We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Morning Star Estate
Nearby Hotels
Free cancellation until 05/27
Book now, pay at stay
$96
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Frankston Motel(Frankston)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 05/27
$67
$65
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Brooklands Of Mornington(Mornington)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 06/02
$84
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mornington Motel(Mornington)
$89
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$79
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Woodman Estate(Moorooduc)
Book now, pay at stay
$238
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$89
Hotwire.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Jackalope Hotel(Merricks North)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 06/01
$430
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Beach Motor Inn(Frankston)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (63)
Filter reviews
63 results
Traveler rating
16
18
9
6
14
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
16
18
9
6
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslarge amountamazing viewsshort drivewinesmornington
Filter
Updating list...
51 - 56 of 63 reviews
Reviewed December 26, 2011

Great Website!!! Unfortunately the rooms are shocking. High small single window in the room reminded me of a cell. (the rooms were used as a catholic boys school) It is clear that this is a wedding venue and they run the rooms as an after thought.

B&B......but we dont serve breakfast from Monday to Friday????

We "enjoyed" the wedding reception which was in the garden with the loud music playing until 11.30. (we came to Morning Star to enjoy to a peaceful night for a meeting the next day, not music under the window until late.) The next morning, the staff "needed" music in the courtyard to work by, so the peace and quiet was broken again.

The "spa" was broken.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PUREFX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2011

I attended an overnight conference there. Garden location is delightful - nice for a stroll. Room was indeed very small but clean and had everything that I needed. I liked that there was a window that could open. The rooms are not well soundproofed however this place caters for people who are there for an event and will use their rooms only to sleep. There are sitting rooms on each of the two floors with complimentary tea and coffee and a television. Dinner that night was just for our small group and it was excellent. The fish was cooked superbly, delicious crusty rolls (thank you for providing grain bread!) and the chocolate tart heavenly. Parking was immediately outside. Staff appeared friendly. We were a small group and perhaps that made our event manageable.

Room Tip: Some rooms have views to the garden
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sue W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2011

Great views and scenery, food service worst ever encountered in over 40 years.
Cocktail wedding where you were offered just 4 pieces of finger food from 6-11pm.We had to buy take away at mid night on our way home.
Waste of money.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
5  Thank Margaret H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2011

My husband and I have just come home after spending the weekend at Morning Star Estate.
We purchased a dinner, bed and breakfast package and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Although the rooms are quite basic, they are clean and presentable. The history and character of the buildings makes up for any short fall in the accommodation. It would be a shame if the owners refurbished the building to make it 'more modern', as we believe the character and feel of the estate would be forever lost if renovated.
The breakfast was wonderful and the dinner was a delight. The surroundings are breath taking and peaceful.
The staff I must say were excellent and couldn't have done more to ensure our stay was memorable. Special mention must go to Rachel, Leah and Trent. They were outstanding in their customer service. Well done guys, we will certainly be back!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Robyn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2011

I recently stayed at this property for a family wedding. The grounds are beautiful and the wedding function area was great. As it states in the literature the accommodation is basic...very small rooms, no TV and no extra blankets etc. For the duration of our stay there was no hot water. This was advised to the staff but to no avail. The management really wasnt interested in taking any responsibility for this and only after numerous phone calls and emails did they offer a half price stay next time. As the accommodation is so basic I cant see anyone choosing to stay there again unless there was another wedding!

Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
Thank Dendy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews