We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Like it but bad timing”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Dai-Ichi Hotel Tokyo Seafort
Reviewed August 20, 2011

Plus points:
1) Pretty close to the Shinagawa main train station (<10 min via car). You can choose to take a taxi without busting your wallet.
2) Lots of small restaurants opposite the road (cross the road in front of the Citibank buildings)
3) Counter staff was excellent; simple gesture like offering to take us to the Airport Limo Bus Stop (abt 3 min walk cutting across the adjacent mall)
4) Room is decent size in japan context

Minus points
1) Due to the power saving initiative in Japan, its really warm and hot EVERYWHERE. Air con is turned off in lifts and common corridors. In the room the air conditioning is barely working and it feels stuffy. I was perspiring the whole night, and I live in Singapore!
2) ONE (CNN) English channel, its sad enough to make you cry
3) dead area, nearest big mall is probably Shinagawa

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank safeDriver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (375)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

98 - 104 of 375 reviews

Reviewed June 8, 2011

Dai-Ichi Tokyo Seafort Hotel was third and last stop during our Tokyo stay. We felt like this hotel was more interested in operating their "side" wedding business and that we were blatantly treated like second-rate guests... more on that below. The hotel itself is a solid 3.5-star, but there's plenty of other great options in Tokyo.

Pros:
- Located in Shinagawa, away from the central noise and bustle of the city but still within accessible distance. Shinagawa station is a 10-minute walk away. The Tokyo Monorail station is located right in the building.
- The hotel building houses the aforementioned monorail station, a 7-Eleven, drugstore, a few restaurants, Citibank ATMs, a post office, among other things.
- Direct access to airports: Tokyo Monorail takes you straight to Haneda Airport. There's also a limousine bus to Narita Airport that picks up in front of the hotel (reserve at the front desk). Huge plus.
- Lovely views of the waterfront.
- Bedroom area is modern, clean, and nice, with good natural light.

Cons:
- They charge for instant coffee, internet access...
- Room furniture were quite new but bathrooms were not updated and quite dingy.
- Hotel staff doesn't speak very good English and doesn't seem as accustomed to working with foreigners.
- The big turnoff: the hotel seemingly has a big wedding business and we felt that it was prioritized over the hotel itself. There was a palpable difference in their treatment of their wedding customers and hotel guests -- for example, we were herded off the elevator by a group of four porters who were escorting a wedding couple up to their room, even though we were there first (and we got no porters). Also, the hallways of our floor were used as waiting areas for wedding guests (who does that?) and it was bothersome hearing them right outside our room. We got our hotel through discount sites, so of course we didn't expect to be treated like royalty... but their service lacked tact. We went in May 2011 -- maybe others will have better luck going at a different time.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cpm5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2011

Wonderful little gem about 5 minutes cab from Shinagawa station. We were on the upper floors with an amazing view of the bridge, harbor and part of the city. The rooms are small, but average for Japan. I love the electronic drapes, whoever thought of it is a genius. Our package included breakfast which was nice. Food was average, nothing special. Only thing that upset me was when we checked out and asked for a cab they said it would be a 4 dollar charge? Common really? There are cabs all over the place. We walked outside around the hotel to the main street and got on. Location is nice, monorail station is right next door. Convenient to train station and Haneda. Free in room internet was wonderful to have.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank hico01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2011

What a nice hotel! It's right on a monorail station from where you can go directly to Odaiba, Narita airport or hamamatsucho station (2$ US one way). Or you can walk 10 minutes and take the metro from Shinagawa station. The hotel itself is very clean with a high standing and theres a 7 eleven in the same building. Also really quiet.

The bad : you have to pay for listen the TV or take the shampoo in the shower...

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank traveller65432107
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2010

My wife and I went to Tokyo on our honeymoon - we chose the Dai-Ichi Seafort mainly because it seemed to be a good deal in an expensive city. It was - in more aspects than we thought!

First of all the standard of the hotel was higher than we'd expected for a 3+ star hotel, it was more 4 or 4+ (by european standards). Our room on the 27th floor was spacious and in pristine condition with a great view over Tokyo Bay. The room cleaning was meticulous. The deal included free use of WiFi.

The best thing about the Dai-Ichi Seafort, however, was the perfect access to Tokyo's public transportation. The hotel isn't really in the center (even though it seems like it, and Shinagawa is a nice and up-and-coming neighbourhood) - but you can be in Shibuya, Shinjuku, Ginza, Ueno, etc. within 20 minutes. You can take the Haneda Airport Monorail - without even leaving the hotel complex, it's in the building! - and be on the central Yamanote line within 5 minutes. Or you can walk 5-8 minutes to the Rinkai Line - or stroll over to Shinagawa station in 15-20 minutes (if the weather is good, it's a nice walk).

We didn't have breakfast as part of the deal, but found out that we didn't have to - the building connected to the hotel is full of restaurants and cafés.

In the evening it's worth checking out the hotel's Sky Bar with its magnificent view over Tokyo's inner city and the Rainbow Bridge - just remember that the drinks aren't exactly for free...

Only minus about this hotel is that the staff isn't really good at speaking english. And when we wanted to check in in the early afternoon, we had to wait for two hours for our room to be ready. But these are really minor issues in an otherwise great hotel!

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Berlinaut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2010

We planned this hotel as the final night of a JR pass vacation for our family (including one toddler), with two rooms - one for mommy, daddy (me) and the toddler, and the other for my mother in law. As my wife works for a large international bank, she got a terrific rate for a Tokyo hotel.

We originally had planned to take the JR network (with the final day of our passes) all the way to Shinagawa station and then walk or take a cab, but in retrospect I'm glad we didn't as it would have been too far certainly to walk with bags. We took it to Hamamatsucho station, and then took the Tokyo Monorail one stop to Tennozu Isle (we had to pay separately as the monorail is not covered in the pass). The hotel was about 5-10 minutes walk from the station exit gate and quite easy to find (down an escalator, past a 7-11 and an elevator - follow the signs).

It has a grand 90s style lobby, with a soaring ceiling - seemed very popular for wedding photos (and the hotel, presumably for wedding functions). We entered from the second floor and there are some grand marble steps taking one down to a restaurant. We checked in, which was quite efficient, and then were brought up to our rooms. The rooms were small but clean, tidy and fairly attractive and modern looking, in black/white wood and a few pastels thrown in.

The area, on a Friday at noon, was about as lively as it was going to get, and it seemed still quite quiet, but we enjoyed a nice lunch after check in at the Wako Tonkatsu restaurant in the adjacent mall. There seemed to be a decent number of restaurants actually in the area, catering presumably for the office crowd, and there was a nice restaurant and bar by the water not far from the hotel (called Waterline, I think) that looked nice and atmospheric.

The walk to Shinagawa station took about 20-30 minutes - it is of course a major station, and there is the atre Shinagawa complex with a supermarket (Isetan Queen's) and a number of what seemed to be popular restaurants there. We later went to Ebisu, which is always fun (beerhall, Daimaru) and came back on the Rinkai line - that ride is expensive though, as you pay both the JR and metro fare, and the Rinkai Tennozu Isle station is a fair 15 minute clip from the hotel.

The beauty of this hotel of course was that we were going to Haneda Airport the next day for our flight to Hong Kong (a trying experience, but that's another story - and it should get a lot better when the international terminal opens in October). It's very easy to then get from the hotel back to the Monorail, which got us to the airport in about 25 minutes.

Overall, the hotel is fine, pretty good quality. But I would say it serves its purpose well, and would not say it was a destination in and of itself.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Public_Dave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
An Agoda Traveler
Reviewed November 11, 2009

  • Stayed: November 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank An Agoda Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shinagawa
Shinagawa / Gotanda
Tokyo Marriott Hotel
Tokyo Marriott Hotel
#1 of 41 in Shinagawa
767 reviews
Shinagawa / Gotanda
New Otani Inn Tokyo
New Otani Inn Tokyo
#10 of 41 in Shinagawa
526 reviews
Odaiba / Shiodome / Shinbashi
Grand Nikko Tokyo Daiba
Grand Nikko Tokyo Daiba
#11 of 118 in Minato
2,724 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Odaiba / Shiodome / Shinbashi
Hilton Tokyo Odaiba
Hilton Tokyo Odaiba
#14 of 118 in Minato
3,220 reviews
Haneda / Kamata
Hotel Mystays Premier Omori
Shinagawa / Gotanda
Shinagawa Prince Hotel Tokyo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dai-Ichi Hotel Tokyo Seafort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dai-Ichi Hotel Tokyo Seafort

Address: 2-3-15 Higashi Shinagawa, Shinagawa 140‐0002, Tokyo Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Shinagawa > Shinagawa / Gotanda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Shinagawa
#12 Business Hotel in Shinagawa
Price Range: $95 - $328 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Dai-Ichi Hotel Tokyo Seafort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 127
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Rakuten, Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, JAPANiCAN, getaroom.com, Priceline, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Dai-Ichi Hotel Tokyo Seafort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dai-Ichi Tokyo Seafort Hotel Shinagawa
Dai Ichi Tokyo Seafort Shinagawa
Dai-Ichi Hotel Tokyo Seafort Shinagawa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing