We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wonderful stay”
Review of The Pier Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Pier Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“wonderful stay”
Reviewed March 1, 2014

The owners of this hotel are pulling out all the stops to make it the top hotel in the area. Its in a quiet beach location but plenty of buses to Great Yarmouth if that's your thing. We ate at the hotel and the food presentation and quality was top notch. We had an upgraded bedroom with a balcony facing the beach. The fixtures and fittings wouldn't have been out of place in a Hilton hotel. The friendliness and helpfulness of the staff was just the icing on the cake...would definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: Definitely worth the upgrade to a beach facing room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Roseanne01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

339 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    197
    85
    28
    17
    12
See reviews for
73
156
8
30
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Norwich
Level Contributor
36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2014

We have had lunch here on two recent trips to Gorleston. Pleasant location near the pier. Good value food and drinks with pleasing and efficient service. My battered cod was excellent with pretty good chips.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Canteloff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pontypool
Level Contributor
57 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2014

Good hotel with friendly, helpful staff. Food is very good with an enormous breakfast very well presented. The bar area is very lively & Bar meals are very good. Good car parking & location for beach. Stayed on business but will make a good holiday hotel. Will stay again.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank poolaboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 21, 2013

We had our work Christmas night out here & it was awful! We arrived & went into the dining area where everyone else was sitting only to be shown through to a small bar area where ours was the only table, when we asked why we were sitting in there we where told by a very unfriendly member of staff that we hadn't made our booking early enough & the main dining area was fully booked! There was absolutely no Christmas atmosphere & we were sat under a huge television screen that was on presumably for the bar staff to watch as there wasn't anyone else in there. We started to eat just after 8pm & by 10pm the lady at the bar was glaring at us & after about 15mins she turned all the bar lights off & went off. The meal itself cost £29.95 & we'd each paid a £10 deposit yet when presented with the bill we were asked for £22.95 each (i'm no mathematician but £10 from £29.95 is certainly not £22.95) when queried & the receipt for the deposit was presented the very unfriendly staff member tried to claim we had only paid a £7 deposit despite the evidence being shown to her, she then said she needed to check this & dissappeared for a few minutes & came back saying no-one was available to check this! but she would amend the bill, she was so rude we were all keen to leave as soon as possible. The only good thing to happen was that we now know where not to go for any future work nights out!

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank gemma333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
157 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
Reviewed November 23, 2013

First time we have eaten at the Pier Hotel but have been recommended several times in the past and have been warned that the meals are large.On a recent trip we decided to go to the Pier for lunch on arrival we were asked would we like to dine in the bar with bar menu or the restaurant with the wider menu .We chose the restaurant I was the only person for a starter of Whitebait but the temptation was too much for my partner whom I shared the meal with.
The main meals of Pork Chop,.Lasagne,and BBQ Chicken Melt with mixed Veg and Chips were huge which was a pity as the ladies were unable to finish even with no starters .The waters were excellent very attentive and friendly and I agree with a previous comment "shared a joke".
We requested a window seat so that we could also look over the beach which although was deserted looked superb on a blustery November day .
Would I recommend Yes would I go again Yes but I would request side orders slightly smaller unless I hadn't eaten for a few days .

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dws1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucks, England
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 7, 2013 via mobile

Had a lovely stay at the pier hotel. We had a lovely room with wonderful sea view's, even from the bath! Staff were friendly and helpful. Breakfast was lovely and thoroughly enjoyed by our 4yr old. We would definitely recommend and stay again.

Stayed November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank pricklysarah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Yarmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2013

Called in last Sunday and was well surprised and pleased to see free snacks on the bar, something that used to be common but now has died out.
Really good pint, four real ales on and all very drinkable, staff all very pleasant and knew their real ales and how to look after them.
Didn't eat but the meals looked good, will be back for sure.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank James B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gorleston-on-Sea
0.1 mi away
Cliff Hotel
Cliff Hotel
#1 of 4 in Gorleston-on-Sea
1,044 reviews
2.0 mi away
Andover House Hotel
Andover House Hotel
#1 of 21 in Great Yarmouth
473 reviews
2.9 mi away
Imperial Hotel
Imperial Hotel
#3 of 21 in Great Yarmouth
515 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Knights Court Hotel
Knights Court Hotel
#4 of 21 in Great Yarmouth
438 reviews
2.9 mi away
Burlington Palm Hotel
Burlington Palm Hotel
#13 of 21 in Great Yarmouth
180 reviews
3.0 mi away
Furzedown Hotel
Furzedown Hotel
#5 of 21 in Great Yarmouth
369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Pier Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pier Hotel

Property: The Pier Hotel
Address: South Pier, Gorleston-on-Sea, Great Yarmouth NR31 6PL, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Great Yarmouth > Gorleston-on-Sea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Gorleston-on-Sea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Pier Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Probably one of the most beautifully situated coastal hotels in England. Now a three star establishment; the relaxed surroundings of the Pier Hotel combined with quality home cooked food, great wines and friendly service make up the perfect ingredients for a wonderful stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Pier Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pier Hotel Gorleston On Sea
The Pier Hotel Gorleston-On-Sea, Great Yarmouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing