We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Overnight to catch early flight”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Munich Airport
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Oberding
Gothenburg, Sweden
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Overnight to catch early flight”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2012

At best an OK hotel. It was hard to find the hotel from the airport. No signs to follow. The restaurant in the hotel was very slow, food OK but a little expensive.

On the positive side - you essentially get what you pay for: beds, breakfast and reasonably close to the airport (about 5 km/3 mi from terminal).

Would not use this hotel for anything else but transfer stays or to sleep over to catch an early flight. But for this purpose it works OK.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nrdlnd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MUCAP, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Munich Airport, responded to this review, February 28, 2012
Dear Nrdlnd,

thank you very much for your critical review. I have shared your experience in the restaurant with our staff in order to improve services.

Thank you and kind regards

Arndt Writzel & Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

910 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    179
    369
    261
    70
    31
See reviews for
227
237
77
284
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reggio Calabria, Italy
Level Contributor
38 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2012

I was rather sceptical as my company booked this hotel for me, as privately I usualy stay in upscale hotels.
However, after they very quickly answered my mail I was somehow reasuered.
Shuttle in the early afternoon is on demand, but as I called they sent it right away to pick me up. Check in was quick and efficient, Susanne very friendly. The respected my wish and their promise to give me big room with frenche bad.
Rooms are newly furnished. The only thing I realy missed was in room bar and a real wardrobe. Bathroom is ok, missing some fine toiletteries, but OK. What I find very from hotel that they provide you free of charge tooth paste and brush, razor etc. Once I had to pay for this stuff at the Novotel!!!!
Internet is fast, costs 6 € for one day what I find acceptable. Internet on the reception is free and Zoltan was very helpfull as I had some printing issues.
Again check in was very effective. 3 persons at the front desk you don't see some times at 5*.
Some minor issue was quickly setled with Manuela.
I think this hotel is an excellent choise for price conciouss travelers who just need to stay one night between two flights and look for a friendly and clean hotel.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cap_nemo_hr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MUCAP, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Munich Airport, responded to this review, February 28, 2012
Dear Cap_Nemo_Hr,

thank you very much for your positive review. I like reading your story because your stay experience is similar to those of many other corporate travellers when staying with us for the first time: They end up liking the brand because we have focused our services. There is no minibar in the room and yes, we do not provide fine toilettries. But you end up with a better price.

Thank you and kind regards,

Arndt Writzel & Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dhahran, Saudi Arabia
Level Contributor
55 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2012

Friendly and helpfull staff. We were given a room with a double bed and a sofa bed as there was 3 of us. Our room was at the back and we were able to wave at the pilots on their approach, plus there was noise from the lift and the room was bit cramped for 3 adults with our luggage, but it was only for one night. Room as clean and well equiped and our rate included buffet breakfast which was nice. You have to pay 8 Euro to park which I thought was disapointing. There are a few places to eat nearby, but you need transport. Staff were able to give good directions and recommendations. They also let us put some food in their fridge. Its about a 10 min drive to the airport and you pass a petrol station on the way (in case you need to fill your hire car).

Room Tip: Our room was at the back and we were able to wave at the pilots on their approach, plus there was no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StuInSaudi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MUCAP, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Munich Airport, responded to this review, February 28, 2012
Dear Stuln Saudi,

thank you very much for your review. Please make sure to tell us your room preference in advance your next time around so that we can assign a more suitable room accordingly. All windows in the hotel are double glazed and keep out noise well. However, the southern wing is a bit better for light sleepers.

Thank you and kind regards

Arndt Writzel & team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2012

I have stayed at the HIEX Munich Airport multiple times already and felt a review is over-due.
Location is great- just minutes away from the airport and public transportation into the city; the price is unbeatable; the breakfast is exactly what you need to get ready to enjoy your day and the staff is absolutely marvelous.
Every time I got in, I was warmly welcomed by any staff member in English and German... the room was always ready for check in, even if I was a bit early for check in time.
What I truly love about this hotel: everybody does everything. You could be checked in by agent a, the same agent will bring you an iron & ironing board if you need it, the same agent may pour your beer from the cozy bar that opens in the afternoon and the same employee may check you out the next morning.
Working in hospitality myself, I can absolutely say that this hotel is a true gem at the airport.
I will definitely be back soon for some more German travels.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jules S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MUCAP, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Munich Airport, responded to this review, February 28, 2012
Dear Jules S,

thank you very much for your very positive review. We truely appreciate reading that you like the way we run our business.

Thank you and kind regards

Arndt Writzel & team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
57 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2012

This hotel is near both an airport and a gas station (great for rentals). For 8 euro, you can park your car in private parking. The staff is helpful and pleasant. They answered all my questions patiently even though they were busy. This hotel is wonderful for those ridiculously early morning flights.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Colorado_Traveler_98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MUCAP, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Munich Airport, responded to this review, February 28, 2012
Dear Colorado_Traveler_98,

thank you very much for your positive review. True enough our property is a great choice for those early morning flights, providing the earliest shuttle service (4am) of all airport hotels.

Thank you and hope to see you back.

Kind regards,
Arndt Writzel & Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, NC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2012

This truly is a gem of a hotel for anybody just needing a stopover between continents. Conveniently located near the Munich Airport, my wife and I found prompt, courteous and friendly service from the moment we stepped onto the shuttle bus during our stay January 23rd, 2012. The Front Desk was most helpful, especially with their directions on how to get to Erding by bus and the wonderful WeissBrau restaurant for a traditional German meal of sausages, cabbage, duck and BEER...fantastic Erdinger beer (the Weissbrau is owned by the Brewery). Finally, the buffet breakfast was plentiful, of good variety and delicious. Can't wait for our next layover at Munich International and this hotel !

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
montreal qc
Level Contributor
28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2012

My wife and I travelled to Munich in December 2011. Our flight from Montreal arrived at 9:45AM. The hotel check -in is at 2:00PM. Our email request for an early check-in was very promptly handled by the General Manager Arndt Writzel. Our room was ready when we arrived. The hotel even kept the breakfast service open which normally closes at 11:00 AM.

The location is not far from the airport and the hotel shuttle bus service efficient and economical (about CAN$ 12 for two of us). The front desk staff was extremely friendly and the room very clean and tidy. We only stayed during the day since our flight to Joburg was at 8:00 PM the same day.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IKI1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MUCAP, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Munich Airport, responded to this review, January 23, 2012
Dear IKI1,

thank you very much for your positive review. We hope to see back here at the Holiday Inn Express your next time around.

Thank you and kind regards,
Arndt Writzel & team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oberding
2.1 mi away
Hilton Munich Airport
Hilton Munich Airport
#35 of 382 in Munich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,193 reviews
3.4 mi away
Novotel Muenchen Airport
0.5 mi away
MOXY Munich Airport
MOXY Munich Airport
#2 of 4 in Schwaig
4.0 of 5 bubbles 224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Moevenpick Hotel Munchen Airport
0.5 mi away
NH Muenchen Airport
NH Muenchen Airport
#1 of 4 in Schwaig
3.5 of 5 bubbles 781 reviews
4.2 mi away
Ibis Muenchen Airport Sued
Ibis Muenchen Airport Sued
#3 of 10 in Hallbergmoos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Munich Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Munich Airport

Property: Holiday Inn Express Munich Airport
Address: Freisinger Str. 94, 85445, Oberding, Bavaria, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Oberding
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Oberding
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Munich Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 177
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Munich Airport Hotel is ideally located near the Business Park Hallbergmoos and a mere 4km from Munich International Airport (MUC) - a 5 minute drive with the recommended hotel shuttle service (charge 8 per room / max 2 adults, 2 kids).The hotel is a convenient location for guests visiting Munichs international exhibition centre Neue Messe München (ICM) as it is accessible by car within 45 minutes.It offers 150 modern non smoking, air-conditioned bedrooms equipped with flat screen tv and a variety of international channels, high speed Wifi internet connectivity, hairdryer and tea/coffee making facilities.Are you booked on an early flight? The extensive cold buffet breakfast is available from 04 a.m. It is complimentary for all guests.The Holiday Inn Express Munich Airport Hotel provides a full service bar with 50inch flat screen tv, a comfortable lounge area and air conditioning as well as high speed Wireless Internet access throughout the hotel.With the business executive in mind, our exceptional conference facilities accommodate between 2-60 persons and benefit from natural daylight and high ceilings. Hot & cold buffet lunches are available to our conference guests in the lounge area.On-site car parking with 120 lots and direct access to the hotel is available for your convenience. All bedrooms and public areas are non smoking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, IHG, Orbitz, Hotwire, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Munich Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Munich Airport Hotel Schwaig
Holiday Inn Express Schwaig
Holiday Inn Schwaig
Schwaig Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Express Munich Airport Germany/Oberding

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing