We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient and new”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Munich Airport
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Oberding
Daytona Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
50 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Convenient and new”
Reviewed September 14, 2013

I had an early am flight from Munich and didn't want to risk a traffic problem coming from the city. The Holiday Inn is a new hotel with nicely appointed and business like rooms as well as a nice bar and restaurant. The staff was helpful and the drive to the airport is only about 10 minutes. The hotel does not have their own shuttle but has a service that runs frequently. I was returning a rental car so this was unnecessary for me. Overall very good experience.

Room Tip: The room numbers are really done at random, be careful when finding your room for the first time.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank flightresource
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas N, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Munich Airport, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Dear Flightresource,

first of all we like to thank for taking time to discribe your good experiences of our hotel.
We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay and of course we hope to welcome you again, when you will be the next time in Munich.

Kind regards,

Thomas Nau
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

946 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    184
    380
    279
    71
    32
See reviews for
235
247
80
294
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2013

We stayed here based on trip advisor reviews. The shuttle and the location are perfect for a quick overnight stay. The rooms are small but what does it matter if you are staying only one night. The beds leave something to be desired. There is AC so that's a bonus.

We had drinks in the evening, there was not enough people working. There were two guys and they were scrambling to keep up.

The breakfast is very good.

You pay 6 euro for wifi which is fine. I didn't care too much about that however once you pay it's not transferable to other devices!!! That is ridiculous. So I paid for wifi on my phone but my husband couldn't use that same password for his phone. That is beyond irritating and unnecessary.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Natasha2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas N, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Munich Airport, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Dear Natash,

thank you for explaining some things about our hotel.
We are happy to hear taht your stay was very well and things did work well.

Ragarding the WiFi problem, i unfortunately have to tell you that due to technical reasons, it is not possible in the moment to use one acces for two devices.

We would be very happy, if you will also choose us for the next time.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mead, Washington
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Room was nice for the price for a quick overnight before our flight home. Ours had recently been updated. Breakfast was included and good - European style. We did have to pay total of 20 Euros for airport transfers & wifi was extra, but I was aware of these things, thanks to Tripadvisor reviews - but still the price seemed good when I compared to other airport hotels. We walked to an Italian restaurant that was quite good (about 5 minutes away).

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dirkskm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas N, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Munich Airport, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Dear Ms,

thank you very much for taking time, to share your impressions of Holiday Express Munich Airport.
I am glad to hear that you felt well and almost everything has been well, especially our breakfast.
We would appreciate to welcome you again on one of your next trips to Europe.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampton, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2013

My wife and I are very disappointed in the management at the Holiday Inn Express at the Munich Airport, Schwaig, in Germany. We booked two nights there over a month ago...two weeks ago our daughter in law, who was to travel with us, was killed in an automobile accident in new hampshire, usa. a week later I came down with stress induced shingles. A terrible terrible time. We of course cancelled our trip which was to encompass 17 days. The management at the Holiday Inn Express was very cool to our cancellation...Positively no refund of any kind he said. Even if we sent a death certificate and any other information they'd need. Simply as good business I would expect that they would do something for us. No. When we rebook our trip in the near future we won't be planning to stay there. It just seems like rotten public relations to me.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NeilMack_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Munich Airport, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Dear NeilMack_11,

We would like to look into this further for you. Please email IHGCare@ihg.com referencing your TripAdvisor username with your IHG reservation confirmation number and your contact information for follow up.

Regards,
Brenda J.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Oberding hotels

russia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2013

The staff was very friendly, we booked the family room (2 adults, 2 children) was clean and had a very good value for money, even if it was a little shabby. 4 stars is not the hotel in this area. The breakfast is simple but adequate.

Room Tip: Upper floors are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alexi7777777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hawaii
Level Contributor
93 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2013

I stayed at this hotel on the way to France on business. My first flight arrived late, and my connection was next morning. I called reception from arrivals (had only hand luggage) and they told me a shuttle was on its way. Quickly the shuttle filled up and we were on our way. The hotel is very near the airport, relatively new with nice confortable rooms. There was a very nice shower, two types of pillows (firm and soft) and quiet. TV had many channels. The bar/restaurant is nice and when I asked for peanuts to accompany my beer, I received a huge bowl of them.

As a frequent guest of IHG (the group that owns Holiday Inn and many other hotels) I received free wi-fi. This should be free to ALL guests. Guests pay for a room, which should always include free wifi in 2013.

But what made me give this hotel only two stars, was that this AIRPORT hotel charges for airport transfers for the 4km ride (2.6mile) ride from and to the airport. An airport hotel that doesn't have a free shuttle?

OK, I understand that this is a franchise and individual hotel owners decide many things, but I recommend that Holiday Inn management take a stand and clearly recommend to all their property owners that wifi and hotel transfers be free (this is the only airport hotel in the world that I know that charges for airport transfers).

Of course if you dont need wi-fi and don't care about the shuttle costs, this is a fine hotel to stay. Pleasant and quiet.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank petervee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Munich Airport, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Dear petervee,

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us your feedback. Your comments are highly valuable to us and will assist us in our continuous efforts to maintain and improve the service level we aim for. I am pleased to know that you had a satisfactory stay at our hotel and apologize for the shortfalls you have encountered. I appreciate feedback that we receive, whether positive and negative to ensure we provide the best level of service and facilities that we can give to our guests. Thank you again for your review and I hope to have an opportunity of welcoming you back again soon.

Sincerely,

Krysllin G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rishon Le Zion, HaMerkaz, Israel
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2013

We stayed at the hotel for one night before a flight
Its a quiet and clean hotel, close to the local sport center (5 mins walking, football required if you are with children) and only 2 mins from the airport

Small pricing detail I wasn't aware of were parking which costs 8 euros or using a shuttle to the airport for 5 euro per person

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Assaf L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oberding
3.4 mi away
Novotel Muenchen Airport
2.1 mi away
Hilton Munich Airport
Hilton Munich Airport
#32 of 383 in Munich
2,282 reviews
0.5 mi away
MOXY Munich Airport
MOXY Munich Airport
#2 of 4 in Schwaig
261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
NH Muenchen Airport
NH Muenchen Airport
#1 of 4 in Schwaig
821 reviews
4.2 mi away
Moevenpick Hotel Munchen Airport
4.2 mi away
Ibis Muenchen Airport Sued
Ibis Muenchen Airport Sued
#2 of 10 in Hallbergmoos
80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Munich Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Munich Airport

Property: Holiday Inn Express Munich Airport
Address: Freisinger Str. 94, 85445, Oberding, Bavaria, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Oberding
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Oberding
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Munich Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 177
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Munich Airport Hotel is ideally located near the Business Park Hallbergmoos and a mere 4km from Munich International Airport (MUC) - a 5 minute drive with the recommended hotel shuttle service (charge 8 per room / max 2 adults, 2 kids).The hotel is a convenient location for guests visiting Munichs international exhibition centre Neue Messe München (ICM) as it is accessible by car within 45 minutes.It offers 150 modern non smoking, air-conditioned bedrooms equipped with flat screen tv and a variety of international channels, high speed Wifi internet connectivity, hairdryer and tea/coffee making facilities.Are you booked on an early flight? The extensive cold buffet breakfast is available from 04 a.m. It is complimentary for all guests.The Holiday Inn Express Munich Airport Hotel provides a full service bar with 50inch flat screen tv, a comfortable lounge area and air conditioning as well as high speed Wireless Internet access throughout the hotel.With the business executive in mind, our exceptional conference facilities accommodate between 2-60 persons and benefit from natural daylight and high ceilings. Hot & cold buffet lunches are available to our conference guests in the lounge area.On-site car parking with 120 lots and direct access to the hotel is available for your convenience. All bedrooms and public areas are non smoking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, IHG, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Munich Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Munich Airport Hotel Schwaig
Holiday Inn Express Schwaig
Holiday Inn Schwaig
Schwaig Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Express Munich Airport Germany/Oberding

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing