We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cedar Song B&B-Truly a WOnderful Getaway !” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cedar Song B&B and Cottage

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Cedar Song B&B and Cottage
Ranked #1 of 2 Errington B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Calgary
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Cedar Song B&B-Truly a WOnderful Getaway !”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2011

Leaving the Ocean and finding ourselves in truly a wonderful, peaceful and joyful place-a rare find!From our welcoming hug and the tea and treats waiting for us, we felt like we had come home!Anneke , you are such a warm and loving person and your attention to detail is amazing! The breakfast(s) were a taste delight ,from the fresh fruit, homemade granola and preserves ,to the farm fresh eggs and flowers! Each morning we found ourselves anticipating another gourmet meal! The cottage was perfect, a private backyard, fire pit and the roaming chickens and friendly dog, Katja adding to the rustic flavour! We would highly recommend this B&B, a place to get cozy,relax and just breathe! Thanks to Anneke and Ton !

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MaxieL56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    91
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
23
56
5
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Scottsdale, Arizona
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2011

Once we found the B & B, we fell in love with it and the owners, Anneke and Ton. We were greeted with a warm hug, shown our rooms and sat down to tea and a light dessert. The breakfasts were absolutely delicious. The table was always set in such a lovely way. The area is so peaceful with large trees and many flowers. The rooms were so comfy. If you want a wonderful place to escape to, the Cedar Song B & B is the place. Don't hesitate--make your reservations and you will come away rested and peaceful and have made wonderful friends with Anneke and Ton and their sweet dog, Katsa.
Steve and Donna, Scottsdale, AZ

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Newms9916
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CedarSongBandB, Owner at Cedar Song B&B and Cottage, responded to this review, August 31, 2011
Thank you so much for taking the time to write this review. It was a pleasure having you as our guests. First timers Vancouver Island visitors are always so much fun to host! There are so many things to explore here. You have to come back to see more!
Last but not least, Katja also thanks you for giving her so much TLC. She loved it!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thornton, Colorado
Level Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2011

We only stayed here 1 night and it was too short! Anneke is the BEST. The accomadations were great! She greeted us with tea and homemade Strudel that was to die for! She had lots of local information and gave us great information on local sites, dining etc! Her breakfast was 5 star! She pays such close attention to detail and we enjoyed her company immensely! We are looking forward to going back! Thank You again Anneke for a wonderful time and all of your hospitality!
The room was very comfortable, which included a refrigerator, water & even wine galsses! We slept great!

Room Tip: Refrigerator in Room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Carol Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CedarSongBandB, Owner at Cedar Song B&B and Cottage, responded to this review, August 12, 2011
Thank you so much for your taking your time to give some feedback. All those compliments, it makes us blush! One night or multiple nights, every person is important to us. Most important is the satisfaction of your stay and that you feel at home with us. Thanks again, we will stay connected!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hull
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2011

Beautiful idylistic setting with comfortable clean accomadation. (reminded us of the classic cottage from most fairy tales) Anneka is a lovely hostess who uses special touches to make your stay enjoyable. We arrived and were greeted with fresh pastries and an eclectic choice of tea to drink... Fantastic and most welcome!! Thank you Anneka for making our brief stay with you memorable

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mserv/1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CedarSongBandB, Owner at Cedar Song B&B and Cottage, responded to this review, August 12, 2011
Thank you so much for your nice compliments. We like to celebrate the little things in life, with little special touches. My husband Ton built the house and other buildings. Although he is not capable of building anymore, we are so grateful to be able to share this now with people from all over the world. Our virtual tours on our website, gives people a better view of the rooms and surroundings.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, England
Level Contributor
510 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 600 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2011

It’s hard to know where to start.
This is a unique, welcoming and truly relaxing environment – we could easily have stayed here several days, rather than the one night on our way back to Victoria at the end of a Vancouver Island holiday.

We were lucky to stay in the detached cottage situated a few yards from the main house – a delightful two floor building with full kitchen, dining area, lounge, bathroom and two bedrooms – ours had a King bed. There is a balcony on which to sit and watch the birds in the trees which surround the property and a grassed garden with reclining chairs and fire pit for a chance to enjoy the outdoors.

The bed was one of the comfiest we have slept in on this holiday.

The owners – Anneke and Ton should be congratulated for creating such a haven, only a few miles from the main Island highways. Ton has himself constructed every building on this property and Anneke provides a level of hospitality rarely encountered in the B&B experience. Her gourmet breakfast was delicious and set us up for the day.

There are a number of places to visit in the vicinity and Anneke is full of suggestions.
Her enthusiasm is unbounded.

Thank you Anneke and Ton

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CedarSongBandB, Owner at Cedar Song B&B and Cottage, responded to this review, June 27, 2011
O wow, what a nice compliment! We are trying hard to please people and make them feel at home.
The short or longer stay, as long as we have achieved your level of expectation and beyond. It is always sad to see people leave but nice to have the feedback.
What a privilege to meet the nicest people!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2011

We stopped in this B&B for just one day while we were heading north in Vancouver Island; the B&B is out of town, surrounded by a forest of cedars, in a quiet and isolated place.
When we arrived there Anneke, our host, welcomed us and was very friendly from the start.
The room was very tidy, clean and it felt just like home. There was about everything you could need.
At the evening, we went to Errington to have lunch, that is just a quarter of hour from the B&B. While we were coming back we spotted in the fields some deers and bears.
In the morning Anneke prepared for us a huge breakfast that was much more our expectations: everything was delicious from the yogurt with fresh fruits that we found when we woke up to the hand made marmelades she offered with hot croissant and the absolutely delicious pancakes with blueberries she offered us with maple syrup.
After that we enjoyed for a while the wild nature of the place and we left.
The B&B is just 5 minutes driving from the Englishman river falls park, that's a beautiful park with waterfalls where you should take a easy hiking.
The price was convenient, with great value for the money spent.

Room Tip: If you are a big family book the cottage!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AleTrippin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CedarSongBandB, Owner at Cedar Song B&B and Cottage, responded to this review, May 27, 2011
Thank you again it was our pleasure. it is so wonderful to cater to international guests. Just want people to feel at home away from home..The field you were talking about with deer and the bear is at a local farm, way back towards the mountains. Wildlife is abundant but mostly various birds and some deer ( oh dear!) we share the property with.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Novara, Italy
Level Contributor
20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2011

We really loved this place! it is completely surrounded by trees but still close to little towns. The hose is also very charming. The lady gave us a warm welcom and she was very kind. The breakfast was awesome!! Rooms were big, clean and well furnished.. Great atmosphere!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Silviaround
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CedarSongBandB, Owner at Cedar Song B&B and Cottage, responded to this review, June 27, 2011
Thank you so much for this feedback. And yes, creating the right atmosphere is so important. The whole idea of experiencing the bed and breakfast is to taste samples of our living. We indeed like the peacefulness and find pleasures sharing nature and all good things that have been trusted to to us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Errington
4.7 mi away
Oceanside Village Resort
Oceanside Village Resort
#2 of 13 in Parksville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 478 reviews
4.8 mi away
Sunrise Ridge Waterfront Resort
5.9 mi away
Our Place Bed and Breakfast
Our Place Bed and Breakfast
#1 of 4 in Nanoose Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Beach Club Resort
Beach Club Resort
#3 of 13 in Parksville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,162 reviews
4.7 mi away
Ocean Trails Resort
Ocean Trails Resort
#1 of 9 in Parksville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 213 reviews
4.8 mi away
Beach Acres Resort
Beach Acres Resort
#2 of 9 in Parksville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cedar Song B&B and Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cedar Song B&B and Cottage

Property: Cedar Song B&B and Cottage
Address: 1250 Stagdowne Road, Errington, British Columbia V0R 1V0, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Errington
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Errington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Cedar Song B&B and Cottage 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A quiet and welcome forest retreat awaits you. Between 4-5 pm we welcome you with tea /coffee or refreshments and home bakings or fruits. You will feel right at home.The clean air, the smell of cedar and the inviting fireplace are setting the tone for " I want to put my feet up" kind of feeling. (and Yes you can!) Our home is tucked away and surrounded by beautiful cedars and Douglas firs on 5 acre forest. In the main house, two B&B suites provide en-suite,full spa- like baths, with radiant in floor heating and luxurious robes, hairdryer,slippers and amenities. Each room has a smart flatscreen TV, it's own fridge and coffeemaker and the Woodpecker suite has an additional kitchenette and extra sitting dining area. Luxuriate in your queen size bed with wonderful air dried high end bedding. Free WIFI in the whole area and Free off-street parking for all our guests. Our generous, full and gourmet Breakfast is served in our dining room between 7am and 9 am for our B&B guests. We serve fresh ground, fair trade organic coffee, fresh fruits and juices, most local products and always a warm protein dish and home made bakings and preservatives. We also offer a specious self contained and separate 2 bedroom cottage for guests. The main attraction for the cottage is the beautiful Kingsize bed, and Wood-stove, the lovely sun room and full stocked kitchen. It has a huge sun-deck and nice private garden. Please visit our website for a full virtual tour. The to do things here,,, we have maps and books and brochures etc. If you ask us, we can assist you in great restaurants options and reservations. (As close as 12 minutes away.) We are both active hikers, swimmers and kayakers and love to share our 24 years of local residence experience. After enjoying the hiking trails in the vicinity, a refreshing dip in the Englishman River or discovering Vancouver Island's hidden treasures, rest in this haven for birds and wildlife. Last but not least, Parksville's stunning beaches are less than 15 minutes away. In addition to English, we speak German, Dutch, Spanish and French and are proud to welcome each in their own language. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Booking.com so you can book your Cedar Song B&B and Cottage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing