We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Save
Review Highlights
Walking tour of Tokyo

We had a day tour of Tokyo with Ciara - she told us so much about Tokyo & was happy to adjust to... read more

Reviewed January 17, 2020
Steph C
,
Ku-ring-gai, Australia
via mobile
History, beauty and laughs

We just completed a 4-day tour of Hiroshima, Saga, Nagasaki, Miyajima and Yanagawa with our... read more

Reviewed December 14, 2019
AnaG1962
via mobile
Read all 9 reviews
  
Reviews (9)
Filter reviews
9 results
Traveler rating
9
0
0
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
9
0
0
0
0
See what travelers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 9 reviews
Reviewed August 17, 2018 via mobile

This tour was an amazing event that I highly recommend!
The tour started with an enjoyable bike ride to the Kashima shrine that involved a route through the beautiful Japanese neighborhoods, along a gorgeous river, past the crossroads in the rice fields, and across a bridge during sunset. We ended the night of the first day with a group barbecue where we were able to select our ingredients and prepare our own specialty foods.
The next day we were taken to a Japanese festival in the town of Sawara where the locals push impressively decorated shrines through the streets and perform traditional dances for the public audience. You too will have the opportunity to learn and perform traditional festival dances with the locals where you can become involved in the historical festivities just as we did!
If you are planning to attend this once in a lifetime opportunity you should prepare by dressing in active clothing appropriate for the season and if attending the summer festival stay properly hydrated.
You will be filled with fun memories in this tour due to the events listed above and you will also have the time of your life!

Date of experience: August 2018
3  Thank Ray M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2018

This is truly a genuine and off the beaten path travel experience! Highly recommended!
Sawara is a small, old merchant town that is a hidden gem. Its center of Edo-period, traditional wooden Japanese houses and shops, is protected as Important Cultural Property and is so well preserved you get the feeling you are in another era, or in a period drama! (as we were told by the locals, it has actually often been used as a shooting location for period dramas!).
The calm Ono river elegantly flows through its center and you can go on a boat ride and experience how it was to travel by boat back then. Our boat trip took us under small bridges, as we went by colorful, flowering front-yards of houses by the river. We complemented this by walking along the river and seeing all the beautiful shops and stores, where you will get this old merchant town vibe, and find a range of affordable, handcrafted traditional local items, and taste local delicacies.
Our accommodation in nearby Katozu was another amazing experience in itself: A 130 year old, recently rennovated Japanese family house, interiors and atmosphere completely preserved with tatami floorings and sliding doors. And while walking around the house was another time-traveling experience, the brand new, spacious and well equipped kitchen and bathroom, ensured our stay was practically smooth and enjoyable as well. After settling down at the house, we went for a bike tour to Kashima Shrine, cycling through endless rice fields and farm houses, and along the river in the Itako area. We reached Kashima shrine just before sunset, so we could enjoy the temple and forest without being crowded. Upon return to the house we enjoyed a barbeque at the garden, surrounded by peaceful rice fields and had a good nights' rest for the upcoming highlight of our trip, the Sawara Grand Festival! We took part in the festivities of this 300-year old festival, during which groups of locals pull elaborate, huge wooden floats with huge dolls of historically/culturally important figures across the narrow town streets. On the floats were also musicians, and we were taught how to and danced traditional local dances to uplifting folk tunes as we danced our way through town all together! The locals were simply wonderful people, amazingly friendly and inclusive, they kept giving us drinks and sake, to encourage and thank us for participating and pulling along! I dare say, this is one of the most genuine cultural experiences I 've ever had!

Date of experience: July 2018
Review collected in partnership with this attraction
3  Thank harry k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2018

The tour was a phenomenal experience. The first day we got to walk around the town the town of Sawara. It was a beautiful town and you could feel the historic culture by just being there. Later that day we went on a bike ride to visit the Kashima Shrine. The experience was great. We got to visit the shrines that were built to honor the Shinto religion, as well as see the beautiful deer that live on the location. The next two days were spent participating in the festival of pushing the shrines. Overall it was a great experience that I would highly recommend!

Date of experience: July 2018
Review collected in partnership with this attraction
2  Thank ramseymeyers72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2018

We had the most amazing time during our tour to Sawara. This is our second tour with Nanami and I can't wait to go on many more. Her tours are one of a kind. They are a unique experience that take you to special towns that are not filled with tourists. You really experience Japan and the heart and soul of the culture when with her. My sons and I were honored to participate in the Sawara Festival and meet the wonderful people in this beautiful town. Nanami's tour was packed full of fun with a local tour guide, lunch in a Japanese style restaurant and a boat ride to the house where we were staying in an area called 12 Bridges because you go under 12 bridges to get there. This was followed by a bycicle ride through the rice fields finished with a fun BBQ for dinner. That was just the first day. The next two days were spent participating and dancing with the people of Sawara in their 300 year old festival. We stayed in a beautiful Japanese farm house and that in itself was wonderful. We slept on futon with the windows open and were welcomed by the owner and their family cat who watched over us while we were there. I could go on and on but this was an experience that my sons and I will never forget. Not to mention the great people we met on this tour. It was one we'll hold in our memories and hearts forever! Thank you to Nanami and Eighty Days for an experience we never would have had if it weren't for you.

Date of experience: July 2018
Review collected in partnership with this attraction
1  Thank Malerie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2018

I spent a wonderful time in Sawara town (just 1 hour and a half from Tokyo) by participating in the activities organized by the locals. I had the chance to be part of the festival by joining the dances, songs, and celebrations with the locals. The environment was unique and I was able to experience the Japanese culture far from the touristic places. Locals are friendly and are always offering you food and drinks. Getting along with them is pretty easy, especially the kids, and let me say that they are adorable! Besides joining the festival there are many different activities offered by this tour such as riding a bike in the middle of the rice fields, visiting breathtaking shrines, going for a boat ride or eating a delicious barbecue. The atmosphere was always phenomenal. In terms of accommodation, we slept in a typical Japanese house built 130 years ago that was recently renovated but still has Japanese ancient traits. I advise everyone to go to this splendid festival because there is so much to learn from it, local people are enjoyable and extrovert, food is delicious and without this tour, I wouldn´t have visited Japan countryside.

Date of experience: July 2018
Review collected in partnership with this attraction
2  Thank franciscojtandre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews