We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“clean but nothing special”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Princess Garden

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Princess Garden
Ranked #18 of 41 Hotels / Ryokan in Shinagawa
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
39 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“clean but nothing special”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2012

This hotel is good value for Tokyo, and the rooms are fine and clean, but it's nothing out of the ordinary. The basic rooms are very small and in winter are way over-heated which makes them very stuffy. I'm also not keen on the hard beds and bean pillows, but this seems to be standard for Japan.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank city0fangels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

233 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    125
    62
    13
    8
See reviews for
43
46
43
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur
Level Contributor
121 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 219 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2011

Pros:
The hotel's location @ Meguro Station is pretty darn good. If you're coming via Haneda Airport - take the grey line to Shinagawa (about 15 mnutes), then hop onto the green line to Meguro Station (about 7 minutes). Then you take the West Gate Exit, and walk for about 7 minutes to the hotel.
- at least 4 convenience stores within 1-3 minutes walk from the hotel
- convenient laundry room (coin-based)
- very affordable, considering its location (2 stops from Shibuya and less than 7 min walk from the train station )

Cons:
- The standard room is very small and the toilet feels like you're on an airplane.
- No wifi / internet in the room. Instead, you can only get WIFI at the lobby (and it is not fast)
- The bed pillow seems to be made from recycled soya beans, and the mattress from old hay (because it is that uncomfortable to sleep on)
- the hotel breakfast is not that great. Might as well cross the road and buy ready meals from the convenience stores.
- no amenities (no pool, no fitness centre, no business centre)

Tip - if youre staying here, ask for the lower floors (ie first or second floor). If you're lucky, you might still pick up a wifi signal from the lobby so you can surf from your room.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MacGrumpy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo, Japan
Level Contributor
598 reviews
97 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 225 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2011

It was so amazing to stay in the room with Mout Fuji view.You could see such nice view of Mount Fuji if you were placed in the certain room.(I have stayed Delax twin twice..only this time I was able to see the view)And according to the front staff, room on the opposite side you will got to see Tokyo tower.
Delax twin room was spacious and comfortable.They didn't offer you much amenity like luxuary hotel (just essentials) but I did't mind about it.About the cleaness,to be honest ,there was somebody's hair(a few)left in the bathroom.I saw in other review someone mentioning the same thing but room was clean.No problem.Just to inform someone who does not welcome these things.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank hanahana35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
351 reviews
124 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 548 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2010

I've been to Tokyo countless times but this is our first stay at this property. I found this hotel from the web where it was mentioned that the one time Peru Prime Minister Alberto Fujimori was the boyfriend of the hotel owner, and in fact he stayed at this property while in exile from Peru many years ago. With this type of history I guess we just had to see and experience this property ourselves.
I must say that we were quite surprise (pleasantly) with our stay. The twin bed rooms we got were actually pretty large, compared to the normal business hotel rooms in Japan. Both rooms were very clean, with good beds and very quiet. Also, we really like the lobby and especially the coi pond and garden next to it. It feels so tranquil and intimate that you wouldn't know you are right smack in the middle of such hectic maddening city as Tokyo. It made us feel so relaxing to come back to this hotel after a long busy day out.
Another benefit of this property is that it's near my favorite tonkatsu (fried pork chop) restaurant, Tonki, which is located just next to the Meguro JR station. You should really try this place out if given a chance. Out of this world Good pork chops! Another Tip: visit the Meguro Gajoen which is a nearby hotel but with outstanding architecure and traditional Japanese artwork made of seashells on the walls in the hallways and bathrooms. Outstanding! I would not have known such places if not for my local friend pointing me to these hidden gems around Meguro. Thank you Kato-san!
In summary, with a very good location near the Meguro station (Yamanote line), relaxing atmosphere, good food, unique architecture nearby, and very reasonable priced rooms in such expensive city, the hotel Princess Garden really is a great find. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay this time and for sure go there again, hopefully soon.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank toga1k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2009

This hotel is actually closer to Meguro than Shinagawa, but means that it is on the Yamanote line, and therefore close to everything in Tokyo. Easy to find and easy to like.

A clean and well looked after place. The lobby is impressive, and the Coi pond outside is nice.

Rooms are big (for Tokyo), and well appointed. The lobby provided an extension lead for some medical equipment without charge, and within 5 mins of our request.

Great place. Highly recommended for a trip to Tokyo.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank William B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
66 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2009

This hotel is about 7 minutes walk from the JR Meguro train station - take the west exit from the station & turn right - the hotel is 3 blocks down on the left side of the road. It has non-smoking rooms in a non-smoking wing (some other 'non-smoking' hotel rooms in Japan have simply had the ashtray removed, so this is a bonus). Meguro is slightly less frantic than staying around many of the other railway stations in Tokyo & the hotel is a real haven with a small garden & carp pond - hard to believe you're in a city of nearly 13 million people!

The staff are very polite & helpful, despite speaking very little English. The rooms are bigger than the average Japanese hotel room of the same class hotel although we did peer into other rooms as we walked past & realised that our twin (at the end of the corridor & next to the fire escape) was also bigger than most of them - about the size of a motel room in Australia. The bathroom is a small module, bit slightly bigger than other similar hotel bathrooms in Japan. Usual amenities are supplied - hairdryer, soap, shampoo etc & TV (no cable, all channels in Japanese only). The TV wasn't working when we arrived but someone arrived to repair it within 5 minutes of ringing down to reception.

There is a Tokyu supermarket between the hotel & the station which is open till late in the evening, where you can buy just about anything - the ground floor is a supermarket & upstairs is the equivalent of K-Mart. The restaurant in the hotel is expensive so we bought our breakfast supplies from the supermarket each night on our way back to the hotel.

A couple of doors up towards the station from the supermarket is a small Japanese restaurant called Kake. It only seats about 20 people & on both the nights that we went was frequented by salarymen stopping for dinner on the way home. It had the best value meals that we ate in Japan with fast service. While the menu is only in Japanese, each dish has a photo next to it so its not hard to work out what you want. There is one waiter there who speaks pretty good English - he spent a couple of years in the US as a child & was very keen to practice his English.

This was an easy part of town in which to stay & it was really nice to come home at night after a busy day sightseeing in a very busy & crowded city.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SydneyToscar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shinagawa
Shinagawa / Gotanda
New Otani Inn Tokyo
New Otani Inn Tokyo
#11 of 41 in Shinagawa
3.5 of 5 bubbles 494 reviews
Shinagawa / Gotanda
Shinagawa Prince Hotel Tokyo
Shinagawa / Gotanda
Hotel MyStays Gotanda Station
Hotel MyStays Gotanda Station
#14 of 41 in Shinagawa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shibuya / Harajuku / Ebisu
Hotel Mid In Meguro-Ekimae
Haneda / Kamata
Sunroute Shinagawa Seaside
Sunroute Shinagawa Seaside
#4 of 41 in Shinagawa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 319 reviews
Haneda / Kamata
Hearton Hotel Higashishinagawa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Princess Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Princess Garden

Property: Princess Garden
Address: 2-23-7 Kamiosaki, Shinagawa 141-0021, Tokyo Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Shinagawa > Shinagawa / Gotanda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 41 Hotels / Ryokan in Shinagawa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Princess Garden 4*
Number of rooms: 205
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, JAPANiCAN, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Princess Garden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Princess Garden Shinagawa, Tokyo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing