We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Entertainment with superb sushi” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sushiryori Inose

Sushiryori Inose
Ranked #2 of 3,236 Restaurants in Shinagawa
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $9 - $70
Cuisines: Japanese, Sushi, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Shinagawa / Gotanda
Kuala Lumpur
Level Contributor
77 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Entertainment with superb sushi”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2014

Some purists may scoff at this place for being too commercialised and of course having such prominence in Tripadvisor means it is frequented by many "gaijin" (non-Japanese). Being a gaijin on holiday myself, I would never proclaim to be such a purist and we ended up having a great time and great food.

I truly love the bar counter style of service because you can get intimate with the chef and your fellow diners. You have to be adventurous and just go for the "omakase" which means leaving it to the whims of the chef. You can advise him 1 or 2 things that you don't eat.

Be prepared for a long drawn out evening of fun and dining. Chef will prepare each piece (sometimes 2 varieties at a time) and place it gently on your "plank" (I'm sure there's a more civil name for it). There is no need to dip it in soy sauce as it is already seasoned and feel free to use your fingers to down the whole piece in one bite. Outside Japan one typically sees more rice than fish on a piece of sushi but here you cant see the rice because it is entirely covered by the fish!

Inose is run by a couple. The husband is the chef and the wife (or "boss" as the chef refers to her) manages the place as maitre d', waitress, steward, bartender - all in one. They are such good fun, it's like a double act and the whole restaurant gets in on it as well which creates a circus atmosphere almost.

Be prepared to share your sake with them so dont be surprised if one or two pieces come out a little wonky but rest assured that it will be absolutely delicious no less.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank DazzaRB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    136
    20
    1
    0
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
75 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Great sushi night in a very friendly environment!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2014 via mobile

The couple who are the owners of this Restaurant are the nicest ones so far. We worried about having our 5 Year old with us, but she also loved the EXPERIENCE. Food is great and it's fresh made in front of you. It's very Good sushi for a fair price.

Helpful?
4 Thank Rivadávia N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tralee, Ireland
Level Contributor
141 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Memorable”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2014

This is the kind of place you just can't reproduce - amazing food in a truely authentic environment. The owners are wonderful, friendly happy people who get you to enjoy every moment of your stay.

The food is simlply wonderful, prepared right in right in front of your eyes.

If you are staying in Shinagawa, or simply looking for the best sushi - this place is a must.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank SteveGas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellenton, Florida
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Best sushi!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2014 via mobile

We arrived in Tokyo and wanted authentic, local sushi. Our hotel recommended Inose and we could not be more impressed. Everything was fresh and delicious. I even went outside my comfort zone and ate thing I would normally never try.
The owners made us feel like locals and even shared bottles of beer after we noticed that another patron had left his cellphone at the sushi bar. Inose ran after him, catching him at the train station. Amazing food, amazing owners! We definitely plan to return before we leave Tokyo.

Helpful?
1 Thank Ali L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Spectacular Experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2014

For,our first Japanese meal, we wanted sushi, and this was the highest rated place near our hotel. Thank you trip advisor reviewers! This was by far the best sushi we've ever had and the experience of dining with the nice couple that run it made it even better. Yes, there isn't much in the way of decor or style, so don't look for a Michelin star anytime soon, but if you want a fantastic meal in a typical Japanese restaurant, look no further. Book ahead because it's quite small, but we had no problems a few days out.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Robert M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sushiryori Inose also viewed

 

Been to Sushiryori Inose? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing