We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Too expensive”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mt Eliza
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Morning Star Estate
Ranked #2 of 4 Mt Eliza B&B and Inns
Alice Springs, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Too expensive”
Reviewed December 23, 2012

No reception service, no tv reception, could hear plates being stacked through the wall, dirty towel, noise from cool room below room, communal spa cold-not working and dirty. Maybe a review of price is needed!
Would not recommend! It's the unfunny version of Fawlty Towers!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Doug S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    17
    9
    6
    13
See reviews for
12
23
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Level Contributor
132 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2012

Where are all the great reviews on this wonderful establishment. The restaurant is first class with the service only found in top restaurants.

There were four of us including our 5 year old daughter who was well catered for. The entrees we had 1 x scallops and 2 x mixed entree were fantastic.

Then the mains were to die for. I had the trout which was succulent and tasty with fennel which i love. Just a gorgeous combination. The others had the lamb and stated they couldnt wait to come back and have it all again. The Ricketts point icecream just topped it off for me.

The view of the vineyards was a lovely backdrop on a wonderful afternoon. I also loved their 2005 SHiraz, so I bought several bottles. Do yourself a favour and do the same. Enjoy!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kimbo66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2012

We stayed at Morning Star after an engagement party nearby. The double room was small, which did not really worry us as we were only there for one night, but if you are planning to stay longer and have a lot of luggage, it could get a little squishy.

That was really the only issue - the propery's gardens, which overlook the ocean, are superb and worthy of a morning stroll before breakfast (which started at 9am).

The self-service is fantastic if you are in a hurry - no waiting.

The breakfast buffet was great, with plenty of hot and cold food on offer. The wines weren't half bad either!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Schmoopys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerville
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2012

Since the day we first enquired about having our wedding at Morning Star we have experienced nothing but excellent customer service.
Considering the large amount of weddings the venue has every year, Leah has always made us feel like we are the only couple she is organising a wedding for.
Whenever we visit the estate staff have gone out of their way to answer our questions or even just to say hello :)
We have hit the jackpot - breathtakingly beautiful venue, with friendly first class service!!
Morning Star - Keep up the great work, we can't wait to celebrate and share our special day with you all in October!!!

Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Kristy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MELBOURNE
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2012

I felt compelled to write my own review after stumbling across reviews of the Estate on Google and was amazed to see some negative ones.

I live near Morning Star and have been twice for lunch; once for mother's day with my wife and daughter and, once with two friends and their daughter.

Both times I have found the food and the service to be absolutely outstanding. The first time we went, the food was so good I Facebooked the attached photo of my main meal.

The second time was just as good with excellent service from everyone there. The Maitre D was particularly fantastic and great with our kids - as all the staff were. No one minded my daughter checking the restaurant out and all were careful when around her.

I love the venue itself - overlooking the sea and the vineyard. I can't think of a venue with a better view or grounds in Victoria.

But the food is to die for.

My mum comes next week and we'll be taking her then too!

Just to be clear - my review is of the restaurant. I can't comment on the hotel but based on my experience of the restaurant, I would stay at the hotel at the drop-of-a-hat. I love the venue and the restaurant and would expect the hotel to be of the same quality.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank declanpr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 16, 2012

My partner had taken me here for dinner last saturday night, and it was an amazing night! The food was delicious and well presented, service was impecable - warm, welcoming and accomodating, and the ambience was ideal for a cosy and comfortable dinning restaurant. 10/10 Morning Star Estate! Good Work we will be back very soon!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Trent M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2012

Don't get me wrong, the venue itself is gorgeous. The grounds are spectacular! BUT - I had my wedding here in February and the service was absolutely SHOCKING! The accomodation is run by one company, the restaurant is owned by another separate company, and there are too many "managers" and "owners". Complete, complete lack of communication!

The lady (Pam) who works at the front desk cannot assist or help you with anything, since EVERYTHING is outsourced. Throughout the entire wedding planning process, every person we dealt with did not want responsibility and kept passing us over to the next person! I did not realize that all aspects of the company were run by totally different parties & there was no accountability or communication!!! It was extremely, extremely frustrating! We waited on average about 2 weeks for a reply to an email, and around 1 week for them to return a phone call.

It seemed like the only time they were so quick to reply is when our bill was due for payment. Sad, but very very true.

They provide you with a floor plan for your wedding set up, which I made up and sent back months before the wedding - which they confirmed all was OK - then, the DAY BEFORE the wedding, she informed me that it all had to be changed due to "council regulations". Obviously she did not take the time to look at what I had been sending or she would have realized this sooner!!! Even more frustrating: I had based ALL my wedding decorations around the floor plan I'd created.

They also told me MONTHS BEFORE the wedding, (and after getting the 'ok' from one of the "managers") that since our function had booked all the hotel rooms, we could have access to the Chardonnay room the next morning for breakfast for all our guests. They then told me 4 days before the wedding that if I still wanted to go ahead with this, I would have to pay $700 since it would be treated as a separate event. I had already printed this info on my invitations!!!!

Another thing I need to mention: our wedding was at 3:30pm and they kept the restaurant open for lunch service, but didn't tell us!! So I had organized my DJ to come in at 2pm so that he could set his stuff up. The lady actually sent him away, and told him to come back later. The lunch service was over at 3pm & they rushed to just throw everything together (all my decorations, flowers, etc). It was NOT the setup I had in my mind & I honestly didn't even feel like it was my wedding. The floor plan had changed, the DJ was pissed off at the venue people, the rooms were crap. It was horrible!!

The rooms are very small and definitely NOT worth the money you pay to stay there. There is no air conditioning and around half the rooms didn't even have a working fan (you can imagine how hot it would get in the summer).

I hope that whoever reads this and is considering a wedding at the Morning Star Estate, will think again before booking it there....If I had the chance to do it again, i would absolutely, 100% NOT have it there.

Lisa

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
30 Thank Lisa L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Mt Eliza hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mt Eliza
1.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Brooklands of Mornington
0.9 mi away
Norwood House Receptions and Motel
2.1 mi away
The Royal Hotel Mornington
The Royal Hotel Mornington
#2 of 4 in Mornington
104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Mornington Bed and Breakfast
6.6 mi away
Woodman Estate
Woodman Estate
#1 of 1 in Moorooduc
135 reviews
2.2 mi away
Mornington Motel
Mornington Motel
#2 of 2 in Mornington
41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Morning Star Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Morning Star Estate

Property: Morning Star Estate
Address: 2 Sunnyside Rd, Mt Eliza, Victoria 3930, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Mornington Peninsula > Mt Eliza
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Mt Eliza
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In early 2002 the original dormitory rooms of the historical "Morning Star Boys' Home" were modified to create a 20 room Guest House. Originally there were 30 dormitory rooms with communal facilities; these were altered by converting every second room into two en suites. Formerly the dormitory rooms housed 4 or 6 boys, and were kept small due to structural requirements. However you don't live in your rooms when visiting Morning Star Estate, there are beautiful garden areas and vineyards around the estate waiting to be explored and enjoyed. Our rooms are modest yet priced fairly. The Guest House consists of 15 Double Rooms (with double bed), 4 Queen Rooms and 1 Queen Spa Suite (with queen bed or twin beds), all have their own en suites. For socialising and relaxation we provide Guest Lounges and various outside areas for enjoying the scenery. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Morning Star Estate Mt Eliza, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing