We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Holiday Inn Express Munich airport”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Munich Airport
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Oberding
Exeter NH
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Holiday Inn Express Munich airport”
Reviewed March 18, 2013

This holiday inn is convenient to the airport and has parking so that you can take public transportation into the city. We were advised by locals to avoid driving in Munich because public transportation is easiest. The staff was very helpful with directions and spoke English, so that we were very able to get around with the shuttle and the train system. The breakfast was substantial with hard boled eggs, fruits, cereals, cold meats and fresh breads and pastries, along with a coffee/ espresso maker and juices. The room was very clean. the only negative about the experience was that the bed was too firm for me and I am used to firm. Rest of the experience was a plus.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank imager48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MUCAP, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Munich Airport, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Dear Imager48,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a positive review about your stay here at the Holiday Inn Express Munich Airport! We hope to welcome you back soon.

Kind regards
Arndt Writzel, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

964 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    186
    390
    283
    72
    33
See reviews for
243
247
81
301
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2013

Friendly check in where everyone spoke very good English. Spotlessly clean.Comfortable room although not terribly large. No english TV channels. There was some aircraft noise but it didn't continue all night and only started up again at 6am I think. I slept through it no problem, no worse than cars on a nearby road. Internet was an additional fee as was the shuttle to the airport (E5). If you need an early morning shuttle you also need to book your space. When you arrive at the airport unless it is morning or evening 'rush hour ' you will need to call the hotel to get the shuttle to pick you up. Buffet breakfast had a good selection and all the staff were friendly, polite and English speaking. Other than a few other hotels and houses absolutely nothing within walking distance

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank UKSarahAtlanta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MUCAP, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Munich Airport, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Dear UKSarahAtlanta,

Thank you very much for your positive review. We are happy to read that you liked our property and services!

A few hints regarding your comments:
* We do have some English channels, such as CNN, BBC and 2 movie channels. Not sure why you were not able to watch them. Would you please be able to indicate your room number? (my email is arndt@fmhos.com)
* There is usually no air traffic between midnight and 5am. However, windows are double glazed and noise should not be an issue.
* The shuttle commutes between the hotel and the airport pretty much non-stop, except between noon and 5pm when you need to call the hotel.

Kind regards
Arndt Writzel, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glenrothes, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
97 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2013

Stayed here one night to catch flight in the morning.
Staff were extremely helpfull, explaining where to go for flights and best shuttle bus to catch.
Rooms were clean and fresh, had a good nights sleep, no noise.
Breakfast was plain but good

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hambones64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MUCAP, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Munich Airport, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Dear hambones64,

Happy to see you liked your stay with us here in Schwaig. Thank you for your positive review!

Kind regards
Arndt Writzel, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2013

I stayed here overnight between flights.

The room was your standard fare Holiday Inn Express – working desk, WiFi, comfortable bed. Comfortable, but not exciting – which is all I was looking for in my room.

Most impressive to me was the sound proofing. Multiple times I saw a plane come in overheard out the window, and I could not hear a sound with the window closed. Window open, it was near deafening – but closed, silence. This was highly appreciated.

I ate a pizza from the bar, which was tasty. Reasonably priced for a hotel bar at 7 Euros, plus 2 Euros for a Coke – high, but normal for hotels, right? While they do not do room service, they agreed to call me back down to pick-up, which was convenient. The bar area can get very full with other travelers, especially on weekends as tour groups go through. Be patient!

WiFi is free for Priority Club – which is also free, so there is no reason to not be a member. The shuttle costs 5 Euro each way, but compared to a taxi, that seems like a bargain. But DO NOT be late – it irritates your fellow passengers and the drivers, especially in inclement weather.

The staff was friendly and supportive, and I think that is what I will remember the most about this hotel.

Room Tip: All the rooms seem pretty similar, but make sure to be away from the elevators - people are always l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JBry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MUCAP, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Munich Airport, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Hello JBry,

Many thanks for your detailled review! We hope to see you back here in Schwaig.

Best wishes
Arndt Writzel, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heraklion, Iraklion, Greece
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2013

I had to stay there for a stopover since the my flight was for the next day.It is located in the middle of nowhere and the best place to visit is maybe the small town of Erding.(8 km).
Average breakfast and you have to pay for the parking.That i found unacceptable.Plus the fact that you have to pay for Internet too.
The free internet corner was too growdy and the PC where in the German language!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Panta N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MUCAP, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Munich Airport, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Dear FotisPanta,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel although you seem to have had your issues when staying here. Sad, as I am sure we could have overcome any language difficulties at the business corner PCs. Internet would have been free of charge if joining our loyalty programm PRIORITY CLUB too.

Thank you for choosing Holiday Inn Express.

Kind regards
Arndt Writzel, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hitchin, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2013

Booked for an overnight stay before flying out. Arrived to a very friendly and helpful reception desk staff which was welcome after a long drive. The Hotel was very clean and modern and the bedroom well prep'd - nice bathroom. Wasn't expecting a restaurant which had a good selection of beer and a freshly made pizza's which were delicious - another nice surprise as my son is very picky when it comes to food. Bedroom was normal size for the price (ie double bed with bathroom off entrance hall and space for a sofabed), but 5 stars for overall value for money.

Room Tip: Book early to get a room away from the elevator and not facing the road - keeps noise to a minimum...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Matthew T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MUCAP, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Munich Airport, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Dear MatthewT,

Great, many thanks for your positive review. Our pizzaiolo Cipi will love hearing that you and your son liked his pizza.

Best wishes
Arndt Writzel, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2013

Our niece booked a party of 30 at this hotel for her wedding in Munich. Firstly we had no idea what to expect as it was a surprise but we were so impressed. I travel a lot with business so have stayed in hotels all over the world and I must say this was the friendliest and cleanest hotel I have stayed in. The rooms were spotless, the showers powerful and very comfortable beds. The only thing was the pillows were a bit flat so not so comfortable for people with shoulder problems. I sufficed using 2 pillows. The hotel does give you a firm and a soft pillow which is a nice touch. I am sure housekeeping and reception would have helped had I asked for more pillows.

If there was any extra noise during the 15-17th Feb 13 - we apologise to guests :( The wedding party was rather excited and I believe this is not something the hotel caters for regularly so was a one off. They did an amazing job and accommodated our needs fully - Thank you. The only thing I would suggest to the hotel would be to place large parties on the same end of a floor and not scattered as we were which effects other guests.

Hotel location is great if you need to stay near the hotel ( they have a great meeting room for business users) however if you are visiting Munich for tourist reasons - 45 mins-1 hour from the centre.

Like other travellers we had several options for transportation to the hotel which is only 5 minutes away - a taxi for up to 4 people was 16 euros and for an 8 seater for 5-8 people was 25 euros. A shuttle 5 euros per person. We were a party of 8 so the 8 seater taxi was the best option. Travelling into Munich centre you had 3 options - a bus which is a long journey. A train - get the shuttle back to the airport ( where you can also use lockers to store luggage if you have checked out and have a late flight and want to do some sight seeing). A travel rail card for the day is 10 euros per person and is 45 minutes - 1 hour into the city from the airport. Taxi is 75 euros for up to 8 people. Ensure you ask for the larger taxi or they will send you 2 -4 seaters and you will pay 75 euros per taxi.

The hotel has a filling buffet breakfast which is served very generously. Pastries, boiled eggs, toast cereals, yogurts etc.

If in Munich a must try is the beer halls and meat dishes. Be careful if ordering wieners! they were glorified hotdogs served with 2 slices of bread - very disappointing. The beer is amazing as expected and the pastries to die for. You must try the sandwiches from the bakeries the bread and fillings are amazing. There was a lot of snow but the streets are gritted very well. Wear good and appropriate shoes because the snow was literally everywhere.

Overall a fantastic weekend and we will certainly come back to Munich and complete our trip - The weekend was busy with the wedding so not much sigh seeing.

Room Tip: The view at the back of the hotel is really nice we were room 102
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ruari888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MUCAP, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Munich Airport, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Hello Ruari888,

Thank you for your detailled review. I have shared your report with all employees who assisted during your stay and they are happy that you had a good time when staying with us. We hope to see you back.

Best regards
Arndt Writzel, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oberding
3.4 mi away
Novotel Muenchen Airport
2.1 mi away
Hilton Munich Airport
Hilton Munich Airport
#30 of 382 in Munich
2,330 reviews
0.5 mi away
MOXY Munich Airport
MOXY Munich Airport
#1 of 4 in Schwaig
277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
NH Muenchen Airport
NH Muenchen Airport
#2 of 4 in Schwaig
838 reviews
4.2 mi away
Moevenpick Hotel Munchen Airport
4.2 mi away
Ibis Muenchen Airport Sued
Ibis Muenchen Airport Sued
#2 of 10 in Hallbergmoos
83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Munich Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Munich Airport

Property: Holiday Inn Express Munich Airport
Address: Freisinger Str. 94, 85445, Oberding, Bavaria, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Oberding
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Oberding
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Munich Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 177
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Munich Airport Hotel is ideally located near the Business Park Hallbergmoos and a mere 4km from Munich International Airport (MUC) - a 5 minute drive with the recommended hotel shuttle service (charge 8 per room / max 2 adults, 2 kids).The hotel is a convenient location for guests visiting Munichs international exhibition centre Neue Messe München (ICM) as it is accessible by car within 45 minutes.It offers 150 modern non smoking, air-conditioned bedrooms equipped with flat screen tv and a variety of international channels, high speed Wifi internet connectivity, hairdryer and tea/coffee making facilities.Are you booked on an early flight? The extensive cold buffet breakfast is available from 04 a.m. It is complimentary for all guests.The Holiday Inn Express Munich Airport Hotel provides a full service bar with 50inch flat screen tv, a comfortable lounge area and air conditioning as well as high speed Wireless Internet access throughout the hotel.With the business executive in mind, our exceptional conference facilities accommodate between 2-60 persons and benefit from natural daylight and high ceilings. Hot & cold buffet lunches are available to our conference guests in the lounge area.On-site car parking with 120 lots and direct access to the hotel is available for your convenience. All bedrooms and public areas are non smoking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Munich Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Munich Airport Hotel Schwaig
Holiday Inn Express Schwaig
Holiday Inn Schwaig
Schwaig Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Express Munich Airport Germany/Oberding

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing