

A taxi from the airport cost me €15

Thanks to all the staff!

Room Tip: You are near the runway so ask for a room not facing it
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marraminga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas N, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Munich Airport, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
Dear Marraming,

Thank you very much for taking time to give us such a nice feedback of your stay at Holiday Inn Express Munich Airport.
Thank you for the nice words you found regarding our staff which makes them very happy and gives power keeping on giving the best possible service to our guests.

I am hoping to welcome you again for the next time in Holiday Inn Express Munich Airport.

Kind regards,

Thomas Nau
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manassas, Virginia
Level Contributor
297 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 176 helpful votes
Reviewed December 4, 2013

Germans are known for the punctuality and preciseness. The Holiday Inn Express at the Munich Airport more than lives up to this expectation. The reason for our choosing of this hotel was due to its proximity to the airport but most of all due to the rather inexpensive shuttle service that is offered. The shuttle is 5 Euros per person compared to a Taxi cab that will cost 15-18 Euros per trip.

When making our reservations we noted that the hotel website stated that the shuttle service was not available from 1230-1700. This turned out to not be the case and as we found out the shuttle runs 24 hours a day 7 days a week. If arriving off the S-Bahn Train proceed to Airport Central stop #7 to meet the shuttle at 14 and 15 minutes past the hour. The shuttle picks up and drops off outside Terminals 1 and 2 as well. When booking a room it is recommended to ask the staff to book seat on the shuttle. We rode it several times and each time every seat was full. Getting into downtown Munich from the hotel is easy as all it requires is to return to the airport via the shuttle and hop on the S8 to Marineplatz.

Check in was a breeze and even though we received an upgrade due to our membership the rooms were quite small. The double bed was two beds pushed together but we made due. The room was so modern, clean and efficient it felt wrong to unpack the little items we did. Again due to our membership, internet access was included with the room and a code was issued for each device.

A continental type breakfast is served in the downstairs area and believe it or not it starts at 0430 am. One can tell that this hotel caters to the one night traveler who needs to get in, and get out. The staff is very helpful in effecting this and any and all other needs that may be required. This is not the hotel to stay at if one is traveling with family, especially small children. A bar is also located downstairs next to the main desk area and served two types of beers on tap: a Weiss and a Hell but much to my chagrin, no Dunkel.

Overall we were very impressed with the establishment and would recommended it to others
See you on the trail and remember, don’t be one of “those.”
John Eric

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas N, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Munich Airport, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
Dear John F,

Thank you very much for taking time to really explain everything so detailed.
It was nice reading your statement as I recognize our hotel and the staff and I like to thank you for your small story.
By the way for families there is also the possibility to have connecting rooms which then is really comfortable.
As you have recommended the Holiday Inn Express Munich Airport to others, I would appreciate to welcome you back here also.

Kind regards,

Thomas Nau
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviewed November 30, 2013 via mobile

For a one night airport stay the hotel is clean and comfortable. The rooms are overly warm to sleep in. Had to open the window to keep from baking. There is nothing around the hotel to see or do. The entire staff was pleasant and friendly. The food was adequate. We drank beer in the lounge until bed time and paid the bill in the morning. 5 euros for the shuttle seemed fine.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Lacacia2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas N, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Munich Airport, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
Dear Lacacia2,

Thank you very much for taking time to give a statement to your stay in Holiday Inn Express Munich Airport.
Our staff will be very happy to read such nice words and so will our housekeeping team do.
Furthermore I like to say sorry for the warm room but the makes it difficult for us this winter as it has been very cold first and after that it already seems to be spring.

I would suggest coming back here in summer as Germany is very nice then and I would appreciate welcoming you again in Holiday Inn Express Munich Airport.

Kind regards,

Thomas Nau
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Level Contributor
271 reviews
255 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 194 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2013

Stayed one night at the Munich Airport Holiday Inn.

Overall it was a pleasant stay. The property is about an 8 minute drive from the airport to the hotel. Just follows the signs to Schwaig (the town the hotel is in) and you will not have a problem spotting the hotel.

Things I liked about the hotel
+ Free, Fast WIFI
+ Room was simple but well laid out
+ Free Breakfast
+ Breakfast starting at 0400

Things I disliked:
- Parking costing 8 Euros ($10 USD) for a simple and small outside parking
- Tried to get my invoice upon check out, but the "computer was not working"

Overall: I would stay here again, and thought it was value for money

Room Tip: Book a room away from the elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mcmurrytravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas N, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Munich Airport, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
Dear mcmurrytr,

Thank you very much for taking time to give a short explanation to your stay in Holiday Inn Express Munich Airport.
I am happy to hear that you have been able to enjoy your stay and I like to thank you for your feedback.
I would appreciate welcoming you again in Holiday Inn Express Munich Airport.

Kind regards,

Thomas Nau
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oberding
2.1 mi away
Hilton Munich Airport
Hilton Munich Airport
#36 of 383 in Munich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,234 reviews
3.4 mi away
Novotel Muenchen Airport
0.5 mi away
MOXY Munich Airport
MOXY Munich Airport
#2 of 4 in Schwaig
4.0 of 5 bubbles 242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Moevenpick Hotel Munchen Airport
0.5 mi away
NH Muenchen Airport
NH Muenchen Airport
#1 of 4 in Schwaig
3.5 of 5 bubbles 799 reviews
4.2 mi away
Ibis Muenchen Airport Sued
Ibis Muenchen Airport Sued
#2 of 10 in Hallbergmoos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Munich Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Munich Airport

Property: Holiday Inn Express Munich Airport
Address: Freisinger Str. 94, 85445, Oberding, Bavaria, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Oberding
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Oberding
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Munich Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 177
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Munich Airport Hotel is ideally located near the Business Park Hallbergmoos and a mere 4km from Munich International Airport (MUC) - a 5 minute drive with the recommended hotel shuttle service (charge 8 per room / max 2 adults, 2 kids).The hotel is a convenient location for guests visiting Munichs international exhibition centre Neue Messe München (ICM) as it is accessible by car within 45 minutes.It offers 150 modern non smoking, air-conditioned bedrooms equipped with flat screen tv and a variety of international channels, high speed Wifi internet connectivity, hairdryer and tea/coffee making facilities.Are you booked on an early flight? The extensive cold buffet breakfast is available from 04 a.m. It is complimentary for all guests.The Holiday Inn Express Munich Airport Hotel provides a full service bar with 50inch flat screen tv, a comfortable lounge area and air conditioning as well as high speed Wireless Internet access throughout the hotel.With the business executive in mind, our exceptional conference facilities accommodate between 2-60 persons and benefit from natural daylight and high ceilings. Hot & cold buffet lunches are available to our conference guests in the lounge area.On-site car parking with 120 lots and direct access to the hotel is available for your convenience. All bedrooms and public areas are non smoking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Munich Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Munich Airport Hotel Schwaig
Holiday Inn Express Schwaig
Holiday Inn Schwaig
Schwaig Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Express Munich Airport Germany/Oberding

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing