We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice breakfast and lunch.”

The Merricks General Store
Reserve with
The Merricks General Store is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #2 of 4 Restaurants in Merricks
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $45
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations
Description: Authentic country charm with delicious food and welcoming staff this tin and timber shed is a destination not to be missed. The Merricks General Wine Store is a Peninsula icon established in 1924. Today it serves as the Cellar Door for Baillieu, Elgee Park and Quealy wines. The French inspired seasonal menu on offer for breakfast and lunch can be enjoyed by discerning tourist and locals 7 days a week. Customers are able to dine at table, taste wines by the open fire, on the sea view deck or under the vines whilst experiencing the rustic country atmosphere of this charming heritage building.
Shoreham, Australia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Nice breakfast and lunch.”
Reviewed February 10, 2013

We always enjoy Merrick General Store, very reliable for breakfast and lunch. Can get busy on weekends so bookings can avoid dissappointment.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank martin and chri... d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

245 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    110
    93
    25
    7
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
“Excellent”
Reviewed February 9, 2013

We discovered Merricks General Store by accident some months back and now enjoy one of their fantastic breakfasts as a monthly treat! The staff are wonderful and friendly - the food is great. Highly recommended.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Wayne A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somers, Australia
Level Contributor
57 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Staff rude”
Reviewed February 5, 2013

Staff not welcoming to us as we only had coffee and cake when the place was buzzing with Yuppies from town

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank Pippinlou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
284 reviews
158 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
“Nice atmosphere, good food and children friendly.”
Reviewed January 25, 2013

I went there with some girlfriends and their kids. It had a nice feeling about it, fairly casual and organic. They also sell local products in the general store. You can sit inside or outdoors. There is a big parking place out the back and a small car park out the front.
For the older kids, there is a small garden on the
side of the general store where the kids played a bit, visible through big panels of windows.The food was lovely, I had the local mussels in a chilly tomato based broth, served with a side bucket of chips. Alcohol is available with a meal... Since it is in a wine region. Also a nice choice on the menu for kids... Toasted ham and cheese sandwich is available for the kids.
The staff were friendly and accommodating.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank brettnjess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Worth the drive”
Reviewed January 15, 2013

Our sencond time at Merricks was as good as the first! They were so accommodating to our kids the first time around, seating us outside on a sunny day and giving us plenty of space for the kids to, well, be kids! They happily brought us extra paper for the kids to draw on, and we were able to actually relax for a while with a delicious charcuterie and glass of local wine. They make some amazing pickles and jams that you can buy to take away, and have a great selection of local wines available to taste and then buy a glass or a bottle. We will absolutely be back soon, whenever we can get down the Peninsula!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Alexia_R81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Merricks General Store also viewed

Main Ridge, Mornington Peninsula
Red Hill, Mornington Peninsula
 
Red Hill, Mornington Peninsula
Red Hill, Mornington Peninsula
 
Main Ridge, Mornington Peninsula
Hastings, Mornington Peninsula
 

Been to The Merricks General Store? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing