We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basically excellent”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Princess Garden
Ranked #22 of 41 Hotels / Ryokan in Shinagawa
Reviewed June 2, 2012

I stayed at Princess Garden for 2 nights on a last minute booking in May 2012.
The points below are things I noticed and/or thought came in handy. It is quite fancy when u walk in- esp with that pond of giant Koi fish they do in the foyer.

Below are the cons:
-Potentially small for Westerners. If you go in with the mindset that small rooms are the norm in Japan, then you might see the novely in it.
-Bathrooms are even smaller. I found the capsule-style funny and çruise-ship like.
-No coffee! It's Green tea instead.
-Beds are quite stiff!!! Again, that's the Jap norm.
-The shower head is small! You may have to do a rotations to fully shower!
-No iron/ironing board

Pros:
-Clean!
-Very close to Meguro station - as mentioned by someone else, about 7mins, maybe 5mins if u walk fast. (Best advice for first time Tokyo travelers- stay close to a Yamanote line station!)
-Deep bath that covers ones entire body! I am 5"3 tho..
-The bedside table wired up with switches for every room function- soooo handy!
-Efficient front desk staff
-Good value for a safe and conveniently located hotel
-Convenience store across the road
-Cigarette vending machine in the foyer
-Phone card vending machine and phone in the foyer
-There are still smoking room options!

I didn't ask about Wifi (sorry) as I was too busy seeing Tokyo.
This place is 'basically' excellent.
Refer to pics attached.

Room Tip: I stayed on 7th floor facing the road and had no issues with it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Nat K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (240)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

86 - 92 of 240 reviews

Reviewed January 4, 2012

This hotel is good value for Tokyo, and the rooms are fine and clean, but it's nothing out of the ordinary. The basic rooms are very small and in winter are way over-heated which makes them very stuffy. I'm also not keen on the hard beds and bean pillows, but this seems to be standard for Japan.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank city0fangels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2011

Pros:
The hotel's location @ Meguro Station is pretty darn good. If you're coming via Haneda Airport - take the grey line to Shinagawa (about 15 mnutes), then hop onto the green line to Meguro Station (about 7 minutes). Then you take the West Gate Exit, and walk for about 7 minutes to the hotel.
- at least 4 convenience stores within 1-3 minutes walk from the hotel
- convenient laundry room (coin-based)
- very affordable, considering its location (2 stops from Shibuya and less than 7 min walk from the train station )

Cons:
- The standard room is very small and the toilet feels like you're on an airplane.
- No wifi / internet in the room. Instead, you can only get WIFI at the lobby (and it is not fast)
- The bed pillow seems to be made from recycled soya beans, and the mattress from old hay (because it is that uncomfortable to sleep on)
- the hotel breakfast is not that great. Might as well cross the road and buy ready meals from the convenience stores.
- no amenities (no pool, no fitness centre, no business centre)

Tip - if youre staying here, ask for the lower floors (ie first or second floor). If you're lucky, you might still pick up a wifi signal from the lobby so you can surf from your room.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank MacGrumpy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2011

It was so amazing to stay in the room with Mout Fuji view.You could see such nice view of Mount Fuji if you were placed in the certain room.(I have stayed Delax twin twice..only this time I was able to see the view)And according to the front staff, room on the opposite side you will got to see Tokyo tower.
Delax twin room was spacious and comfortable.They didn't offer you much amenity like luxuary hotel (just essentials) but I did't mind about it.About the cleaness,to be honest ,there was somebody's hair(a few)left in the bathroom.I saw in other review someone mentioning the same thing but room was clean.No problem.Just to inform someone who does not welcome these things.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank hanahana35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2010

I've been to Tokyo countless times but this is our first stay at this property. I found this hotel from the web where it was mentioned that the one time Peru Prime Minister Alberto Fujimori was the boyfriend of the hotel owner, and in fact he stayed at this property while in exile from Peru many years ago. With this type of history I guess we just had to see and experience this property ourselves.
I must say that we were quite surprise (pleasantly) with our stay. The twin bed rooms we got were actually pretty large, compared to the normal business hotel rooms in Japan. Both rooms were very clean, with good beds and very quiet. Also, we really like the lobby and especially the coi pond and garden next to it. It feels so tranquil and intimate that you wouldn't know you are right smack in the middle of such hectic maddening city as Tokyo. It made us feel so relaxing to come back to this hotel after a long busy day out.
Another benefit of this property is that it's near my favorite tonkatsu (fried pork chop) restaurant, Tonki, which is located just next to the Meguro JR station. You should really try this place out if given a chance. Out of this world Good pork chops! Another Tip: visit the Meguro Gajoen which is a nearby hotel but with outstanding architecure and traditional Japanese artwork made of seashells on the walls in the hallways and bathrooms. Outstanding! I would not have known such places if not for my local friend pointing me to these hidden gems around Meguro. Thank you Kato-san!
In summary, with a very good location near the Meguro station (Yamanote line), relaxing atmosphere, good food, unique architecture nearby, and very reasonable priced rooms in such expensive city, the hotel Princess Garden really is a great find. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay this time and for sure go there again, hopefully soon.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank toga1k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2009

This hotel is actually closer to Meguro than Shinagawa, but means that it is on the Yamanote line, and therefore close to everything in Tokyo. Easy to find and easy to like.

A clean and well looked after place. The lobby is impressive, and the Coi pond outside is nice.

Rooms are big (for Tokyo), and well appointed. The lobby provided an extension lead for some medical equipment without charge, and within 5 mins of our request.

Great place. Highly recommended for a trip to Tokyo.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank William B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
An Agoda Traveler
Reviewed March 30, 2009

  • Stayed: March 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank An Agoda Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shinagawa
Shibuya / Harajuku / Ebisu
Hotel Mid In Meguro-Ekimae
Shinagawa / Gotanda
Hotel Abest Meguro
Hotel Abest Meguro
#34 of 41 in Shinagawa
41 reviews
Shinagawa / Gotanda
New Otani Inn Tokyo
New Otani Inn Tokyo
#11 of 41 in Shinagawa
517 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shibuya / Harajuku / Ebisu
The Westin Tokyo
The Westin Tokyo
#1 of 11 in Meguro
1,776 reviews
Shinagawa / Gotanda
Hotel MyStays Gotanda Station
Shinagawa / Gotanda
Daiwa Roynet Hotel Tokyo-Osaki
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Princess Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Princess Garden

Address: 2-23-7 Kamiosaki, Shinagawa 141-0021, Tokyo Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Shinagawa > Shinagawa / Gotanda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 41 Hotels / Ryokan in Shinagawa
Price Range: $100 - $177 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Princess Garden 4*
Number of rooms: 205
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Rakuten, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Princess Garden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Princess Garden Shinagawa
Hotel Princess Garden Shinagawa, Tokyo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing